Tea3 Neutral Newbie February 2, 2005 Share February 2, 2005 Have already done a search but not many threads on touching up. Found a few deep scratches (paint already chipped off) on certain parts of the car. I suspect someone is vandalizing it because these scratches are found on places that don't usually get scratched i.e. the border of the car door/boot. Furthermore, the paint is chipped off very nicely & cleanly so that one won't notice it unless the car is examined closely. No proof, just suspicious. Will try to take photos of them before I touch up. Anyway, I bought some black touch up paint from Home DIY & want to cover those areas. How to go about doing it correctly so that I do not seal dust/dirt/sand underneath the paint? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Potheader Clutched February 2, 2005 Share February 2, 2005 i also interested to know cos i got the scratches too.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear February 2, 2005 Share February 2, 2005 fcuk!! Me also! Some dirty martherfarker left dents on my red pussy....super heartpain. Must be those damn vans and lorries. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacer Clutched February 2, 2005 Share February 2, 2005 new or Shiney/glaring cars are always the target, Those BAskets jealous so they spoilt our mood... mine2 if just minor scratch can use the market sratch remover which was previously posted, if deep touch up paint. if long and deep scratch better go for the pro to remove. cause if apply touch up will looks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Potheader Clutched February 2, 2005 Share February 2, 2005 so fast! aiyoh.. you must be heartpain man! Dun park next to lorries and vans.. at least try not to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tea3 Neutral Newbie February 2, 2005 Author Share February 2, 2005 Thing is, I suspect mind is deliberate. Well, some are obviously people who just heck care & simply open their doors into the car. Those found on my car definitely need touch up paint. Whole piece of paint chipped off. So should I do it after washing the car? Should I like...polish the area with autoglym resin before applying the paint? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie February 2, 2005 Share February 2, 2005 i think wash and polish the area first would be the right way. there after, apply the paint with something sharp! using the touch-up marker pen directly or with a brush and you will end up with one big dot of paint on your car! personally, i use a toothpick to apply the paint bit by bit. still... no matter how good you r, the touched up will not be as nice as the original spray paint, so live with it lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tea3 Neutral Newbie February 3, 2005 Author Share February 3, 2005 Yes, going to use toothpick. Learnt that from dad. Have to live with it but want the metal to be protected. Don't want rust to start. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear February 3, 2005 Share February 3, 2005 me wondering how to use touch up paint correctly too. for my very minor scratches, i use the DIY glare polish can liao. (seems like only scratch the glare surface) For those scratches that cut deeps but not enough to notice it at a glance, i am still wondering how to do that correctly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear February 3, 2005 Share February 3, 2005 mine's < 1 mth kenna knock by lorry liao. rice size deep paint chipped. Living with it. Also, don't park beside those cars where the owner don't maintain kind (dirty, lots of dent) once, i met this uncle driving a old beat up corolla, park beside me open his door and knock against my door until can hear 'kok'. i quickly get out to see. Upon seeing me do that, he say aiyah knock only mah. he walk away nonchalantly. kns. lucky no damage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched February 3, 2005 Share February 3, 2005 Hi Tea3, There is a link in page 3 of the Resources folder for this.. called How To Repair Paint Chips. You can skip the sandpaper part and just use the toothpick method to touch up the paint chips with the touch up paint. Dont put too much paint on the tip of the toothpick though, just a small amount will do. Hope this helps. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tea3 Neutral Newbie February 4, 2005 Author Share February 4, 2005 Oh, thank you very much. Think I didn't use the correct keyword while doing my search. Alright, all you who want to DIY with touch up paint, let's go & 'pei' how to repair paint chips Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 No worries. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecity Neutral Newbie February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 Wah piang... my left front portion of my car also kana knock many time. fxxking hell... those ppl really fxxing piece of sheet manz. . Guess the best way to prevent been such a victim is try not to park to close to some other cars in the car park. especially lorries and vans.. coz their door can open w ider than normal car and will simiply just bang onto our car. Wah lau....shi peh heart pain man.. Frankly speaking, those no way we can prevent lah. it's actually the those ppl must change their fxxking attitude and learn to take car of people's belonging. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tea3 Neutral Newbie February 5, 2005 Author Share February 5, 2005 Wah, very chim leh after reading some of the instructions. I thought just wash, polish & paint. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched February 5, 2005 Share February 5, 2005 Some of the more tedious parts can skip lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tea3 Neutral Newbie February 7, 2005 Author Share February 7, 2005 Yeah, just going to wash-dry-polish-paint. Is it ok to use autoglym resin polish over the chipped area before touching up ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched February 7, 2005 Share February 7, 2005 Yes it is fine. SRP will help to remove most of the dirt and swirl marks too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...