Osiris 1st Gear June 4, 2005 Share June 4, 2005 (edited) When I first use Glare, I was very satisfied. In fact when I went for the grooming service, "car spa" which cost $25, I was also very pleased. They did a good job and told the whole forum that I was a happy customer. Now, I went for my Glare 1st inspection after 6 months. James (the PIC) wasn't around. So the polishing was done by the workers (Previously, polishing was done by James). After a casual inspection of the work done, I left for home. It was only until I reach home, the first hint of a haphazard job begin to surface. I had to unpack my stuff from the boot and noticed a new scratch! and black dots (like the one above the scratch) all over the boot lid. I can't say for sure the scratch is caused by them but the many black dots shouldn't be there after a wash, claybar and polish. [inline "Woes 4 - Souvenir.JPG"] Next I went around really inspecting my car. Wow, they claybar my wiper washer! [inline "Woes2 - Left over claybar_s.jpg"] Water spots on the top of my car. This is the 1st Inspection polishing standard. I quickly grabbed my Glare DIY kit and begin polishing them away. [inline "woes 3 - spots 1st inspection std.jpg"] It took less than 2 minutes to apply the polish to the problem area and here's my DIY results. Please ignore the shine difference between the 2 photos as the sun was behind clouds & out. Just see the spots disappear. [inline "woes 3 - DIY Glare_s.jpg"] The saga continue in my next post. Edited June 4, 2005 by Osiris ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear June 4, 2005 Author Share June 4, 2005 Part 2. Previous some customer of Glare complain that they have dried Glare polish all over the car after they sent it for grooming. Here's what they gave me during my 1st Glare inspection. Previously, there wasn't any. [inline "Woes1 - 1st Inspection Std - Dried Glare_s.jpg"] The below pix is after I polish them away using my DIY Glare kit. Again, don't compare the shine cos the sun was in and out of clouds. [inline "Woes1 - After DIY Glare_s.jpg"] Upon careful inspections, there were many black dots all over my bonnet and body. Here's a picture of them. [inline "woes 5 - countless little spots_s.jpg"] The Glare shine on my silver car. [inline Shine.jpg] Conclusion, For next inspection, I had better make sure James does the polishing. And I will probably DIY waxing myself after the 18 months warranty period has passed. Glare glooming isn't about the product, It's the workmanship. If you want something done right, you have better do it yourself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Papercup Neutral Newbie June 4, 2005 Share June 4, 2005 Hey bro, I got to agree with you. Their standard had drop quite a bit.I also found some new scratches and areas that was not done properly when I went there for polish and wash. Don't know if it is due to too many customers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear June 4, 2005 Share June 4, 2005 Glare glooming isn't about the product, It's the workmanship. If you want something done right, you have better do it yourself. That was a very objective 1st sentence you made there. The 2nd sentence is very important to me as well. Hope the scratch mark can somehow be removed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear June 4, 2005 Author Share June 4, 2005 (edited) , added pix of another new scratch on the left front pax door. Not a very well taken picture, but the scratch is more serious than it look. It's quite deep. End up I have to DIY to fix their sloppy work (Scratch can't be removed!). This isn't car grooming! It's Torture! They also didn't polish the rear bumper area. When i feel it, there was no silky feeling. Will feedback nicely to James. [inline "2nd new scratch.jpg"] My Glare experience. 1. Initial Grooming (James did polishing) 2. Car Spa done once around 3rd month (James did polishing) 3. 1st Inspection (James not around) Edited June 4, 2005 by Osiris Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear June 4, 2005 Author Share June 4, 2005 no hope liao, it's way passed the clear coat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear June 4, 2005 Share June 4, 2005 how much u spend? like tat might awell u diy yourself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear June 4, 2005 Share June 4, 2005 Oh dear. I dunno what to say except ask them for either refund (unlikely) or some kind of voucher thingy or something. Sorry bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie June 4, 2005 Share June 4, 2005 Don mean to add salt to the wound bro . For car owners who send their car for grooming, it is always a good practice to inspect the car firet before you drive off and it is always advisable to inspect the car under bright sunlight not in their shop or under shelter. This is to safe guard and protect the car owners interest themselves. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear June 4, 2005 Share June 4, 2005 Bro, sorry to hear about your incident Think you should have check your ride on the spot, no need to pai say with them one I'll be going for mine next week at the Paya Ubi one, hope they don't give me result. Think you need to call that James & feedback to him, bargain some compensation like 1 or 2 free SPA at least man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear June 4, 2005 Author Share June 4, 2005 No worries. Thanks for the tip. You are right they don't show up that obvious in the shop light. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear June 4, 2005 Author Share June 4, 2005 $338. The reason why I sign up is because I too lazy to wax. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear June 4, 2005 Author Share June 4, 2005 no worries. no need to be sorry, not your fault. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opelnut Neutral Newbie June 4, 2005 Share June 4, 2005 Feel for your buddy.... U normally expect better service, since its an established brand. Come to think abt it... for those grooming packages, its not so much the product per say... its really the workmanship and the attention to detail... Does MCF have GetTogether for DIY detailing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silgt Neutral Newbie June 4, 2005 Share June 4, 2005 Glare glooming isn't about the product, It's the workmanship. If you want something done right, you have better do it yourself. You couldn't have summarised it any better...no one care about your car more than you do. Sorry for your bad experience but thanks for highlighting this shoddy workmanship to the forum...amen brudder! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silgt Neutral Newbie June 4, 2005 Share June 4, 2005 Don mean to add salt to the wound bro . For car owners who send their car for grooming, it is always a good practice to inspect the car firet before you drive off and it is always advisable to inspect the car under bright sunlight not in their shop or under shelter. This is to safe guard and protect the car owners interest themselves. NO. One should always inspect the other cars being groomed in the centre before deciding whether they earn the right to your money. If their bays are not loaded, there must be a good reason(s) why. If they are loaded, then tell them you want to see their finished work first before deciding. ...but please make sure their service sheet does not include free swirl marks and scratches hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitrous Neutral Newbie June 5, 2005 Share June 5, 2005 Sad to hear abt your case. Sometimes its a one off case....dun blame the outlet lar..guess Dave doesn't want it to happen. Its the workers sometimes... Well, alot of us now patron the new outlet at Bukit Batok instead. Less traffic, seldom crowded. Excellent workmanship, and the Ubi's most experienced polisher, Ah Hwa is there. Wat's more i dun need to go to other accessories shop to browse when my car is there for grooming like Ubi...cause they have a aircon lounge, with beverages and a massage chair... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie June 5, 2005 Share June 5, 2005 "Excellent workmanship, and the Ubi's most experienced polisher, Ah Hwa is there. " Been to the Ubi outlet in the past to check out the products and workmanship, in the end did not take up any package. Reason - Take a look at the boss's car, the blue Ford, lots of swirl marks under the sun and he claimed only did his car 2 weeks ago back than. How to convince people when his own car is full of swirl marks.. . ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...