My aveo5 engine

Deus_ex

hi ppl...i'm driving the new aveo5 and apart from the juddering windscreen wipers..i feel there's another problem....the engine feels realli super hot! at least the bonnet does...however the engine temp reading is normal...at the halfway mark...the reason y i think its a problem is because its so hot that it will fog up the bottom part of my windscreen...i feel that's quite jialat..my 10yr old lancer's engine and my friend's 1 yr old aveo felt much cooler than my 1 wk old car...any bros out there got this problem? i notice that there isnt any heat insulation on the bonnet cover..maybe that's y its so hot...but i don't think doing the heat insulation will solve the problem...after all its the engine that is really hot...or is it juz normal cos the reading says so...gonna bring this up for my 1k servcing in a few days but can anybody advise? wat if the servicing ppl says everything's normal... [shocked]

Bro, I think its normal. Teddy and I are driving the same Aveo5 as yours and got the same problem. The fogging up is due to the air-con, not the heat. The fogging is at the center behind the wiper right? I drive with the air-con level at the center, not all the way to the right and the fogging wil not occur.

You can try driving without air-con see how is it..

When i open up the hood, i also feel its hot. I've installed a bonnet insulator and the heats to the bonnet cuts down.

Edited by Xavier

chevy engine does seem to be a bit hotter physcially. so you will gan jiong if you compare to vehicle of other makes. (friend Rav 4 cool down way faster than my car when we stop to do car wash) But the fogging should not be cause by the heat from the engine. or izzit your aircon tune tooo cold ? I usually set mine at fan speed 1 and cool 1/2 way thru.

yeap, the fogging is due to the heat from ur engine, the fan blows the hot air backwards and some goes under the car, some escapes from the bonnet where the windscreen wipers are.

Witnessed this yesterday as I was leaving the cemetary... it was raining and it was absolutely jammed... everytime the wipers made their rounds, the bottom of my winscreen fogged up a little.

I also noticed my wipers chattering... but once at highway speeds, okie dokie...

I'm now thinking about installing the heat insultaion on the bonnet, since the bonnet really dries very fast due to the heat... u should see my car now.. all the burning incense / ash... combined with rain... [bigcry]

i'm in MSCP lah bro... besides tbe ash and stuff, mabbe the acid rain can also wash away my paint [sweatdrop]

The heat can escape from the bottom of the engine bay. The insulator is not that big till it covers the gap at the sides, so I presume the air can still escape through those gaps. I use the insulator as a paint protectant for my bonnet actually..

good life for your car. I 3rd day have to dump the car on open air and being splash by acid rain from morning until just now. [bigcry] lucky sat put up klasse. hope that thing can shield some damage off [:/]

nah... i trying to abuse my car to the point where the paint turns into a beautiful matt finish [laugh]

hmm my air con mostly only at '1'...well since u guys have this problem i think shld be normal lor...yah was realli worried cos i not used to such hot engines...haha...i oso scared it'll dull, or worse, melt the paint on my bonnet gradually. Installing the insulator would trap heat rite...not so gd for the engine bay..haha..so troublesome..

anyway thanks for all the comments bros... btw the servicing schedule for ubi so packed ah...i juz called n tried to book an appt for this thurs but the earliest date is next wed...think i'd have clocked 2000km by then... [laugh]

saw a dark gray cxxxc with that kinda surface before, the result actually quite eye pleasing [sly]

for me, I wanna rub soo much high gloss sealent on the paint surface until the bird shxx will just flow down the body like a complete egg york.

unless ur bonnet is damned hot at that moment, in which case the sh!t will immediately cook, solidify and fuse, much like crackin open an egg on a hot pan [laugh]

Her Bao Dan anyone? [laugh][laugh]

haha.... is really very packed...... when mine went for first servicing... I had clocked 2200++km..... so my next servicing is @ 7200++ km.... sly.gifsly.gifsly.giflaugh.gif