Current or new focus

Samshio

Hi all,

went for a test drive on the ford focus and fell in love. However, with the new focus coming soon, heard around mar for the hatch, and jun for the sedan, should I wait until then ?

any one has any opinions and info ?

would the new focus be better than the current ? or worse ?

thanks

brother, my view is:-

- if u can wait and don't mind paying premium, wait for the new focus

- if cannot wait or not willing to pay premium settle for the current one

new products are usually pricey and if u really need a car now, why go to hassle of waiting for a new car

on the other hand, some will always feel newer is better.....so its really up to individual preference...

I can wait, no urgent need for car. Willing to pay premium ? depends on what 'better' things there are.

if really better like FC, safety , etc then worth it.

if just cosmetic, then maybe not.

actually, you might need to get the new one if you wait.. i believe old one has limited stock..

whether you should wait depends actually... on whether you like the new look tongue.gifunsure.gif

i believe, based on UK's reviews, that build quality has improved and handling for us common folks should be more or less the same.. but a number of us focus owners didn't really like the new styling.. it's like a step backward for ford in the styling department unsure.gifblush.gif

while the current focus still looks good after 6-7 years (check those in bodykit thumbsup.gif), i can't say the same for the current one... it has aged even when it is just launched... IMHO of course..

but regardless, the focus is still a good driver's car to drive wink.gif

oh check out www.fordclubsg.org

Edited by Mojoe

Thanks.

Check with the SE on this, still have the Blue color available. [:)]

anyway, tough decision, especially without knowing how much the new focus will cost [:(]

how much is the current focus selling for? you are looking for hatch or sedan?

the new focus should compete closely with the Opel Astra.. so around $76k? although earlier on, there was talk about it being $90k, but that was the pre-price drops days.. sweatdrop.gifrolleyes.gif

I think it should be closer to Astra's pricing..

for me, i'll choose the current focus than the new one just for the looks... i'm biased of course.. laugh.giflaugh.gif but if talking about new cars and based purely on photos seen so far of the new focus, i might consider the likes of astra or even the mazda 3 at its current price range (both for the looks) than the new focus sweatdrop.gif

really really have to see it in the flesh first as it doesn't look very promising till now on print... who knows the new focus looks good in the flesh nod.gifthumbsup.gif

Edited by Mojoe

I am looking at the sedan. The hatch all gone !

going for 69900 for basic version, and 72000 for all the frills.

true, if the new focus is going for 76K then it's competing with the opel and megane.

72k?? wow... good price... thumbsup.gif

or maybe take the basic and add-on whatever that you think you want wink.gif .. i did that when i got mine last feb

it should be competing with the Astra and Megane.. nod.gif

if you not comfy with it being an outgoing model, the Megane sedan is a pretty nifty car around that range.. depends on what you look for in the end wink.gif

I think the new Mk2 Focus sedan looks better than the hatch, so you might want to consider it when it arrives.. my comments on looks is comparing hatch and hatch wink.gif

Agreed sia! Was deciding between the Focus and Vios when I was getting my ride, but looking at the prices then (73K vs 61K) was a no-brainer!

Edited by DarkLord

megane vs focus? no brainer really. focus wins. renault build quality has n will be dodgy.

any picts of the sedan? they onli showed the hatch on Top Gear sweatdrop.gif

renault build quallity dodgy? no leh, my friend's one no problem at all..

actually most cars have some problems here and there.. the focus as well lipsrsealed.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif..

depends on what you want and your preference loh..

don't have the sedan pictures with me.. do a search in google wink.gif

[reply]

renault build quallity dodgy? no leh, my friend's one no problem at all..

Its pretty infamous. Of corse not every car is affected but minor niggling problems here n there are pretty common in comparisons to other equivalent brands. Its a bit stereotypical though of course. haha i am bit biased tongue.gif

what to do with a NA 1.6er... around there lah.. sweatdrop.giftongue.gif but the CVT version i think has a slightly better BHP sweatdrop.gif

hmmm... your avatar... you changed car liao? sweatdrop.giftongue.gif

Edited by Mojoe