Soya Supersonic December 19, 2002 Share December 19, 2002 Need help. Anyone knows what is the offset for the S40? Thks in advance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nast4 Neutral Newbie December 19, 2002 Share December 19, 2002 I dont. But here's a guy from another forum who seems to know. Hope it helps..a bit dated though. Re: Bolt Pattern & Offset:[s40-V40/2000] posted by Arno Griffioen on Thursday, 23 September 1999, at 7:58 a.m. Bolt pattern is 'japanese': 4 x 114.3. Shop for wheels which fit Toyota's and such. Default offset of steel Volvo wheels is ET44 (don't know about alloys), but if you want to go wider than 205 tires (the max. on Volvo wheels) then most aftermarket wheels have an offset which ranges from ET35 to 42 with ET37 being most common for 17"/8J wheels. My 215/40R17 setup with a wheel with ET37 has enough clearance on the inside so it doesn't rub on turning the wheel to full lock and it doesn't rub on the rear fender lip either (not even when fully loaded and hitting the bump-stops) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 19, 2002 Author Share December 19, 2002 Hi bro U finally online! Welcum! Thks for the tip. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nast4 Neutral Newbie December 19, 2002 Share December 19, 2002 Thanx Soya 4 the welcome. Thought you're done with your wheel upgrade so whats up with the question on offset now ? Myself got around to getting quotes for my 17" rims. Have focused on OZ Crono Evolution (me like simple broad spokes) with either SO3 or Yokohama's AVS. Any views or comments ? Anyone ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie December 19, 2002 Share December 19, 2002 Chronos and AVS Sport Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear December 21, 2002 Share December 21, 2002 Upgraded your rims already? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wildswan Neutral Newbie December 21, 2002 Share December 21, 2002 i'm looking for a set of used 15/16" rims for my s40. any lobang? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear December 22, 2002 Share December 22, 2002 Are u looking for Volvo rims or aftermarket ones? Any weight consideration? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 22, 2002 Author Share December 22, 2002 Yes. Finally settled for the 17" ROH Fury in shadow chrome finish. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear December 22, 2002 Share December 22, 2002 Can post a pic of your ride with new rims? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 22, 2002 Author Share December 22, 2002 Hehe...shy lah. Only a humble S40 leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear December 22, 2002 Share December 22, 2002 At least yours is a T4. The S40 at my home is a NA version Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 22, 2002 Author Share December 22, 2002 Actually looks no different from your 1.8 NA (2002 model) except for that tiny itsy-bitsy T4 badge on the rear right and a larger exhaust. Same front lip, rear spoiler, piano black trim, black bezel headlamps, etc. But that's what i like about it: low profile n stealth..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wildswan Neutral Newbie December 29, 2002 Share December 29, 2002 hi soya, do you have the original 16" rims? can i have them for a small price? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 30, 2002 Author Share December 30, 2002 Alamak, should've let me know sooner. Afraid i've traded them in at Leong Seng. I know they have 2 sets of 16" T4 rims there as another T4 bro also traded his in recently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wildswan Neutral Newbie December 31, 2002 Share December 31, 2002 soya, will check with leong seng. btw, how much did leong seng pay for your rims? need to know so that i can compare the price for your rims versus buying new ones. say i get the 16" rims, i will need new 16" tires. any recommendation for good performance but quiet tires? actually i really like the oz super tourismo. btw, the check engine light keeps coming on on my car after the overheating problem has been solved. the agent workshop could not pinpoint any fault the last time they checked it. i think the ecu has 'karput'. do you have such experience? turbo, any idea how the check engine warning system works? wildswan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 31, 2002 Author Share December 31, 2002 (edited) Me and another T4 brudder r running 17" Yokohama AVS ES100 now. Good ride comfort & surprisingly quiet for a performance tyre. Grip-wise, no complaints so far (incl wet performance). Not a bad overall package. For ultimate grip, heard the AVS Sport is better but also more noisy n more ex$$. If u going for 16", the size u should be looking at is 205/50/16. No overheating problems here so can't advice. Edited December 31, 2002 by Soya Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie December 31, 2002 Share December 31, 2002 Hey that's the size I'm using. I'm on Yokohama too. How's the wet weather performance of them ES100? I might want to consider if I can get them real cheap. Do you drive them hard and find that it cannot cope sometimes? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...