Lose control

Cat_tang

I can only use gear 1, cos no power using gear 2. Previously tried with the swift when I forgot to change down, and the car stalled along the slope.tongue.gif

Cannot just stamp acc. with 2 else confirm mati [dead] . Need clutch. hmm... maybe dun give useless advice [:p] Best is you trial and error what's most comfortable for you. [:)]

That time was still fresh with driving, so after that never dare to try with gear 2. Also, the new MSCP slope are too short, cannot go too fast.

Hehe... alot of my driving is father-taught.

MSCPs.... [rolleyes] Remember he always slap my left hand...

"Di Gia! Di Gia! Ka li gong gui bai liow! Tong gear tong gear! Ai si chia liow!" ("2nd gear 2nd gear! Tell you how many times liow! Half-clutch Half-clutch! Engine stalling liow!") **rattles dashboard with his knuckles** [sweatdrop]

35 years of accident-free wild-driving... Dun listen to him listen to who? [:|]

Anyway ma-chiam I have a choice also... [laugh]

Edited by Icerain

Higher pressure would give better economy but will cause harder ride and loss of traction due to lesser contact patch on the road.

For high speed long distance drives it's recommended the pressures be much higher to conserve fuel and also minimize wear and temp buildup.

Lower profile tires usually needs higher pressure due to smaller volume, 28-30psi should be fine for you 14" wheel/tire, adjust accordingly to your ride preference. [;)]

" ............. As for up MSCP, again same advice hor, get a smooth slow turn in up the ramp with gear 2 and clutch play... u gear 1 very easy to spin hor... "

i think this is one of the better ways to attack the ramp ....... [thumbsup][thumbsup] .......... so your dad also tought you this trick?? ....... di kia di kia, hee eh klutch bung dum bok chew hor liao, mun mun lai, .......... [laugh]

to fight the endless stop and go in a traffic jam? roll super slow on 2 as far as possible? [rolleyes]

qing duo zhi jiao zhi jiao... [sweatdrop]

"For high speed long distance drives it's recommended the pressures be much higher to conserve fuel and also minimize wear and temp buildup."

Don't quite agree with u... would u risk losing control or would u be stingy on fuel? Optimal pressure is more suitable, not higher...

wat car is ur's? if it's jap then most prob it's front wheel drive, need to understand how front wheel drive react when out of control then maybe u will understand how ur car react on slippery surface...

Ok, I think I know what you mean now...

You were trying to engage 1st gear while stationary and the tires spun?

Just release the clutch slower the next time.. Also, keep your rpm less than 1500rpm when engaging.

If you lose traction while in safe speed and braking is not involved, something is wrong with your tyre threads or air pressure.

The only time I lost traction on my lousy OEM tyres is when it just started raining, I tried to launch fast when it turned green.. I engage at around 2500rpm, and step heavily on the accelerator. The tyres spun around 2 seconds before my car start to move.

Edited by Zrun

oops.. wrote a reply to a posting that's 2 years old... delete delete please sweatdrop.gif

Edited by Mojoe