Anyone knows where to get MDF wood/material?

Headshok

hey all,

anyone here got lobang for MDF board?i wanna build my own speaker, lookin ard for it, would appreciate some help..

also.. anione know where to get the 'hairy hairy' fabric that is used to warp the woofer boxes?

cheers guys

Bras Basah complex you know the Book City ? Try the Art and Craft shops or the Hobbie Model shops

Few years back, i got a large MDF board from this shop somewhere behind Jalan Besar hawker centre. Shop was quite large, had all kinds of wood material to choose from, ready stock of MDF.

Alternatively, there's one shop at Changi Complex (right at the end of Bedok Road) selling hardware and wood material as well. However, they don't seem to have MDF board in ready stock, u gotta order in advance.

For the wrap material, i got no idea but you could try Spotlight. At least they have vinyl, similar to that used in some car upholstery.

like i said, few years ago liao, cannot remember how much. But no worries, yuo can always ask the shop to cut to whatever size you require. in fact, the shop at Changi Complex can help u cut the parts ready to assemble if know exactly what shape and size u want. of course must pay a bit for labour charge.

haha.. okok..

changi a bit far lah.. everytime i go to the east sure get lost one.. but aniway.. i wanna build a speaker.. so where's the fun if u don cut it urself.. heheh.. makes the end product so much more sweeter.. heheh

yup, i do a bit of carpentry myself, simple stuff. but i think u mean speaker box, not speaker [flowerface]

u gotta have all the proper tools like electric jigsaw etc. though....

Changi Complex not difficult to find, just read Street Directory lor..

Edited by Bigtoothpick

haha.. yeah.speaker box.. my pockets not that deep, so tink gotta use more primative tools.. only headache is how to cut the damm hole.. ask friend. he say tool shop sell those drill attachments that will bore a hole into wood in the shape of a circle..

u have any suggestions?

cheers man

alamak, bro, u got long way to go. Yr friend referring to hole-cutter... unless you are making a tweeter box [laugh] [laugh] [laugh] those can only cut very small diameter holes. That's why i said u need a electric jigsaw, and a very very steady hand. Start by drilling a hole at the edge of the circle for the jig-saw blade to go into, then start cutting from there.

alamak.. don laugh meh..

my this friend's dad is a carpenter.. so he said he has seen the tool b4.. aniway..

i was also thinkin the same idea as u.. mark out the circle, then drill holes around the circle, then very slowly cut out the circle.. wat do u think? more time consumin but no choice lor

ok, no offence..... yr friend is not wrong, just that he may not know the size of the hole u need to cut. Ur method gonna take a LOT of work, coz u still gotta file away the rough edges. mmmm, if u r serious on this, u really should invest in some tools. Coz you still need to cut the side and back panels, unless u thinking of using a hacksaw.... man, a lot of sweat [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

well.. lets say to cut the hole.. tat one the biggest headache.. wats the best tool?

i been playin too much ICE, got the amps ready for the speaker.. also will need to get the actualy speaker cone..

i seriously was thinkin of usin hack saw lor. heheh.. no choice.. low on $$$.. aniway.. can get a good workout from it too.. get stronger forearms.. heheh..

too file away the edges, i was thinkin of gettin some sand paper, cut liao.. slowly smoothen the edges lor..

wat do u think of the idea..

u can recommend any tools to get?

I think I'm more of a hardware person than a ICE person. So I totally understand what bigtoothpick says.

The biggest hole drill you can find in the market....is probably like 2" or 2.5". So it's only good for tweeters. Easy job. For the 6.5", 8",10",12" sizes, you need to mark the wood using pencil first, drill a hole big enough for your electric jigsaw wood cutter to fit in, then drill all the way for the big holes.

If you are using manual hand tools, then it's really tough if the wood is tough...but depending on what wood. For MDF, it's not too hard to saw with hand, unlike plywood. So you can try. If too hard, then you've got to beg borrow steal this electric wood cutter, damm fast. Cut a big hole in seconds. And yes, you need more or less, a steady hand. Furthermore, you might want to cut a smaller hole than the markings so that you can file it. Just go to a hardware shop and tell them what you want to do and they'll have everything for you. Handsaw, electric saw, wood file, sandpaper.....actually I don't think you need sandpaper....just use a wood file...those that have a semi curved surface on one side.

[sunny]

I got mine woods from Kelantane lane or near there. Behind Jalan Besar hawker center. I measure the 6 sided small boards I need for my subwoofer and then arrange them to fit into either half size of the normal size 4 feet X 8 feet board. U must arrange properly so that its cheaper bcos u buy half piece and add labour charge to cut for u. If u never arrange and plan properly, they just take out half a piece cut then if at corner not enuf, they will charge higher bcos they have to open another half piece to cut. best is squeeze everything into one half piece or one full piece.

By the way they only cut 90 degree board. So u have to cut the slant angle urself for parrallelogram.

For cheaper labours, u better arrange the cutting such that the board cut out in stripes first. Then cut the few line in between into the size u want. If u never arrange, every small piece is considered 4 cuts and each cuts is charged. Unless u got carpenter fren or dad who patronise them often and labour charge cheaper like $5 for every thing.

I draw out the size of the box I want after getting the specs of the woofer enclosure volume for sealed enclosure. Different model differnt colume, so must check. Mine can varies from 1 cubic feet to 1.75 cubic feet for different enclosure and sound effects. Then also get the magnet displacement volume from the manual bcos the magnet also take up space in the box. Then measure my boot and take into consideration my box's interior volume and make it equal 1.25 cubic feet then my dad help me arrange the cutting of boad. he plan until the minimum cuts is needed from the workshop. Total cost of the subwoofer box (3/4 inch mdf) + 2 piece to stick behind my 60/40 rear seat (1/2 inch plywood+ the boot base board (mdf) is $30 include labour.

Then the round circle I drill hole to poke thru the cutter blade before I cut one using my dad's electric mobile wood cutter. Then for all the screws to join the board, must drill a thin hole half the diameter of the screw first before u screw in or else the screw so thick force inside might crack the board. inbetween joins, put white carpenter glue for air tight.

I bought my carpet at Spotlight one meter is $39.95. My grill is $20 from my audio shop. 12 inch cadence sub is $180.

post-4-1113327984_thumb.jpg

post-4-1113327985_thumb.jpg

NICE MAN..

aniway.. how's cadence like? good? was tinkin of gettin their components.. hows the woofer power?

must say.. u are good.. heheh...

chio man~

Edited by Headshok