Mitsubishi Lancer Problematic?????

Deathsythe

my Lancer is march 2003 travelled for 55k, no problem until march 2006.

I replace another lancer in march 2006 [laugh]

I think the agents dont do all the stuff they claim to do. Same with the big WS. They think most pple can't tell the diff anyway, so just lie to them. [pirate]

I also had trouble with a big WS, C*S. They changed my shocks & said they already checked the alignment. All is fine. But when I drove, found the handling very twitchy. I tot was cos of the new brand of shocks I put in. [confused]

Had a skid & then brought my car to my own tyre shop to have the alignment checked with the computerised type.

Found ALL the factory settings way off [smallcry][shocked] . He immediately did it & the car handling felt very good & stable again.

Agree with what YC86 said. Just bring to your own trusted WS to get it checked & done. I dont trust the agents at all. [lipsrsealed]

Even the big korean agent, they screwed up my car when I changed the timing belt. The timing was set wrongly. Car felt very bad. No power & accelerating was terrible. My fren checked & found the timing set wrongly. After he re-did it, was beautiful again. [sweatdrop]

I wonder if they so incompetent or do it on purpose to drum up their business when u have to keep going back to do this & that? [confused]

My post is last yr and I dun quite remember wat he told me. But the problem is not solve and he's living with the problem.

C & C doesn't really solve his problem even though he keeps pestering them until the day the warranty runs out. He doesn't mod or do anything funny to his car at all.

btw, how he know that the ECU failed? maybe some fuse is blown or something and the ECU trying to compensate? i believe there's something to plug in for a diagnostics right? no necessary must go back C&C..

i tink its the OBD2 scanner tool/laptop ... si bo ?

mice

yes yes... i think so..

but i dunno why they say mazda n the old corolla can't plug in.. [hur]

[reply]Lancer is well known for the auto trannies breaking down after 3 years?

Here we goes again , down the history lane...[rolleyes][rolleyes]

But, yes its true for that era of lancers ... any1 with feedback for the 2001 and beyond lancers ? as now is 2006, some of them shld be 5yrs liao.... shd hv some data.

my info - bought used 01 GDI CVT in late 03, mileage then 50k km

been few times to genting, kl, ipoh / frasers hill

scrapped in 06 - mileage 120k km

changed the cvt transmission oil once, after getting car in 03, cos jerked wen gear changed (tink prev owner did not change oil at all), after tat smooth till scrapped, very wasted to scrapped - auto n cvt no problem, love the cvt smoothness but not the retarded response

dunno if previous owner had problem w the GDI

if afraid CVT will fail in malaysia trips, go buy the insurance tow package where the tow back to s'pore is foc - i afraid GDI fail lah [sweatdrop]

damm heng, 2.5 yrs GDI ok, only had couple of bucking jerks wen stationary in 03, tot GDI fail liao, heng ah [sweatdrop]

i am driving a cs03 also ,comming to 2yrs...no major issuee except for the little noise on the front passenger door which is very common among other lancer.other than that its a great car.

you have a little noise on the front passenger door? does it goes like "tiak" especially when it goes over humps? I have that problem on my driver side door but i have no idea where exactly it is coming from...any idea?

Lancer is well known for the auto trannies breaking down after 3 years?

Here we goes again , down the history lane...[rolleyes][rolleyes]

But, yes its true for that era of lancers ... any1 with feedback for the 2001 and beyond lancers ? as now is 2006, some of them shld be 5yrs liao.... shd hv some data.

the one n only CVT txm that died, tracked... [lipsrsealed]

mice

my previous ride is a glxi registered in 2000, i face the alignment problem too. the left tyre tends to wear off more on the outer than the right side. done few wheel alignment with my workshop still have the same problem...dunnoe why.. else the rest of the car is pretty fine....oh..in the end it was scrap becoz of too high coe... [:p]

I would like to find out whether Lancer is very problematic.

Have heard from my friend that his alignment is out since day 1. Keep going back to C&C but same thing. Then it was the ECU that fails him twice. Once during warranty, now warranty over C&C deny him of a change.

Lancer drivers please feedback on the problems faced.

I had the same ECU problem with my previous car, a 2001 Lancer GLX, which I sold a year+ ago. About three months in my ownership of the car, it started to idle very roughtly and I had to get the ECU reset. I had two other problems with that car. Whenever I reverse slowly and stepped on the brakes, I could hear a loud "clack" sound. And when I moved it forward slowly and then stepped on the brakes, the same noise was heard. The C$C technicians were not able to rectify that although I complained about it on numerous occasions. One more thing, the engine was really noisy especially in the morning when I started up the engine.. I really hated the din it made. The last straw was the CVT slack... To be fair, the Lancer I had could have been a "lemon" but my confidence was shaken and I am inclined to keep away from that marque.

Edited by Dipstick

GDI is using the CVT technology rite? smile.gif

if im not wrong..yes it is CVT

CVT is suppose for smooth driving and not to "loot"

I'm still skeptical about CVT technology..hv little assurance about it

hi, i also got alignment problem.my car is cs3 2004 model. but my is steering slightly pull to the right.

even i go a few different alignment shop to do computerise alignment also same problem.

even now change camber bolt also same problem. [:(]

dun know what happen??? [sweatdrop]

Current ride is End'02 GDI. Still keeoping the car currently as still awaiting the car price to go lower. Owning my first lancer was a disappointment.

Went for first servicing and they scratched all my rims on the nut area and I demanded them for a change on the rims.

Shortly after getting car there is a "metal" sound whenever I go over hump. Send the car in for almost 5 times (almost 2 years later) before they finally clear the problem. Now I am getting the kind of "unlubricated hinge" sound when I go over hump. Cant be bothered anymore..

Service from agent was a real disappoinment. Doubt that I will ever buy another lancer..

Just my two cents worth of opinion......