Picanto 3rd Gear February 9, 2011 Share February 9, 2011 I just got a manual 06 vios . Can any bros enlighten me why is there a squeking sound from the engine whenever i start the car ? but goes off after awhile. The sound sometimes comes & sometimes doesn't . I suspect it could be one of the belts ? am i right ? If it is , how much roughly will it cost ? I also have another problem , the steering wheel vibrates when i brake & pulls to the left when cruising . allignment problem ? sigh. Vios is still a good car i must say despite all this problems , especially the fc is great By the way, sorry for using your tread as well TS . Was hoping for some feedbacks & pricings before i head to the workshop. Thanks mileage of car? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Naiduvicky Neutral Newbie February 9, 2011 Share February 9, 2011 mileage of car? coming to about 60K Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear February 9, 2011 Share February 9, 2011 I just got a manual 06 vios . Can any bros enlighten me why is there a squeking sound from the engine whenever i start the car ? but goes off after awhile. The sound sometimes comes & sometimes doesn't . I suspect it could be one of the belts ? am i right ? If it is , how much roughly will it cost ? I also have another problem , the steering wheel vibrates when i brake & pulls to the left when cruising . allignment problem ? sigh. Vios is still a good car i must say despite all this problems , especially the fc is great By the way, sorry for using your tread as well TS . Was hoping for some feedbacks & pricings before i head to the workshop. Thanks A temporary yet effective fix for the noisy belts is silicone spray. On a cold engine, after starting up spray some silicone spray on the belts, both sides. Silicone will soften the rubber component in drive belts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear February 9, 2011 Share February 9, 2011 coming to about 60K think its about time to change the belts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Naiduvicky Neutral Newbie February 9, 2011 Share February 9, 2011 A temporary yet effective fix for the noisy belts is silicone spray. On a cold engine, after starting up spray some silicone spray on the belts, both sides. Silicone will soften the rubber component in drive belts. sorry may i know where to get this kinda silicone sprays ? any brand recomendation ? price ? sorry for asking so many questions but have never heard of such sprays before that's why Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Naiduvicky Neutral Newbie February 9, 2011 Share February 9, 2011 think its about time to change the belts yeah, i think so too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear February 9, 2011 Share February 9, 2011 (edited) sorry may i know where to get this kinda silicone sprays ? any brand recomendation ? price ? sorry for asking so many questions but have never heard of such sprays before that's why Most supermart, such as NTUC Xtra, Giants, Autobacs, etc should have it at their automotive section. Remember must be silicone, not WD40. Any brand will do, costs less than $8 a bottle. Edited February 9, 2011 by Octopus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Naiduvicky Neutral Newbie February 9, 2011 Share February 9, 2011 Most supermart, such as NTUC Xtra, Giants, Autobacs, etc should have it at their automotive section. Remember must be silicone, not WD40. Any brand will do, costs less than $8 a bottle. Hey , thanks for the great help, will try it tomorrow as a temp measure , Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear February 12, 2011 Share February 12, 2011 Hey , thanks for the great help, will try it tomorrow as a temp measure , how is the temp measure? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subutai 3rd Gear February 13, 2011 Share February 13, 2011 oh btw, stamford at lok yang did a good job on my alignment and hi-speed balancing. now the steering does not vibrate after 120km/h. damage for these 2 is $60. they test ur car until its working fine then handover. even got tire shine to go wif. lolx previously when i go to hankook to change tyres, it vibrates after tat speed. went a 2nd time but not resolved. i guess they dun understand wat is hi-speed balancing. High speed or normal balancing, no need to understand what is either, just have to know where to stick the weights. Its the mechanic's experience and worksmanship that is important!! I don't go for high speed balancing as normal tyre workship do a decent job, no vibration till 180km/h. You must be quite suay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear February 13, 2011 Author Share February 13, 2011 High speed or normal balancing, no need to understand what is either, just have to know where to stick the weights. Its the mechanic's experience and worksmanship that is important!! I don't go for high speed balancing as normal tyre workship do a decent job, no vibration till 180km/h. You must be quite suay. serious? i was always told tat hi-speed is for speeds after 80 or 100km/h Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged February 13, 2011 Share February 13, 2011 serious? i was always told tat hi-speed is for speeds after 80 or 100km/h i asked mechanics in H-tyre before. they said hi-speed is any speed above 120 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subutai 3rd Gear February 13, 2011 Share February 13, 2011 serious? i was always told tat hi-speed is for speeds after 80 or 100km/h yes, it does the job, but the issue is that you do not need it if normal balancing does the job. Example for illustration - Its just like giving the mechanic a rocket launcher (to solve the wobbling at high speed) with a bigger killing radius whereby a sniper gun (normal balancing) is capable of nailing the target. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subutai 3rd Gear February 13, 2011 Share February 13, 2011 i asked mechanics in H-tyre before. they said hi-speed is any speed above 120 They charge more than doing normal balancing, isn't it? A lot of mech told me dun waste money cos its for those who cannot do normal balancing properly... maybe they ya ya... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Monkeykidz Neutral Newbie February 21, 2011 Share February 21, 2011 hi TS, is ur car problem solve? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mizarahi Clutched March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 okay got it fixed. the front right absorber died. no leak but somewhat jammed. to save labour cost, i changed both the front absorbers. set me bk by $214. didnt noe stock absorbers so ex. changed drive 2 worn shaft covers (dunno wat u call tat) and my wipers..total damage $400. plus alignment and hi-speed balancing, total bill $460. huat ah! Sir, can I ask you which workshop you change your absorbers? My 04 vios, 100k mileage, absorbers spoil liao. Autosaver quoted $265+GST to replace 2 rear absorbers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear March 23, 2011 Author Share March 23, 2011 Sir, can I ask you which workshop you change your absorbers? My 04 vios, 100k mileage, absorbers spoil liao. Autosaver quoted $265+GST to replace 2 rear absorbers. sorry bro, just saw ur post. i changed mine at a friendly workshop which i frequent. i think $265 sounds quite reasonable. cuz 1 piece of absorber is $100 when i got it tat time. plus GST and labour fee, the amount is more or less the same ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...