Avenso Neutral Newbie April 23, 2005 Share April 23, 2005 Can someone share their experience with CVT? Does it lead to better FC? Maintenance problems? Quality? I heard that you can cruise at over 100kmh and the CVT will set at 1900rpm. My year 2000 VTi had CVT transmission. Never really like it in the beginning becos of the rubber band effect and down-shift acceleration noise. Got used to it after a while, but ...at its 4th year, at NS highway speed in Malaysia it gave a variety of strange problems. After a while of driving at constant 110 -130 kmh, it started to keep on changing down and up gear. After stopping, the gear locked up and was unable to be shifted. The gear stick can be moved but the indicator on the speedometer showed otherwise. Can move to "Park" though. Waited a while, restart but same problem again if I drive at 110 and above. Sent it to KM. They said they can't emulate speed in Singapore to check on problem. However they later said they used the dyno to emulate situation and found problem was due to a faulty sensor . Paid for the replacement (but strangely this time they did not return me the faulty part). Weeks later had same problem again in Malaysia. Due to advantageous COE rebate, I scrapped the vehicle and bought another make with normal auto trans. Heard from car dealer friend about the many CVT problems earlier jazz and my model civic had. Nope, no more CVT for me until the day I have no other choice which is when almost all cars will come fitted that way. By that time, I guess they must have got it right. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie April 23, 2005 Share April 23, 2005 still can't beat manual tranny, unless it's selespeed one...... yeah manual the way to go.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear April 23, 2005 Share April 23, 2005 side track, you using the same nik in AROC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched April 23, 2005 Share April 23, 2005 yeah manual the way to go.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littleblackalfa Neutral Newbie April 23, 2005 Share April 23, 2005 (edited) i use the same nick everywhere... Edited April 23, 2005 by Littleblackalfa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littleblackalfa Neutral Newbie April 23, 2005 Share April 23, 2005 still can't beat manual tranny, unless it's selespeed one...... roger that... thought I wish the Selespeed wasn't so "intelligent"... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hacker Neutral Newbie April 23, 2005 Share April 23, 2005 There's also Audi's and VW's DSG transmission . Their CVT, BTW, is very, very good . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear April 24, 2005 Share April 24, 2005 >>Nope, no more CVT for me until the day I have no other choice which is when almost all cars will come fitted that way. By that time, I guess they must have got it right. >> Exact sentiments here. I owned a late 80's Subaru CVT before and it gave me so much problems that I had to get rid of it after only 6 months...at a high loss of course. Many people kept saying the CVT technology would have improved by leaps and bounds by now but I still dun want to risk my pocket. Those stories I heard on EK3 and ES8 are very good examples. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yansen Neutral Newbie April 24, 2005 Share April 24, 2005 CVT really sucks. feels like a rubberband like some bros commented, n no power whatsoever. gimme a conventional 5 sp manual anytime. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zrun Neutral Newbie April 24, 2005 Author Share April 24, 2005 (edited) I think this rubberband effect is from "downshifting"? So, the RPM "rubberbands" to high rpm, during this time, you won't feel increase in HP. I think for quieter engines with better torque curve (increasing, rather than constant), this effect may be very small. Give me a 5spd anytime.. but my wife doesn't think so.. However, I think I prefer CVT to AT, because I think it is cheaper to replace a chain in CVT than to rebuild/replace AT. Edited April 24, 2005 by Zrun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear April 25, 2005 Share April 25, 2005 i use the same nick everywhere... I see, me too, heard that my friend, Gary's GTA, was badly damaged Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged April 25, 2005 Share April 25, 2005 tk goodness i opt for conventional...but, unfortunately the drive i bought dun come with manual gears otherwise, i wld hv settle for manual instead of auto Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littleblackalfa Neutral Newbie April 25, 2005 Share April 25, 2005 ??? In the recent Sepang adventure? I dunno. I missed that one. I know my friend's MAF blew though, which forced him to drive back from Sepang all the way to SG at 65km/h... ouch... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Julesct Neutral Newbie April 25, 2005 Share April 25, 2005 i drive a 2003 honda city, have already changed gearbox by end of first year. u say leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yansen Neutral Newbie April 25, 2005 Share April 25, 2005 hmm downshifting? but i thought CVT has only one gear n therefore infinite gear ratios? so how does it downshift? as for AT vs CVT, i'd go for AT cos still can feel the changing of gears at work. more like driving lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yansen Neutral Newbie April 25, 2005 Share April 25, 2005 huh? wat ya trying to say dude? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zrun Neutral Newbie April 25, 2005 Author Share April 25, 2005 That's why I say "downshift" in quotes.. It changes the gear ratio gradually, so give the impression that the RPM shoots up suddenly but no increase in hp/speed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged April 25, 2005 Share April 25, 2005 (edited) what i meant was given a choice, if my ride comes with manual trans and auto trans...i would choose manual trans... Edited April 25, 2005 by Qpik ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...