Yaloryalor 5th Gear January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 Hi guys, Any advice to buy from 2nd hand car dealers? Like wat are the things to look out and take note in terms of documentation, warranty, condition of the vehicle? Tks in advance! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 which dealer you want to get from? different dealers, different tatics! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paithorn Clutched January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 it is better to buy from pte... I am selling my car.... what car are you buying? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 Full factory service history (check the logbooks). It indicates a car that has been taken care of regularly, and the mileage shown on the odometer can be trusted. Nowadays even digital odometers are easily "clocked" to show low mileage. If there isn't a fully documented service history, check that the odometer reading is consistent with the amount of wear on for example, the steering wheel rubber/leather, the seats, the pedals and even the floor mats. If the car was low-mileage, these items should hardly be worn. Look for signs of accident damage, lift up the rear boot carpet, examine the body panel gaps, and if you drive the car, pay attention to whether the car is "crabbing" or pulling to one side even when the steering wheel is straight. Go in the morning, check that the engine would start from cold. Look under the car for signs of fluid loss. If the tires aren't new, check for uneven wear. Do full lock turns during test drives to ensure the driveshafts are in order. Drive with the radio off, so that you can hear if there are odd squeaks, thumps or groans from anywhere. If the car does not bear a newly-registered licence plate, check that it doesn't have fines owing in Malaysia. Never believe what the dealer tells you, just assume that they would have done their best to hide whatever that is wrong with the car. Its up to yourself to find it out, its a bit like a treasure hunt game. A dealer tried to sell me and my friend a car that wouldn't start, saying that they "took out a part" to troubleshoot another car of the same make/model. If the car you're looking at is still available brand new, try that, try other used cars of the same model, so that you can tell if anything is wrong. Bargain the dealer down from whatever you can find is wrong with the car. If you have a mechanic you're on good terms with, pay him for an hour or two to come inspect the car that you're about to commit on buying. Good luck with it, and always have some spare cash handy for repairs. Buying from direct owners is a bit less dodgy, but there's the hassle of arranging for finance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 sorry for saying this, but do not trust the dealer - even if they appear to be honest john. when dealing with them, take everything with a pinch of salt. keep asking and they'll reveal things to you bit by bit. if you don't ask, they don't tell, not their fault. they are usually in cahoots with inspection mechanics, workshops, centres. the evaluation reports will often be misleading or things blatantly kept in the dark, or serious problems will be reported as minor/acceptable problems. best to have your own workshop that you trust. if possible ask for service records. if it's a newer car, you may be able to call the authorized distributor to ask for service history (whether it's regular etc). warranty is seldom given. don't take their BS about them fixing the problems after the sale. fix the problem before the sale. once you receive delivery of vehicle, change all consumables (oil, coolant, brake fluid, transmission fluid, clutch fluid, brake pads, tyres, drive belts, timing belts) to give you a peace of mind. the dealer will always tell you otherwise, but they are not your friends. they are after your money. everything needs to be written down on paper and do not sign any blank forms, no matter what they tell you. if they say bank doesn't allow handwritten forms, call the bank rep to confirm. call back again later to make sure there's such a staff working at the bank. be sure that carbonized papers are not placed under what you are signing. don't get me wrong, don't treat them like scums. treat them with respect, but just be very cautious. private buyers will also have similar problems, but they have less tricks up their sleeves. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 Mr. Kyojin, you talk like me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear January 6, 2009 Author Share January 6, 2009 it is better to buy from pte... I am selling my car.... what car are you buying? I have not finally decided on which model, jus wanna do some homework. