Mitsubishi Lancer Problematic?????

Deathsythe

I would like to find out whether Lancer is very problematic.

Have heard from my friend that his alignment is out since day 1. Keep going back to C&C but same thing. Then it was the ECU that fails him twice. Once during warranty, now warranty over C&C deny him of a change.

Lancer drivers please feedback on the problems faced.

What's ECU? How to know whether car has any problem? My Lancer is reaching 3 months old soon. Do they check wheel alignment during the free servicing?

ECU = Engine Control Unit. Mine is about the same time as yours too. I am not familiar with cars but I try to listen to abnormal noise whenever I start the engine, on the air-con, drive off or stop, so most of the time I detect it before it get sicker, else make sure your the temp. gauge always stays at the same position whenever you drive.

So far I did twice on my wheel alignment issue already but to no avails, not satisfy with the result, I will complain again until the problem is solve ! They do not check wheel alignment for you unless you complaint to them that you have a problem with alignment.

what problems? can give more details? like ECU spoil in what way? wheel alignment or bumper?

I have a 5 year old lancer in the family. no problem for this long. only wear and tear.

ECU seldom spoil one leh.... for the older lancers, i have heard from issues with their auto trannies. other than that, they tend to be quite reliable and cheap to repair and maintain (assuming using parts from local stockists instead of going to C&C)

i think they either anyhow do the alignment or nv even do it at all... did they charge v.high for it?

if C&C is useless, then do it at any tyre shop lor. outside do computerised wheel alignment only $60.. one time solve everything. u can test drive until it is perfect b4 paying them [nod]

btw, how he know that the ECU failed? maybe some fuse is blown or something and the ECU trying to compensate? i believe there's something to plug in for a diagnostics right? no necessary must go back C&C..

maybe can try to reset the ECU first to see if the problem goes away.. [sweatdrop]

yoyo.

my lancer coming to 2 yrs in august, everything's ok (touch wood just in case).

your friend send his car for any mods or anything that might have messed up the ECU? if not just go back kan C&C

Lancer is well known for the auto trannies breaking down after 3 years?

Here we goes again , down the history lane...[rolleyes][rolleyes]

But, yes its true for that era of lancers ... any1 with feedback for the 2001 and beyond lancers ? as now is 2006, some of them shld be 5yrs liao.... shd hv some data.

the one n only CVT txm that died, tracked... [lipsrsealed]

mice

btw, how he know that the ECU failed? maybe some fuse is blown or something and the ECU trying to compensate? i believe there's something to plug in for a diagnostics right? no necessary must go back C&C..

i tink its the OBD2 scanner tool/laptop ... si bo ?

mice

ever wondered why they break down after 3 years? so C&C can charge us a bomb for changing it... Auto trannies spoilt.. you LL better change, else how to drive.... treat people as carrots [shocked]

I m a noob in cars too. Now and then ask my ex taxi driver parent to drive car to scan for faults. :)

Been driving my lancer (m) for 2 months +. going back for 2nd servicing soon. Quite pleased with the quality, though my parent commented that biting point a bit high and needs some adjustment.

That was in the past. I have past and present colleagues driving trouble free Lancers. With improvement in technology, most major brands today and actually reliable. I have been driving for a long time. The sight of vehicles breaking down by the side of the road or highway is no longer a common sight.

fr what i see on the road....

i hv yet to see a Mit car being towed away w/o being in wretched accident condition.

alignment problem.. nope, none of the car dealer check it. why should they? this arrive in a QC checked condition. alignment is usually not out, it may b a result of shipping or bad handling.

if it is a serious issue, write to the dealer and inform them you gg to get an expert to resolve it. then goto riverview and get it resolved then backcharge to the dealer, period.

ecu fail... on what ground? if pple mess with the power supplies, remove battery thinking resetting ECU will bring about better FC, guess what?

blame the dealer? blame the manufacturer? not fair right.

clearly the details must b more forcoming then finger pointing at the drop of pin.