Lose control

Cat_tang

Hi Icerain....

that's odd.... [confused]

I'm using the older Falken ZIEX 326s, and the grip is rather good.

At 100+ through rain and all....no aquaplaning, and braking is very stable.

Even skids in a straight line when e-braking in the wet. [thumbsup]

I've been using mine for slightly longer than a year, and I was looking forward to getting the new 512s.... they're the only brand/model with 215/40R16 that I'm looking for. [:/]

...hmmm....

Hi Cat,

the MCSP that you had problems with, is the slope ridged?...with grooves I mean.?

My car's ziex tyres don't really slip much at all...in fact, they are rather sticky in carparks....making lots of squealing sounds when I make a turn.

...upsizing should be an alternative regardless.... the small footprint of skinny tyres tend to make them unstable when braking hard. And could possibly be the cause of less grip in the wet too.

cheers

[laugh] Thanks for such a heart-warming encouragement, considering it's an icon only popular with 10-year olds. Of cos Mondy would always be agreeable to my adorable Jigglypuff. Next time let you all cuddle. [laugh] It's just sitting in my glove box. [;)]

Oh yes, one more point about up MSCP ramps when wet. Go easy on the half clutch 1st gear combo. See if you can do it with 2nd. Over-powering the ramp at higher rev would naturally cause wheel spin, which makes you think its a slippage. [:/]

May not be true, but just no harm to ponder over it or test it out. [:p] Me not exactly an experienced driver too. [lipsrsealed]

Tyre people themselves tell me one I just listen lor... I mean they're the experts I guess... If I dun listen to them, dunno ask who also. [:/]

btw, they are the ones selling Falken.

326, uneven wear easily, noise obvious after 10+K

115, grip good, noisy, easy puncture

512, wet grip okay only, dry grip... [shakehead]

Conti lor... more money also can get the fattie brand (michellelim [inlove] ) and of cos jio-tou-gio (stonebridge) [laugh]

Sometimes I wanna ask, Continental tires not for continental cars only meh? [laugh]

Yes, the slope is ridged, but my colleague told me that there should be a anti-skid coating (something like that), which is gone and no re-coating done.

Previously, I could go up in gear 1 smoothly and slowly without braking before going up the slope. And most of the time, no squealing sound when I make a turn before or after the slope. Even if there is, it's not as loud as the other cars.

After the incident, I brake before going up the slope, scared that it will happen again. How I wished to go back to the open carpark, but it's too far and more expensive.

There's nothing that says that conti tyres for conti cars....jap tyres are also used for conti cars!

AVS Sport is now the main tyre for Aston Martin's latest sports car.

I've done about 27K on my 326s....a little noisy....but low profile tyres tend to be that way...

I guess I'll have to shop around somewhere else for my next set.

Anyone knows a brand/model with 215/40R16?

open carpark should be cheaper....If I'm not wrong, it's 75 for covered....55 for open.

Too bad I live in Sengkang....no open carparks [shakehead]

take care....

hi catherine,

fear not cos you r not alone on skid at MSCP esp on raining days..... i think you car is a manual, cos for me everytime when try to clear a MSCP on a wet day.....my tire will sure sing all the way.....then the burning smell will sure to kick in when i park the car.......

just for laugh...... when i drive on a wet day, people who ride with me will either alight b4 i park the car if the car park is a MSCP or they will not ride with me If they can.....

maybe if you wish, you can upgrade to better tire, but i sure there is nothing wrong with you car

please take care

cheers

karen

Edited by Karen

I don't have prob at the MSCP at my home, only the one at work. My colleague's Cefiro skidded too, on the same day as me. Looks like I have to exert more care from now onward but every morning, the fear would set in the moment I enter the carpark.

Presea, my company is charging $50/mth, while the nearest mix surface/covered CP is charging $75. Full covered CP (i.e. MSCP) is at $90 now, no longer $75. Surfaced CP is at $65, no longer $55.

U have lobang for cheaper rates ah?

I suggest U be careful when tackling MSCP especially when wet and look towards Bridgestone tires like the Grid III or Turanza (or newer models) when Ur tire change is due (I think 1-2 years later right? [sweatdrop] )

Take care! [nod]

My car's ziex tyres don't really slip much at all...in fact, they are rather sticky in carparks....making lots of squealing sounds when I make a turn.

cheers

Mine's ziex tyres as well....seems to be very good leh....even on wet roads. But I'll check the model later as reference for you guys.......

btw, mine's a 15" one. Slightly lower profile and wider tyre.....maybe they could have contributed to the better grip.......... [nod]

I thought you meant HDB MCSP.... [;)]

no...I actually last paid for carpark quite some time back.... now my wife settles the parking when she goes to the market (every 3 months)....so I'm a bit out of touch with the price... [:p]

lobang for cheap car park?....$50 is super cheap.... Everywhere in town is at least $180-$250.

Currently my company hasn't started charging me....I don't know how much its gonna be.. [:/]

That's why I'm puzzled.... is yours 195 width?

Maybe Ziex tyres 185 and below are not so good [shakehead]

My previous tyres were 185 width ZIEX too....but as they were slighytly worn, I never felt too comfortable with them, expecially in the wet. Upgrading to 205s were like getting racing tyres....much more grip all round...

I guess wider width is the key! [thumbsup]

Last week, my car skidded on the way up the ramp in a carpark. The floor was wet after the rain. I braked immediately, after which was not able to get the car to go further. The steering feels extremely loose and could feel that it's not gripping at all. After several tries, the engine stalled and after I restart, the car finally got moving.

After that, I was extremely careful whenever I go up the carpark.

Today, while travelling on ECP which was still wet after the rain last night, I could feel that the same thing is going to happen, which cause me to slow down alot. I sensed a slight pull and the car was like going to lose control and go towards the side. It's as if there's no friction between the tyres and the road.

Could anyone suggest what could be wrong, as I'm contemplating whether to go back to the agent or to have it check by my usual mechanic, who's more experience.

Thank you.

Think u are considered fortunate that your car didn't skidded back... like what i saw happened to alot of trucks and vans... [shakehead] ... believe me... u wouldn't want to be behind them.... [thumbsdown]

u r right i didn't skid backward, but i'm sure you won't want to be behind me either...:)

presea,

so good of you to stay ignorant to the new hdb season parking charges.laugh.gif

According to the sticker on the driver's door, it indicated 200 kPa (29 psi) for a 13 inch tyre. Mine is a 14 inch with sports rims. I went to pump the pressure to 195 kPa this morning, and realised that it's really easier on the road. What's the conversion ratio between kPa and psi? I've forgotten my maths.

But going up the MSCP, I still dare not try to go up in one swift action as like previously.

Sorry for my ignorant, but what's the effect of the tyre pressure on the foot pedals? The clutch was quite stiff previously, but after changing the tyre pressure, it felt softer.

Edited by Cat_tang

Should not be any difference... [sweatdrop]

Probably the feel-good factor... legs not so wobbly...

As for up MSCP, again same advice hor, get a smooth slow turn in up the ramp with gear 2 and clutch play... u gear 1 very easy to spin hor...

Wheels small small, spin spin spin [dizzy]

Edited by Icerain