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear January 6, 2009 Author Share January 6, 2009 Full factory service history (check the logbooks). It indicates a car that has been taken care of regularly, and the mileage shown on the odometer can be trusted. Nowadays even digital odometers are easily "clocked" to show low mileage. If there isn't a fully documented service history, check that the odometer reading is consistent with the amount of wear on for example, the steering wheel rubber/leather, the seats, the pedals and even the floor mats. If the car was low-mileage, these items should hardly be worn. Look for signs of accident damage, lift up the rear boot carpet, examine the body panel gaps, and if you drive the car, pay attention to whether the car is "crabbing" or pulling to one side even when the steering wheel is straight. Go in the morning, check that the engine would start from cold. Look under the car for signs of fluid loss. If the tires aren't new, check for uneven wear. Do full lock turns during test drives to ensure the driveshafts are in order. Drive with the radio off, so that you can hear if there are odd squeaks, thumps or groans from anywhere. If the car does not bear a newly-registered licence plate, check that it doesn't have fines owing in Malaysia. Never believe what the dealer tells you, just assume that they would have done their best to hide whatever that is wrong with the car. Its up to yourself to find it out, its a bit like a treasure hunt game. A dealer tried to sell me and my friend a car that wouldn't start, saying that they "took out a part" to troubleshoot another car of the same make/model. If the car you're looking at is still available brand new, try that, try other used cars of the same model, so that you can tell if anything is wrong. Bargain the dealer down from whatever you can find is wrong with the car. If you have a mechanic you're on good terms with, pay him for an hour or two to come inspect the car that you're about to commit on buying. Good luck with it, and always have some spare cash handy for repairs. Buying from direct owners is a bit less dodgy, but there's the hassle of arranging for finance. Thanks Bro, for your detail reply! If they say its 100% accident free, can I request the dealer to send the vehicle to do inspection like Vicom? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear January 6, 2009 Author Share January 6, 2009 sorry for saying this, but do not trust the dealer - even if they appear to be honest john. when dealing with them, take everything with a pinch of salt. keep asking and they'll reveal things to you bit by bit. if you don't ask, they don't tell, not their fault. they are usually in cahoots with inspection mechanics, workshops, centres. the evaluation reports will often be misleading or things blatantly kept in the dark, or serious problems will be reported as minor/acceptable problems. best to have your own workshop that you trust. if possible ask for service records. if it's a newer car, you may be able to call the authorized distributor to ask for service history (whether it's regular etc). warranty is seldom given. don't take their BS about them fixing the problems after the sale. fix the problem before the sale. once you receive delivery of vehicle, change all consumables (oil, coolant, brake fluid, transmission fluid, clutch fluid, brake pads, tyres, drive belts, timing belts) to give you a peace of mind. the dealer will always tell you otherwise, but they are not your friends. they are after your money. everything needs to be written down on paper and do not sign any blank forms, no matter what they tell you. if they say bank doesn't allow handwritten forms, call the bank rep to confirm. call back again later to make sure there's such a staff working at the bank. be sure that carbonized papers are not placed under what you are signing. don't get me wrong, don't treat them like scums. treat them with respect, but just be very cautious. private buyers will also have similar problems, but they have less tricks up their sleeves. Thank you thank you! Cos my previous rides are buying from friends and AD. No experience buying from 2nd hand dealer. Thinking of it also makes me "headache" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear January 6, 2009 Share January 6, 2009 not that ppl here trying to scare you, but the chances of kena chop carrot is very high. perhaps its as high as 99%? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camus Neutral Newbie January 6, 2009 Share January 6, 2009 Nowadays quite ok already. If you're new, just bring a friend who have some experience along with you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear January 6, 2009 Author Share January 6, 2009 not that ppl here trying to scare you, but the chances of kena chop carrot is very high. perhaps its as high as 99%? I understand. Tats why its better for me to seek some opinions here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 6, 2009 Share January 6, 2009 Thanks Bro, for your detail reply! If they say its 100% accident free, can I request the dealer to send the vehicle to do inspection like Vicom? send to AAS better...totally unbiased review....ask Vtim abt VICOM he will tell u grandfather story Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged January 6, 2009 Share January 6, 2009 send to AAS better...totally unbiased review....ask Vtim abt VICOM he will tell u grandfather story At least he tells grandfather story. You tell grandmother story Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 6, 2009 Share January 6, 2009 At least he tells grandfather story. You tell grandmother story freind...you got nothing to say do bugger off....sometimes, in fact most of times, i swear you are autistic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged January 6, 2009 Share January 6, 2009 NB play with you only so fierce! Mai sng liao! Kuku bird you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 6, 2009 Share January 6, 2009 my kuku with me TUVM...now go find your own.. sorry TS...jus need to sometimes insecticide some pests here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged January 6, 2009 Share January 6, 2009 my kuku with me TUVM...now go find your own.. sorry TS...jus need to sometimes insecticide some pests here I now ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...