Foursprings Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 Hi all, am going down this Saturday to Alliance. Anyone else interested to purchase as well? Maybe with enough numbers can get some discount or ask them to waive installation charges. (Intend to get gold plated exhaust for my ride but will scale down to upmarket chrome if CO deems it too extravagant...) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 (edited) gold plated exhaust ?? ha ha ha...the "gold plated tap" is the talk in town leh... where you working ?? Edited July 13, 2005 by Seaweed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foursprings Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Author Share July 13, 2005 working town area, and I'm serious about the group buy. you interested? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lorrliew Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 (edited) NKF?? Hehehe....just kidding. Your offer a little late, change tail pipe yesterday and give up on Sebring & Remus idea, just to satisfy my ego!! After much thought, spent $900-1200 for the muffler not worth just for that 3-5% improvement leh? I thought Sebring distributor is Autovox; I made my enquiry on Sebring via MAN. Edited July 13, 2005 by Lorrliew Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foursprings Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Author Share July 13, 2005 Yah, I changing muffler for show also only lah. By change tailpipe got how much improvement? Not sure who is the distributor but found this website. http://www.sebring.com.sg/index.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 URLed http://www.sebring.com.sg/index.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lorrliew Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 Aiyoh, tailpipe 100% no improvement, look shiok only! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littleblackalfa Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 mufflers will give you high end gain. meaning you won't feel the gain until your RPM is approx 5k and above. it also depends on the type of transmission you use. 5% is quite a bit. 5% of 100bhp is 5bhp extra. that gives you more power to play with at the crank, meaning you eventualy also get more power at the wheels. that $1,000? is well worth it, ONLY if you do other stuff along. Crude alert: imagine having a bigger axxxxxe, but you eat the same amount. you sxxt the same amount regardless of axxxxxe size... maybe towards the end of it, the sxxt comes out a little faster. but imagine having a bigger mouth, where more food can go in. then the food gets processed and shoots out faster. They compliment each other... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 i got one serbring exhaust siting at my garage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lorrliew Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 I've gave up the muffler idea over upgarding ECU or customised piggyback ECU because of cost effectiveness. eg. BHP of car = 100 Muffler - 5% increase=5BHP=$1000/5=$200/BHP Upgrade ECU - 10% increase=10BHP=$1000/10=$100/BHP Currently I'm still checking on this ECU upgrading thingy, seems to give me better return leh! Any MCF bros out have good experience to share on this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foursprings Neutral Newbie July 14, 2005 Author Share July 14, 2005 Hi LBA, I heard that change muffler won't see gains unless you remove the cat. I'm not really sure. Next thing on my list is the intake. Any recommedations? What are u using? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lorrliew Neutral Newbie July 14, 2005 Share July 14, 2005 (edited) According to Remus website, there is some improvement, see attachment downloaded from Remus. Spoke to some exhaust specialist here also say the same thing, 3-5% improvement. Of course, changing the whole exhaust system is even better. Personally no expereince yet. Edited July 14, 2005 by Lorrliew Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foursprings Neutral Newbie July 14, 2005 Author Share July 14, 2005 I see, thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sazali Clutched July 15, 2005 Share July 15, 2005 Hi all, am going down this Saturday to Alliance. Anyone else interested to purchase as well? Maybe with enough numbers can get some discount or ask them to waive installation charges. (Intend to get gold plated exhaust for my ride but will scale down to upmarket chrome if CO deems it too extravagant...) I'm intersted to buy Sebring muffler..how much is it for 1.6L car? Is it a straight flow muffler? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie July 15, 2005 Share July 15, 2005 Muffler gives you 5% power gain ? Which genuis that told you that ECU gives good returns but a Top of the range ECU with a lousy tuner = no or worst gains. ECU comes in piggyback or standalone. Standalone gives no boundaries to modding all the way to adding TC, Anti lag system, launch control, NOS etc. Piggyback gives marginal gains but still depends on tuner. For piggyback, once again, you get what you pay for. By the way for ECU mods, theres isn't a definite figure such as 10%. A reputable tuner who knows what he's doing won't even gurantee you a 10% gain. I would strongly advice that when it comes to modding, don't go around asking what kinda bhp figures you will get (though tempting) but rather find out whats good for the car and how far and how much your willing to push. What's good - Intakes, 2.5" catback exhaust (1 hi flow cat 1 resonator). If TC, 3" turboback (likewise, both S/S) Extractors, ECU (if possible, leave it the last). Most people would say why spend so much on all of the above when E68 or ADM air charger or broquet or some other gimmick gadgets can give better gains for cheaper price. The thing is that at the end of the day you pick 1 car with the E68 or broquet thingy vs the above Stage 1 upgrades, your gonna see the big diff and even bigger diff when you TC both cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dennisk Clutched July 16, 2005 Share July 16, 2005 is changing of tail pipe LTA compliant? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vipermolecule Neutral Newbie July 16, 2005 Share July 16, 2005 think it not compliant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foursprings Neutral Newbie July 18, 2005 Author Share July 18, 2005 Fitted the Sebring liao on Saturday and to my surprise, it's very silent. More silent than my stock even. My car feels more responsive when I throttle her now, engine does not feel straineous any more at high revs and is very smooth. Feel its worth the money except for one minor thing, mine is not LTA approved. According to LTA, only 2 types of Sebring exhausts have been approved so far. The rest, no paperwork submitted yet. So if any one wants to install Sebring, make sure the shop shows you the list of approved models for your car FROM LTA. Don't just take their verball assurance. Else you'll end up frustrated like me waiting for them to submit the paperwork to LTA only after it's been fitted and failed by both Vicom and STA. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...