Crazybugger 1st Gear October 12, 2006 Share October 12, 2006 The other day i saw at MUSTAFA hardware section got sell a Black and Decker polishing machine set for $67. is this a good deal? good enough for regular waxing or should this machine be avoided at all cost. just got a black car .... siong manz!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear October 12, 2006 Share October 12, 2006 piaseh bro, have not try the B&D polishing machine before...any bros can advise on this B&D machine? but if it is using car battery,dun waste $$.. black car indeed siong....btw it depends what u want? for wax application and shine maintenace? to remove defects ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazybugger 1st Gear October 12, 2006 Share October 12, 2006 just got gian after reading through this post and seeing the price tags for your toys if there's a machine out there that can do general waxing job for $67 versus what you guys are using which costs hundreds of bucks, i don't mind trying it out. I've been waxing my cars by hand for years ..... but the ol back has been complaining of late ... plus i'm getting lazy i don't get this sealant thing ... i've just been slapping on a coat of wax every month or so and my car doesn't look bad compared to others on the road leh??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear October 12, 2006 Share October 12, 2006 give it a try then.. for wax application,it should works well..most important..it meet yr budget for us,we are quite crazy abt detailing..trying new toys and product Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched October 12, 2006 Share October 12, 2006 why dont u try 1st before deciding which 1 u want to buy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glisten Neutral Newbie October 13, 2006 Share October 13, 2006 yo Eddy, I see whether i can arrange a detailing session this weekend Hi Benny, So is the detailing session on this weekend? I'm looking forward to it man... Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skip Neutral Newbie October 14, 2006 Share October 14, 2006 I think Swishbrade is selling his B&D which is modified to take velcro polishing pads, saw it in the classified some time ago, he was selling it very cheap but dunno if it has been sold. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swishbrade Neutral Newbie October 14, 2006 Share October 14, 2006 SOLD liao. Thanks for looking out for me bro ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazybugger 1st Gear October 15, 2006 Share October 15, 2006 so what do you think of the B&D machine? good enough for general waxing? worth the $67? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear October 15, 2006 Author Share October 15, 2006 Good enough for general waxing and thats about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swishbrade Neutral Newbie October 15, 2006 Share October 15, 2006 Yes. It's definitely sufficient for general waxing and sealant application, but you will have to buff them off by hand. If you get a Bosch, possible to get the job done faster too. It's a balance of amount to be invested and efficiency. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asairp Neutral Newbie October 26, 2006 Share October 26, 2006 sorry, newbie just bought 270AE and planning to buy the 8006 & 9006 polishing pad,do you guys know how much are these stuffs selling at Hypercoat? If i want to remove swirl marks, 7006 or wool pad? Please advise, thank u very much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie October 26, 2006 Share October 26, 2006 Hi Asairp, 8006, 9006 and 7006 should be around $21 each with GST. If you are considering to remove swirls, you should get the 7006 and 8006 pad, 9006 is meant more for finishing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazybugger 1st Gear October 26, 2006 Share October 26, 2006 huh? buffing machine but still must buff off by hand? anyways ... BLACK CAR DAMN SIONG MANZ!!! think my karate skill must be gone up by 2 level since i got me car 3 weeks ago .... must have done washing at least 6 times already and waxing 3 times. Bought a can of KITT scratch out coz my roof quite jialat got many stains .... so far removed 80% of them on the roof ... but damn siong manz .... using that stuff need to choot gu lat else not effective. I don't find it hard to do waxing and buffing off by hand leh .. i using the cheapo Turtlewax paste wax ... just don't apply too thick layer also got that turtlewax black colour liquid wax .... But is this suitable for my car? My car colour is metallic black or MICA black. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asairp Neutral Newbie October 26, 2006 Share October 26, 2006 Thanks gen2 for your kind help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear October 26, 2006 Author Share October 26, 2006 The product will be broken down by the machine and pad, you still have to remove the haze/residue by hand. Its possible to remove wax with a MF bonet but the good old elbow grease is faster. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swishbrade Neutral Newbie October 26, 2006 Share October 26, 2006 huh? buffing machine but still must buff off by hand? Yah. The B&D is a little weak, especially when trying to buff off hazed KSG, it just isn't powerful enough to do it . anyways ... BLACK CAR DAMN SIONG MANZ!!! think my karate skill must be gone up by 2 level since i got me car 3 weeks ago .... must have done washing at least 6 times already and waxing 3 times. Welcome to the Karate Club...we are all a little here...haha Bought a can of KITT scratch out coz my roof quite jialat got many stains .... so far removed 80% of them on the roof ... but damn siong manz .... using that stuff need to choot gu lat else not effective. Make sure you seal your ride with extra coats on the horizontal surfaces bro. Minimise the water marks this way I don't find it hard to do waxing and buffing off by hand leh .. i using the cheapo Turtlewax paste wax ... just don't apply too thick layer "Thin" is our magic word here bro. You are on the right track ! also got that turtlewax black colour liquid wax .... But is this suitable for my car? My car colour is metallic black or MICA black. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazybugger 1st Gear October 27, 2006 Share October 27, 2006 yup .... usually concentrate waxing on the roof and bonnet and boot. I noticed that Dew settles on the car every morning only on the Roof, Boot and my front and rear windscreens. But none on the bonnet! anyone got this wierd dew behaviour? Is there any way to prevent dew from settling on the car at all? i don't have covered parking. would much like to wake up to a glossy car every morning rather than a car 1/2 covered with dew ..... less work too! since no need to wipe it off means extra 15 - 20 min zzz time ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...