Life without Resonator first field report

Coldfish

Sorry lah... need to send kid for swimming lessons and wait for them too. Already told encik can't make it during meet up at Yishun dam.

[:(]

Next time ok? when we collect our Ts

Hi all,

-ve

1. maybe because torque, etc, gone up, or maybe due to strong air sucking action, car actually vibrates more especially at higher speed

2. need to 'cham' brake from a longer distance and harder due to higher torque, etc.

Anymore to add from bros & sis without resonators?

Allow me to explain the symptoms

1. Resonator boxes actually slow the air speed and creates a smoother air intake into the manifold intake with results in a smoother idling speeds and quieter engine.

2. The lack of a suction pressure on the intake results in a drop in manifold suction pressure of which the brake booster is fed from thus reducing the brake booster's efficiency. I have found that by enlarging the vacuum line on this said booster will help improve (but not restore) the booster's efficiency.

Maybe a good compromise would be to reinstall the resonator but have a 50% bypass for direct intake. [nod]

that wat i am thinking of...to keep the resonator and have a t-joint to connect the resonator and CAI to the filter box...

open pod filter -> CAI tube (leading to wheel well) -> original air box (resonator removed) w/ air filter -> the rest of the engine

thanks

Having a dedicated intake from outside to the airbox is a good idea. Afterall you want fresh and not superheated air for combustion to curtail engine build up heat. But I think drawing air from the wheel well will result in tyre kick up dirt ad sand into your intake box.. you might end up with a sandbox in there. Also excessive dust to the filter which means shorter time before it clogs up.

A direct duct intake perhaps taken from the side front quarter panel would be best solution as the risk of picking kicked up dirt from the vehicle in front and your own ride is minimised. But again that requires cutting the bodywork.

Replacing foglamp for intake is also another good idea bubear in mind that the lower the car the more dirt pick up... maybe a fine mesh screen might be a good idea where the intake surface area is about 1.7 times bigger than the iintake box opening.

Maybe have a smaller pipe in the resonator box from the in to the out to the air filter box.

That way the agent will not know unless opened

i have not went to the agent for servicing after the 3rd free service......i dun think it worth for me to take leave just for servicing the car.... [sweatdrop]

You driving Aveo or Optra? I had looked around for very long to find those metal pipe type SRM and CAI but couldn't find as most manufacturer don't produce for our car models.

I settled for those hose type CAI. kopikao and I did it at Autodesign for $60 each.

BTW, are you from KOG?

how you know?

U saw me b4?

I am one of the 2 chevrolet with KOG decal, if u see me, cant be wrong.

My friend drive a Picanto and I used to visit the I.C.E section of KOG. Saw your aveo signature. You using that Razzi body kit?

Oh no...kana discovered liao. [blush]

The kit cost me $1500US excluding installation and spray. Still waiting for it to arrive.

Edited by Xiaogary

I am trying to get cheaper shipment bcos the cost of shipping made up 30-40% of the overall price. Still liasing with that guy there bcos they insist on UPS shipping which is way too ex.