Merxantia Neutral Newbie November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 Hi all, Like to add my contribution to the forum. For those who like fingerstyle acoustic guitar, check out this artist called Andy Mckee. Look out for a track called Rylynn. There is amazing depth of range of sound and clarity from his guitar playing that can be obtained from playing this track. He has also single-handledly handled the whole tune of Toto's Africa just using his guitar. You can watch him in action in the youtube link here: His CDs can be ordered from CandyRat records. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zap_ching Neutral Newbie November 24, 2008 Share November 24, 2008 [reply]I was at my office desk one morning when my colleague Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear November 25, 2008 Author Share November 25, 2008 I received a parcel today...it has seven letters addressed to some one I don't know...think it was written by a male...perhaps to his girlfriend? Haha...this is yet another CD review...after a long while. An OST from the Taiwanese movie Cape No.7 (Hai Jiao Qi Hao) featuring Van Fan (Fan Yi Cheng) as leading actor and singer . I have not watched the show but the OST caught my attention simply because of the packaging. It comes in a box, a parcel to be exact, with seven letters inside. I am not really bothered by the letters actually, the CD did. Each of the odd tracks are the letters read out by a male, probably a Japanese to his Jap GF. So track 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 and 14 are recital with the beach and waves as background. Interesting isn't? There is a good mixture of studio recording more often than not preluded by some clips from the movie itself. There are pop, rock, unplugged, live recordings all in this album. To me, this OST is as real as watching the movie itself. Some tracks are really good to test out our system. For eg track 6's Mainu Sun, track 8's For Daughter...track 12's Southern Territory (loosely translated). There are some portion which was abstracted from the movie, so, it was like watching a clip from the movie. There are some that was recorded direct from the show...some in local Taiwanese hokkien. I got the feeling this packaging will run out of stock in no time... Cape No. 7 (Hai Jiao Qi Hao) OST 2008 Forward Music Co. Ltd See link from Yesasia for more info http://www.yesasia.com/us/yumcha/cape-no-7...itors-pick.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jaason Neutral Newbie December 3, 2008 Share December 3, 2008 (edited) Where can I find this CD or what's the website? Dimension Audio's inaugural website. Edited December 3, 2008 by Jaason Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear December 4, 2008 Author Share December 4, 2008 You can try the few CD shops on 3rd level of Adelphi or X-Audio at Bukit Timah Plaza. Good luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skilled Neutral Newbie December 7, 2008 Share December 7, 2008 adelphi NDV still got about 4copies left as of now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear January 9, 2009 Author Share January 9, 2009 (edited) This is a long overdue CD review. I have to admit, it is getting more and more difficult for me to sit down to really enjoy music let alone writing this review. As I looked at the record card denoting the date I have demagnetized this CD, I realized I have procrastinated for too long and there are many other good CDs I have to introduce to you folks. Let’s get cracking. I have an album by Jeff Chang, or Zhang Xin Zhe as some of you may know him. I know him as a Mandarin singer who does best in love songs especially in the 90s but have you heard him singing Cantonese? Well, I have now. A small champagne gold sticker on the front of the cover indicated this: “Jeff Chang’s debut Cantonese audiophile album, mastered by Sterling Sound, New York, U.S. and printed in Austria.” How can I not be enticed? This album comes with two discs – a ten-track audio CD and a two-track DVD. Very HIFI indeed, there is a little booklet (see picture) indicating the “efforts” the producers and engineers had put to make Jeff’s album audiophile or feverish as Chinese likes to call it. High-end equipments were used in the preparation of this CD, the booklet will tell you why and the nuances you are expected to enjoy on every track. To make things more HIFI, I suggest you pop the DVD and watch the very first track before you listen to the audio CD. The producers had made the MTV in a HK audio showroom. Jeff stands in between the pair of expensive speakers (you go see what brand it is), singing in front of a young lady on a set of expensive audiophile chair, nice. Each track on the audio CD is uniquely arranged; there are standard jazz pieces, bossa nova, Gospel and oriental style. What really captivated me is that Jeff can sing really well in Cantonese. The dictation is clear and doesn’t sound Taiwanese. Perhaps due to the tonal characteristic of Cantonese, Jeff does not appear to handle lots of high pitches as what he has done in his Mandarin songs. This is