Fiat Stilo

EventH

[laugh] hey tat exact car is at TTS showroom at Ubi Rd 4! [inlove]

though I cannot afford one, my SE took me for a spin in the Stilo. Very grunty low end. Sounds RAW bro! the 5 cylinder burble is intoxicating. Shiok ah [whip]

he told me with launching, can get 7.5-7.7 secs!! my cousin now driving a Integra Type R has booked an appointment with my SE for a test drive. i'm coming along just to hear the engine note [:p][cool][sly]

dave

hmm... NA vs turbo... always so tempting especially as u mentioned in "engine capacity sensitive singapore"..

IMHO, i find tat conti car engines wit turbos/superchargers are tuned very well - in othr words, very minimal lag wit quite linear power spread throughout the rpms.. tis in comparison to its Jap counterparts - which i find are simply more "snap ur head off" raw. [dizzy] (ahem except for certain conti 1.8T engines...which i find hopeless.)

in any case, all things being equal i personally feel tat even for turbo cars - capacity is very important, it simply provides more breadth for the engine and reduces the overall strain on the whole engine... tats y the greatest cars today are often NA wit BIG BIG capacity... and IF there are turbos in there, they are simply the icing on the whole cake...

on the othr hand for jap turbo cars, its the other way round; the turbo (icing) being the cake itself and the capacity... who cares?? [sweatdrop][laugh] jus squeeze out evry drop of power frm the smallest capacity possible. wit tat much icing... u'd think the engine die of diabetes!! [sweatdrop][laugh]

so in short, even wit a Fiat Stilo at 2.4l pumping out "only 170bhp", i'd very much see the car for wat it is... on the highway, turbo or no turbo - its gonna be a blast..[thumbsup]

Edited by Tron

dunno whethr to be happy or not... if in the future alfa really makes it and fry ze Germans lik deep fried pork knuckles... it'd definitely mean new alfas WILL get more and more dearer!! [sweatdrop] and less and less affordable for the likes of us! [:|]

[laugh] fingers crossed!! ... or not??? [dizzy][;)]

Edited by Tron

I want a car that reach max torque at 2-2.5k rpm and maintain that all the way to 6k redline, [thumbsup] with around say 200bhp .... got car like that or not?

Just daydreaming [laugh]

Edited by EventH

got... 147gta... 80%+ torque of 300nm reached at 1800rpm...... [sweatdrop][sly] dun say dun have ar! [laugh]

actually think abt it... i really wonder when gahment will finally allow diesel passengers cars into spr.

super good mileage, super high torque and CONTRARY to wat gahment keep repeating: modern diesels are damn clean!

an example i kno closer to wat u asked is the 2.4l JTDM diesel engine in the 159... jus look at the specs:

Max 200bhp @ 4000rpm, Max torque: 400NM @ 2000rpm!!! [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][nosebleed]

now theres one to wait for... [sly]

Edited by Tron

got a chance to sit inside a Stilo driver seat at the Dream Cars show at Expo.......wow, the feel of driving real sport car inside.......the ambience. [cool][cool][cool][thumbsup]

Edited by Normal_aspirated

That one even more road tax unfriendly .... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

But if can afford GTA ... why worry about road tax and rising fuel prices.

but I think the Fiat pricing is crazy ... at over 108k,

it is way into EuroR/STI/Legacy GT territory liao.

31k? tats quite high for tis category of car... and its retailing at 102K??

a golf GTi is also in the 31k to 35k range if im not wrong... and its now abt 124K incl COE...

again it seems its all abt branding...and of cos: desirability... [;)]

if i got $$$, iwill still buy it if is unreliable...italian car, one have to drive it to appreciate it rolleyes.gif