CD Reviews

Sarong1

My purpose is not to damage your system hor. Anyhow, your next system's threshold is pretty high. Just stay put. sly.gif

Sorry bro... no harm intended. If we all think straight... nothing's wrong..

Seriously, I remembered you have quite a few male cantonese CD album songs that I just cannot remember which are the ones.. perhaps you can help list them out?

Wah, you the can...but on serious note, should you guys be interested in getting these oldies, let me know coz I am a lobang for collectibles. PM me should you need my assistance, its for MCF kakis nia.

Hi bro Sarong1, sorry for getting back to you so late. I have been bogged down by work. Prob is I stay in the west area and I don't drive to work anymore, so I dun noe when I'll be able to come for the meet-up. Can we try to arrange for another way to the CD to you? Or if u dun mind u can also pm me ur mailing address and I'll post the cd to you. You only need to pay me after you receive the cd. Let me know your preference. Thks.

Got this album from the recent AV show in Meridian Hotel. If you are into chinese vocal and a fan of Cai Qin / Zhao Peng / Xiao Gan, this is a must get CD. Let me give you 5 good reasons:

1) Tok Kong recording using MAR-D Audiophile Masters Technology. Looking at the equipment used will explain the quality of the recording! [nod]

a) Analogue Recorder: TASCAM -48.0B 1/2 Master, TASCAM-38 1/2" Master, ATR-60-2T 1/4" Master, BR20T 1/4 Master

b) Mixer: EELA S128

c) A/D Converter: MSB Platinium DA 44.1 16 Bit, MSB PAD-1 24 Bit up, MSB Platinum D/A 24/192 kHZ

e) CD: Denon DNC680

f) Preamplifier: GRAAF 13.5 MII Tube

g) Power Amplifier: Plinius SA102

h) Speaker: Sony SM-7

i) Master Tape: EMTEC 900 1/4" & 1/2" Master Studio Tape

j) CD-R: EMTEC Master Ceramic Plated

k) Electronm Tube: Pearl Cryo-VAC Electron Tube

2) Singer has a powerful voice. Well control even when he sings softly. I would say his voice resembles that of Fei Yu Qing, except that he is more towards the melancholic side. Can feel it when he sings the old songs like Bu Liao Qing, Ting Yuan Shen Shen [bounce1]

3) Musical arrangement well done. The musical instruments used include piano, guitar, saxaphone, cello, violin, harmonica and percussions. I personally have a liking of those titles with harmonica!

4) The CDs are numbered and there are only 1000 pieces which makes this a collectables!

5) Lastly, support a Singaporean artiste who has done a wonderful job! [thumbsup]

post-4-1195742289_thumb.jpg

Edited by Michael_lch

Michael, a good write-up which essentially covered all the finer points about this local CD. Me too, I was also skeptical about the standard of this CD when I first saw it at the AV show earlier and I decided to give it a try anyway. I remembered HZ from the earlier days of "Sing Yao" and I share Michael's view that he indeed sounded quite like Uncle Fei at certain point.

I am not sure if this particular album will make it to the retail shops out there but I think those of us are more than willing to bring their copies for anyone interested. In fact, this is not HZ's first album mastered by MAR-D, you may follow the link below and discover just how much more support I think we can give to our fellow Singaporeans for striving to produce good quality albums and CDs...

http://www.pisu-18.com.sg/

Been an avid reader of this thread and found it very interesting and informative.

I have been a CD buyer for the past 10 to 15 yrs; having graduated from the cassette era.

Think I have bought close to 400cds to date but have disposed of a number.

However, I have never anaylsed what I bought till I set up my first ICE system and being introduced to this forum just 5 months ago.

To me, cheaper is better as quality is the same for both local & overseas print.

How wrong I was for all those years!

Had an encounter this past weekend which I would like to share with all.

I bought 2 cds at Grammaphone, KT Tunstal & Mika, which is Singapore printed.

Although they have EU and US prints, I decided on the former as I thought Singapore's std should be quite good.

To my disappointment, they were not for the following reasons:

1. When played at high level, it becomes very noisy. The electric guitar, synthezier and other electronic stuff when all jumbled up.

2. The percussions were not distinct.

3. Some details were missing; for example in Mika's 2nd song called lollipop, the 'pop' sound (simulating the pulling out of the lollipop from the mouth), cannot be heard.

I went back the next day and exchanged it for the EU and US print and, lo and behold, everything is 'crystal clear' and I enjoyed the 2 cds much better.

Playing them at high volume now didn't hurt my ears as much! :)

Anyway, would like to thank all who shared their experience.

Had fun reading this thread.

Please keep it going.

Cheers bros!

I think it is timely to revive Cai Qin fever in this thread. I find this CD+DVD is worth mentioning - the engineers from HUGO have brought the recording studio to the Lee Hysan Concert Hall in the Chinese University of Hong Kong for a audiophile production made over four days from 30 July to 3 Aug this year. This is a serious audiophile recording.

This Cai Qin

post-4-1196173154_thumb.jpg

Edited by Sarong1