Dannygooey Neutral Newbie May 28, 2005 Share May 28, 2005 Hi, I am new in MCF. I had shortlisted 2 cars that I am interested in. The Chevy Aveo 5 manual and Hyundai Getz 1.3 auto. I would like need you guys advise which is better (e.g. performance, FC...etc). FC is a really big factor for me as I'll be travelling from West to East of Singapore (PIE) for work and vice versa home. Pls kindly advise....thanks. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chevycat Neutral Newbie May 29, 2005 Share May 29, 2005 If FC is a BIG concern, you should NOT be looking at these 2 cars. You should be looking at Jap car like the Jazz or Vios 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Botak Neutral Newbie May 29, 2005 Share May 29, 2005 You are right. Don't look for Korean brand car if FC is a BIG concern. Any Jap brand car will win them on the FC but not all can maintain good FC in long run. I think take cab will save him a lot. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 29, 2005 Share May 29, 2005 Of the 2, I would think the one with manual gear will give you better FC. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dannygooey Neutral Newbie May 29, 2005 Author Share May 29, 2005 Sorry to mention....these two cars are both within my budget....jap cars are all out....of cos if I could afford a vios, I would definitely go for it!!!!! Too bad..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched May 29, 2005 Share May 29, 2005 Hi man, Maybe u can reconsider continue to take public transport because travelling from west to east the fuel cost going to kill you. I believe one fine day u will change job and hopefully it will be nearer to yr hse and u may not need a car anymore. (if yr initial intention is to get a car for transport).. with all the new erp gantries coming up, higher petrol cost, night erps... weekend erps .. Brother, i travel from west to east everyday to work too, i still gotta change bus at bedok... has been one year plus liao... my total journey is 1 hour 40 min everyday to work, but it is definitely cheaper than pay for petrol. U see... given the 2 cars u shortlised, I believe both fc can barely hit 15km/litre and 1 litre is abt $1.50. so u do yr calculation... cheaper to tak public transport.. for eg my distance to work is 32km, and if i drive i prolly need $3 of petrol to go to work and another $3 to go home. THat is $6 of petrol a day! If i take public transport, taking train and changing bus, it is at most $2 per trip (from mrt change to bus got rebate mah) and that makes $4 a day for transport. I am also tempted to get a four wheeler.. but have been hesitating.. my advice to you, save more money first, wait for another 2 years or so, until u change job, nearer to yr hse and got more saving, get a better car with better fuel consumption meanwhile.. jus hang on.... like me.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redtrack Neutral Newbie May 29, 2005 Share May 29, 2005 i found driving to work in a car actually costed more than taking public transport myself. A car is only worthwhile if i can fetch my wife to work as well. Probably fetch my kid to school when they grow bigger. some monthly savings have already gone to household bills. if i get a car, it means the end of saving ! If you are paying installment (low downpayment), prepare to minus $1,000 from your monthly take-home-pay. A cheaper experiment is to rent or join car sharing first to know the advantages and disadvantages of getting a car. With ERP poping up everywhere, poor drivers will become poorer soon 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched May 29, 2005 Share May 29, 2005 (edited) Ya man.. i totally agree... my advice is hence to wait a couple of years, when yr salary has increased over the 3 years for instance and by then u have more savings, u can afford more downpayment and hence a lower monthly instalment, coupled with higher take home pay as compared to 3 years ago.... right now... hus hang on..... if not... sad but true... a poor driver will beecome poorer ... Edited May 29, 2005 by Gantan88 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldawn88 2nd Gear May 29, 2005 Share May 29, 2005 This logic works if it is based on the idea that your job is gg to be stable over the next few years... and also if your job gives you increment yearly.... if you put it this way... you should know that the above mentioned are not true and is not absolute anymore in SG. owning a car is so difficult in SG! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightfalls Neutral Newbie May 29, 2005 Share May 29, 2005 Hi, I am new in MCF. I had shortlisted 2 cars that I am interested in. The Chevy Aveo 5 manual and Hyundai Getz 1.3 auto. I would like need you guys advise which is better (e.g. performance, FC...etc). FC is a really big factor for me as I'll be travelling from West to East of Singapore (PIE) for work and vice versa home. Pls kindly advise....thanks. like the other bros said...u dun need a car. there's public transport... i drive a car, that's becos it's subsidised... or another category will be good disposable income. dun act on impulse.. cars are big liability! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched May 29, 2005 Share May 29, 2005 Yeah.. i have already made that assumption... with yearly increment or pay increment when u switch job... owning a car is indeed difficult in sg.... ... now still wondering when will be my car coming.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched May 29, 2005 Share May 29, 2005 U mention subsidised.... how or by who? By the car manufacturer himself? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear May 29, 2005 Share May 29, 2005 If FC is a major concern, then u shld go for kelissa or picanto, in manual transmission 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chevycat Neutral Newbie May 30, 2005 Share May 30, 2005 another way is to get a motorbike for work and have a OPC for family. My work place is 42 km from my home. If I drive to work, I will be spending a big chunk of the pay on petrol and servicing. So Mon to Fri, ride a bike and weekends drive the car. Works out well for me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carmodz Neutral Newbie May 30, 2005 Share May 30, 2005 Bro, FC?? Get the FIT or JAZZ...If not get the Kelisa! Vios can also go far. Abt 600km for full tank. But personnally I won't get the Getz or Aveo. Any other factors you would be looking at? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched May 30, 2005 Share May 30, 2005 I would suggest Picanto over Kelisa. For the well overall package. As I understand, not everyone can stand the size or cheap look of Kelisa. I have seen so much problem about the car that the service center here couldn't solve. Everyone here are talking about saving up. But I would ask you how much you WANT a car. Seriously in singapore, you don't need one. However, I do believe that the amount of time saved from using a car would be a plus point, especially if you worked far. As for budget, can still get OPC, but work early and drive back after dinner. Motorcycle, extra cost and danger. However, if you can keep S$250 aside for petrol per month. You could consider Aveo. Cheap and nice car. And with some careful driving, maybe you can hit 14-15km/L. Anyway, auto car's FC is always lousy. And being a 1.3 isn't helping too. Have you consider Accent and Rio? These cars seems to have a better FC compared to Aveo and Getz, and their price isn't high. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Julian Clutched May 30, 2005 Share May 30, 2005 Sorry to mention....these two cars are both within my budget....jap cars are all out....of cos if I could afford a vios, I would definitely go for it!!!!! Too bad..... your budget is under $50k or up to $55k? I would say the Aveo is a better buy but if u need a good FC car.... maybe u can consider a Daihatsu YRV 1.3 (M) @ $52,888..... think u better buy the car this time round as interest rate going up in early June.... better get some savings now.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Decibel Neutral Newbie May 30, 2005 Share May 30, 2005 Why not just get a used car if you're really on a budget? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...