Mobil 5w30 at Carrefour

Grandfather

You got the amount from your user's manual? 2-7/8 qts is very little! shocked.gif Incredible! It puts your car to the same league as Mazda Protoge which also uses around 3qt of oil as well.

Yup just double-checked the technical specs.

It says 2 7/8 qts with oil filter change and 2 3/4 without.

But I kiasu so bought 4 quarts at IMM Giant just now. [laugh]

basically, most of the new car can use all types of engine oil in the market.Just remember to services yr car promptly so tats it can help to reduce wears and tears ,thks!!Cheers!!!gossip.gif

if u can afford a better grade of engine oil e.g Mobil One Gold,of course it will be good for yr vehicle!!!Otherwise , try the next best type available,Cheers!!!!rifle.gif

Actually it should be next best grade or API service category if you can. Synthetic or not does not make a difference. Only difference is lighter pocket. If you race and speed revving and burning petrol, synthetic will indeed make a difference but for daily driving, hardly so.

I got Mobil 1 engine oil 0W-40 to spare (SM). Production batch 2005. Anyone interested ? Purchase at $11 per quartz.

This formulation is smooth and fuel saving for new engines. IMO, W-30 oil may be quite thin when engine operating at high temp. As a guide at ard 100 degree C, viscosity level drops from 20 down to 10 from a W-50 to W-20 oil. Have to worry about the protection the oil provides. So to be safe I wld not go below W-40. 0W-40 i think is a safer and better choice. I have used it and is fully convinced.

From Darklord, his oil temp gauge shows 70 deg C when using 10W30 around town for normal driving. You will see higher operating temperatures for a 0W40 due to the frictional heat generated from the oil shear. Always choose an oil that gives your engine lower oil temperature. The 100C viscosity is the ideal but most engines never hit 100C on street conditions.

You got the amount from your user's manual? 2-7/8 qts is very little! shocked.gif Incredible! It puts your car to the same league as Mazda Protoge which also uses around 3qt of oil as well.

Sunny also uses ~3quarts(~2.8L) only.

Genie47, need yur advise. My oil temp reaching 98C on street conditions liao leh.. shakehead.gif How? I'm using cxxxxxe 5W30 bought from suntec..

I just bought the M10W30 from Giant, should i change asap?

Thanks

Def

cxxxxxe is 5W40. Could be because it is thick. It will not kill the engine. Just use to your car's specified oil change interval. No hurry. Change to M1 10W30 or any 10W30 and see if there is any improvement.

I just bought 1 bottle M1 10W30 (green cap) SL grade as needed 1 more bottle for servicing. Found out later that the 4 bottles I have are M1 5W30 (blue cap) [dizzy]

Anyone want to swap with me ?

Either 1 bottle of Mobil 1 5W30 with my 1 bottle Mobil 10W30

Or

Swap 4 bottles 10W30 with my 4 bottles 5W30.... [sunny]

I think so also, but since I'm bringing own oil to my car agent for servicing (which they frown upon already), didn't want them to make any issues over the type of oil used. Thanks for the advice.