something I like about this album. Sonically, this album is an ideal reference CD as well. Track one’s percussion is worth focusing on: the brushes on the high hats and cymbals are well-recorded, pay notice to the smoothness and decay on each hit. Next, listen out when Jeff catches his breath between grooves. Watch out for the tonal quality of the double bass, the texture of each note, the slapping on the fret board. Immerse yourself into the piano play as well. Sweet. There is one track to test your subwoofer’s response as well, incredible isn’t it? Overall impression of this album is very good. The album is refreshing and is something I have not heard of from Jeff. The recording and mastering is commendable, there is really not much faults to pick. One suggestion though, Jeff can perhaps make a bolder step to do a direct-to-track recording next time in a pub environment. This will surely increase the level of enjoyment, at least for me, who has always like live pub ambience but can’t afford to attend one. Album info: Zhang Xin Zhe Xue Guo Ba Yue 2007 Emperor Entertainment (HK) Limited EEG1186V1 Edited January 9, 2009 by Sarong1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazzyuen88 Neutral Newbie January 12, 2009 Share January 12, 2009 (edited) This is a long overdue CD review. I have to admit, it is getting more and more difficult for me to sit down to really enjoy music let alone writing this review. As I looked at the record card denoting the date I have demagnetized this CD, I realized I have procrastinated for too long and there are many other good CDs I have to introduce to you folks. Let Edited January 12, 2009 by Jazzyuen88 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Michael_lch Neutral Newbie January 12, 2009 Share January 12, 2009 Bravo bravo ....finally Sarong cd review up again... Anyway Where can I get hold of this cd??? http://www.yesasia.com/global/august-snow/...-0-en/info.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazzyuen88 Neutral Newbie January 13, 2009 Share January 13, 2009 http://www.yesasia.com/global/august-snow/...-0-en/info.html Bro Micheal thanks. Bro Sarong is there a possissible that u will review this Cd??? Punch Wun Pised-Special Album Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear January 14, 2009 Author Share January 14, 2009 Bro Micheal thanks. Bro Sarong is there a possissible that u will review this Cd??? Punch Wun Pised-Special Album Aloha, CDs from Punch needs no review, her albums have been consistently nice dependent on individual taste. She stands out amongst the younger generation of singers for her vocal and emotion delivery. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxngck 1st Gear January 14, 2009 Share January 14, 2009 bro sarong, may i know where i can get this jeff chang cd? and the price??? after reading ur review, my ears itchy liao :P. wan to get hold of a copy. thks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazzyuen88 Neutral Newbie January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 (edited) Aloha, CDs from Punch needs no review, her albums have been consistently nice dependent on individual taste. She stands out amongst the younger generation of singers for her vocal and emotion delivery. [/quote pee chai Sarong khorb khun khrab Edited January 15, 2009 by Jazzyuen88 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shooter Neutral Newbie January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 This is a long overdue CD review. I have to admit, it is getting more and more difficult for me to sit down to really enjoy music let alone writing this review. As I looked at the record card denoting the date I have demagnetized this CD, I realized I have procrastinated for too long and there are many other good CDs I have to introduce to you folks. Let Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shooter Neutral Newbie January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 Aloha, CDs from Punch needs no review, her albums have been consistently nice dependent on individual taste. She stands out amongst the younger generation of singers for her vocal and emotion delivery. [/quote pee chai Sarong khorb khun khrab Oie... Kong Ang Mo leh.. Mai Kou Chia... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazzyuen88 Neutral Newbie January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 Pee Chai Sarong Puak pom gaan koi see-dee roi grong. kop koon maak maak heehee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear January 22, 2009 Author Share January 22, 2009 Sawat dee krup. Dti chom CD dai krup dtae wa dton nee mai mee way la lae ngern gor por tam por gin. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear January 22, 2009 Author Share January 22, 2009 bro sarong, may i know where i can get this jeff chang cd? and the price??? after reading ur review, my ears itchy liao :P. wan to get hold of a copy. thks You can get it online from yesasia. There may still be some remnants in local shops but most I have seen are Made in China...go for the real thing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...