Sarong1 1st Gear December 23, 2007 Author Share December 23, 2007 especially Track 1-3. Sonata Concertata. It reminds me of moments of courtship as the two instruments literally flirt with each other through the musical notes! As the tracks continue on, it gives the feeling that the relationship between the ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan0507 Neutral Newbie December 26, 2007 Share December 26, 2007 anyone know this CD real or fake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahnah Neutral Newbie December 27, 2007 Share December 27, 2007 where is the CD make from ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear December 27, 2007 Author Share December 27, 2007 My opinion. These are made in China CDs, the sticker on the CD is the telltale sign, flip around and you should see that the CDs are made in Guangzhou. There is really no reason why they should pirate CDs that is already selling very cheap in China (cost less than SGD$10). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahnah Neutral Newbie December 27, 2007 Share December 27, 2007 so it is not a pirate CD .. it is just MIC (Made in China) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan0507 Neutral Newbie December 27, 2007 Share December 27, 2007 The cd made in china --Guangzhou. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear December 27, 2007 Author Share December 27, 2007 Your questions answered? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan0507 Neutral Newbie December 27, 2007 Share December 27, 2007 (edited) I was shopping at Giant (IMM) found this CD.The CD cover was look the same as what you see at SMC ,singer like --chen jie li (each in a different corner of the world ,zhao peng(The greatest basso) ,The golden ear I ,II and III etc .still a lot more .There are selling this cd at only $6.90.so i decided to pick up a few disc to give a try.i was surprising that the recording quite good ,but don't compare to some song recorded from RAIN FOREST STUDIO.maybe was the price that tell the different.when you get at SMC price between $16 to $20 ,and at giant is only selling at $6.90.The choice is yours. Edited December 27, 2007 by Ivan0507 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear December 27, 2007 Author Share December 27, 2007 Yes, SMC is selling them at a slightly more premium price compared with the rest of the retailers around but the CDs are the same. We are just being human when we see that there is such a contrast in price. Not to worry, why pay more when you can get it at a fraction of the price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan0507 Neutral Newbie December 27, 2007 Share December 27, 2007 if the cds was the same .i think the price gap is quite big .too bad ,i already bought a lot of cds from SMC previously. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear December 27, 2007 Author Share December 27, 2007 Yes, there are only selected CDs that you can buy from SMC, otherwise, you should continue to source from other places. China CDs are generally cheaper in Chinatown (not because its China related). For imports that are specialised, Adelphi is another place... China CDs have added "MSG" to make it sound clilnically clean, I don't particularly fancy that now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Harveynorman Neutral Newbie December 30, 2007 Share December 30, 2007 Can elaborate more on the msg thing? I wld like to know more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear December 30, 2007 Author Share December 30, 2007 MSG is Ajinomoto...a lot of MIC CDs are so processed that it became too clinical, faking and doesn't sound natural at all. For eg, in The Golden Ear Vol.1, the percussion of Eagles' Hotel Califonia seems too obviously enhanced. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged February 1, 2008 Share February 1, 2008 (edited) wah so long no one come in liao..... btw, that day saw the Sin Min Paper that say got this lady singer who sang like Teresa Teng.....not Chen Jie Li though.... did not get her name... anyone got any idea.... say to be the only singer endorse by Teresa family to be her replacement.... Edited February 1, 2008 by Nlatio Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie February 1, 2008 Share February 1, 2008 (edited) Hi Bro, You MIA for so long.. Never see you at our ICE meetup leh.. Check this YouTube out to see if you are referring to 孟庭苇(Meng, Ting Wei) and her likeness of Teresa Teng. I have some of Meng Ting Wei's CDs and one of them is her Hong Hua (Red Flower) album. Edited February 1, 2008 by Bobcatsysop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear February 1, 2008 Author Share February 1, 2008 (edited) The lady is from China. Her name is Tong Yao. She has earlier performed in The Esplanade making a tribute to Teresa Teng. Edited February 1, 2008 by Sarong1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged February 4, 2008 Share February 4, 2008 Yo Uncle Bob and David, long time no see.... errr confirm not Meng Ting Wei... hmmm doesn't seem to be Tong Yao too... will need to go dig out the old newspaper... will put up here if can still find it... Too busy with my kiddo... alway falling sick.... now recovering from Bronchitis.... sigh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear February 4, 2008 Author Share February 4, 2008 OK, take good care till we meet. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...