Drive-up Ipoh & Penang Dec'2009

Opel17

I planning drive up to Penang next month.1st time. Plan 2 stops for rest and food. Any recommendation for beyond Ayer Keroh R&R.

I planning drive up to Penang next month.1st time. Plan 2 stops for rest and food. Any recommendation for beyond Ayer Keroh R&R (RSA).

Sungai Buloh RSA

Tapah RSA

Simpang Pulai Layby

Gunung Semanggol RSA

?

Edited by Hwt

thank you for sharing all those photos taken in Ipoh and Penang.

I drove to Penang in 2000 in Honda Odessey, it was a beautiful drive. But now already retired can only afford Honda Civic. I am afraid on a long journey this old tired legs may get cramp.

Did you stop over for a night in any other station. I stop in KL for a night on the way up and at Malacca on the way back.

Have anyone drove to Kota Bahru recently and if you have, which route did you take? Is the road as good as the North-South highway? :D

Appreciate your input.

Thanks.

Few years ago did tried to drive to Kota Bahru while holidaying at Kuantan. Started late afternoon and got caught by slowing moving traffic. U-turned back around 6.00pm in case could not find way back to hotel in the dark (no street lighting). I believe if you start early in the morning here, could reach Kota Bahru by evening to check into hotel.

Sungai Buloh RSA

Tapah RSA

Simpang Pulai Layby

Gunung Semanggol RSA

?

May i know the What's the last toll station to penang? Is it Juru toll, acccording to google?

You don't have to worry about the last toll station to Penang. Just follow the signs once you pass Ipoh. You will be led straight to Penang bridge without needing to exit the NSH. If you want to take the ferry across, then you have to exit from NSH.

Yes just follow the NSH. You will need to pay toll either way (bridge or ferry).

For bridge just follow the sign after Juru toll and filter left to get to the bridge (RM7).

For ferry (good to try for RM7.70) you will need to go further (after the bridge) and turn off at the first interchange (follow the sign). You will need to pay 1 more toll (unless you want to go by the side road but the toll is cheap and the road jam free).

Enjoy.

wah...bro you seem to be very familiar ..haha

so so only lah, drove up a few time.... :D

Nowaday got GPS even easier.

Just plan properly, don't rush, have enough rest to enjoy the drive [:)]

Went on Xmas Day, toll from Kempass to Juru cost RM$87.70. Traffic condition was smooth except a section near Ipoh where uphill and and downhill plus winding road. Start from Spore at 6am and reached Penang b4 2pm. Made 1 stop at Ayer Keroh R&R for breakfast. My 1st trip to Penang and overall an enjoyable trip.

Took a bus from SGP to PNG. Took around 12 hours. [crazy]

Note to self: Next time, drive.

Yes just follow the NSH. You will need to pay toll either way (bridge or ferry).

For bridge just follow the sign after Juru toll and filter left to get to the bridge (RM7).

For ferry (good to try for RM7.70) you will need to go further (after the bridge) and turn off at the first interchange (follow the sign). You will need to pay 1 more toll (unless you want to go by the side road but the toll is cheap and the road jam free).

Enjoy.

Ferry increased price liao.. no longer RM7.70

Good to know you enjoyed your drive. Did you manage to take the ferry over?

Took a bus from SGP to PNG. Took around 12 hours. [crazy]

Note to self: Next time, drive.

Bro, coach from SG to PG is standard 12 hours.. doesn't help when they have 2 breaks along the way and each break lasts around 45 mins min. Driving is more flexible, you decide when to stop and where to stop. [;)]

By the time I noticed it, it was too late.... I slept after lunch at Yong Peng, when I woke up later, I saw 260km marker, I thought I was already on the Shah Alam or further north. Then I realized we just passed Ayer Keroh. Thats when I regretted taking the bus... [smallcry]

You should take the night coach, can sleep through the night. You'll waste one day by taking the day coach. Not to mention it's warm in the day as well.

yah lor, from SGP to Thailand border is only 8hrs+. knnz <_<