Koren Clutched January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 (edited) gear ratio small den good ma.. faster accel.. Edited January 27, 2006 by Koren ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 so meaning who is faster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koren Clutched January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 it all depends.. closer ratio = lower speed on the gear = higher accelaration.. which also means u need to change more gears to reach the speed.. closer ratio shud be faster (theory wise) but if ur hand kena lan.. duno how to shift.. of course u'll be slower.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 icic..... my hand is fast but my leg is slow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jho0001 Neutral Newbie January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 I was driving behind either a black Vios or Corrolla entering the ECP from the TPE at Changi side....driver of the toyota took off quite quickly entering the ECP, must of driven his car really hard, because all I could smell in the cabin of my car was a tinge of burning engine fumes, you know the type of smell you get when a car engine is being thrashed. Anyway, this guy drove upto I think 140, I only know this cause I was right behind him until I thought "dont be such a dickhead, you could end up losing your license and end up taking the MRT to work" so I backed off of a bit and let him go. Late caught up with him due to the slow traffic and teased him a bit by zooming quickly toward him, I could see he was edging to get away..got to admit though, it was fun teasing him, everytime I zoomed behind him I could smell his buring engine being thrashed, he turned off towards Suntec and I carried straight on.... I'll give his corrolla engine a few months before it starts smoking. p.s. I drive a Airtrek Turbo. Cant believe the prat even bothered trying to race me....besides anyone can drive fast in a straight line....did you know that Corrolla and Vios are driven by old retired people in other countries....muuuuahahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koren Clutched January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 turbo car trying to chase NA.. shame on u.. saw a veri veri fast airtrek the other day.. red colored one.. running on veri high boost.. (from the sound of the sqv) shocking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2K_83 1st Gear January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 GSR auto can only do the sprint in 9+s... even the Manual is 8s flat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jho0001 Neutral Newbie January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 (edited) if your trying to compare then 0-60pmh is only part of the story, theres also mid range e.g. 50 - 70 blah blah blah... sorry, no comparison. Edited January 27, 2006 by Jho0001 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 on paper specs,i already guess the civic will win....but maybe the guy did a great launch...that's why his ahead intitally... I saw on the recent CarBuyer's and a couple of websites that the Civic can do a 100kmh sprint in 10.2s, is that really true? If that's the case, its really amazing for a 1.8l car, it beats quite a few 2.0l cars. And apparently the 2.0Si can do the sprint in 9.2s, even faster than a GSR... (PS. I'm talking about their auto specs, not manual) iam not very sure abt the new civic specs and timing... only know that the 1.8litre one have 140 bhp.... but i think 1.8litre also got diff range if iam not wrong... not very sure with the 2litre model.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 it all depends.. closer ratio = lower speed on the gear = higher accelaration.. which also means u need to change more gears to reach the speed.. closer ratio shud be faster (theory wise) but if ur hand kena lan.. duno how to shift.. of course u'll be slower.. yah....close ratio helps alot in pick up... can even wheel spin at 2nd gear.... but if play for long distance,it will lose out...cos the top speed will be reduced.... but in singapore,close ratio is one of the best mod..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 I was driving behind either a black Vios or Corrolla entering the ECP from the TPE at Changi side....driver of the toyota took off quite quickly entering the ECP, must of driven his car really hard, because all I could smell in the cabin of my car was a tinge of burning engine fumes, you know the type of smell you get when a car engine is being thrashed. Anyway, this guy drove upto I think 140, I only know this cause I was right behind him until I thought "dont be such a dickhead, you could end up losing your license and end up taking the MRT to work" so I backed off of a bit and let him go. Late caught up with him due to the slow traffic and teased him a bit by zooming quickly toward him, I could see he was edging to get away..got to admit though, it was fun teasing him, everytime I zoomed behind him I could smell his buring engine being thrashed, he turned off towards Suntec and I carried straight on.... I'll give his corrolla engine a few months before it starts smoking. p.s. I drive a Airtrek Turbo. Cant believe the prat even bothered trying to race me....besides anyone can drive fast in a straight line....did you know that Corrolla and Vios are driven by old retired people in other countries....muuuuahahah u r doing the right thing by backing off.... just let him go ahead and tell his fren that he smoked an ATR.... yah...in sg is like that one lah... no matter how fast ur car is,we will always meet infront.... unless the road got no cars and traffic.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 0-60mph is to compare the acceleration... fast acc dun mean u will win a 1/4 mile race.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 turbo car trying to chase NA.. shame on u.. saw a veri veri fast airtrek the other day.. red colored one.. running on veri high boost.. (from the sound of the sqv) shocking i had also seen a red ATR with full body kits and rear spoiler.... its rims is also red colour... looks fierce...duno if its the same one we saw.... saw that a few times liao.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dennisk Clutched January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 anywhere in sg that can mod gear ratio? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched January 28, 2006 Share January 28, 2006 Pulled off Toyota club forum eh? 1 word to say, can Aspec tyres be used for drag race comparison, even cornering? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crv2004 Clutched January 28, 2006 Share January 28, 2006 But like that is still faster than the civic 1.8 what Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoon125 3rd Gear January 28, 2006 Share January 28, 2006 Just test drive the civic thursday, 10.2 secs is for the 2.0Si auto, the manuel is 8.6 secs if i am not wrong... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear January 29, 2006 Share January 29, 2006 manual for 2.0L ?? should be ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...