Quantum 5th Gear February 15, 2006 Share February 15, 2006 decide to buy altis, according to www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/pricelist.php?MAK=Toyota, Altis 108BHP and top speed 175km/h , but vios 109BHP and top speed 180km/h , and 10k cheaper than altis, surely FC better than altis, should I go to which one? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shern25 2nd Gear February 15, 2006 Share February 15, 2006 With the better FC, slightly lower road tax, price cheaper by ~8K, each month you are paying ~$100 less per month if you get vios as compared to Altis. Some people finds $100 too small a difference and go for Altis. I would recommend that if you want to have a family car, go for Altis, without doubt. If it is just you and/or your partner in it, then go for whichever gives you a better feel after test drives on both cars. Remember, it's 10 years sticking to your new car for optimum budget. so buy one that you will not likely to regret for 10 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear February 15, 2006 Share February 15, 2006 Altis is more spacious and comfortable. need to get used Vios centre instrument panel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis_boi Clutched February 16, 2006 Share February 16, 2006 Basically, the Vios & Altis caters 4 different group of pple. IMo, generally If u need more rear space, go 4 the Altis. If it's normally u & ur gf/spouse, then the Vios wuld b good. But untimately, u muz like the car that u haf bot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunray Neutral Newbie February 16, 2006 Share February 16, 2006 (edited) If you need space and comfort, go for altis. If you travel alot, go for vios for better FC. If you have tight budget, go for vios. Maximum speed not so much of use on the S'pore roads. Edited February 16, 2006 by Sunray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoom99 Neutral Newbie February 16, 2006 Share February 16, 2006 Are u very particular on road noise? In my personal opinion, it seems that Vios got better insulation than G9/Altis. Since the car is meant for 10yrs, you must like the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear February 16, 2006 Share February 16, 2006 If you are buying a new car, then you have to look longer terms than 3 years and see which car will suit your needs. Financially, it is not wise to change car as frequently as before. Thus, get a car that can suit your needs for the next 5-10years. Vios is slightly cramp but still good enough for a family of 4 but 2 childseat in the rear will be a squeeze as compare to altis. I am slightly puzzled why are you looking at top speed? It is ridiculous to drive in singapore or even NSH anywhere near those speed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super4 Clutched February 16, 2006 Share February 16, 2006 Correction Bro...I used to own 2004 XLI G9 Manual, currently driving a Vios. From my Personal experience....G9 definitely has better insulation & more comfortable ride comparing to Vios. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive 1st Gear February 16, 2006 Share February 16, 2006 Sorry to inject this thread as I'm selling my ride as well. Are both auto transition smooth? I'm worried about "jerkiness" as I'm used to manual for control Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evildoer Neutral Newbie February 16, 2006 Share February 16, 2006 my 2c views: vios = pros: value for money, can be chio if add bodykit, FC good Cons: too mani on the road liao, see until pek chek altis = pros: compare to vios, better class & image Cons: quite a bland n ah pek car leh, quite common as well, if i were u, i'll consider, suzuki swift, ignis, honda city, jazz, edix, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kanchelsk 2nd Gear February 16, 2006 Share February 16, 2006 should go for altis... better built too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear February 16, 2006 Share February 16, 2006 city would be a gd choice... but me would go for renault megane Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched February 16, 2006 Share February 16, 2006 decide to buy altis, according to www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/pricelist.php?MAK=Toyota, Altis 108BHP and top speed 175km/h , but vios 109BHP and top speed 180km/h , and 10k cheaper than altis, surely FC better than altis, should I go to which one? what do u want in the car? that is the question. Both car can be "zhnged" until sui sui if u want to look special. u mention FC, I guess u are not a speedster, therefore top speed doesn't really apply. :) for drivabilily, look for the torque and weight. which car has the highest torque at lower rpm? did u test drive both cars? auto? (dun think there are manual altis in SG). I've not driven both, but from the look of the specification from wwww.toyotasingapore.com.sg , Altis is 10% heavier than a Vios Altis max torque (3800rpm) is about 5% more than a Vios (4200rpm). Since u dun intend to drag both cars.. , presumably, u pay a bit more for the space in a Altis. The rest of the driving performance diff don't really matter to u. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear February 16, 2006 Share February 16, 2006 Wont it be more practical to get a Latio. Cabin space bigger than Altis n FC also way much better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear February 16, 2006 Share February 16, 2006 Hi, If you value structural rigidity and a value for $ car, you should consider the Skoda Octavia which is selling at $1k less than the Altis. Speed is nothing without control. Take the Altis and Octavia through the bends of Jervois Road (near River Valley Rd), maintain at 40km/h & experience the handling of both cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunray Neutral Newbie February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 (edited) Skoda is a very unique make. Though good handling and $1k cheaper than altis, how about its resale value, FC and maintenance cost? By the way, not many chances to drive on twisty roads in S'pore unless you stay around there. Edited February 17, 2006 by Sunray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 Hi bro Sunray, Resale Value Ask yourself, in principle, what is resale value in the local used car market today? The paper value of the car at the point of time, is transparent, once you have the owner's NRIC and the reg. number of the vehicle. An SE selling a popular make, say Toyota, can tell you that a Toyota can fetch good resale value. When it is time to sell your car to used car dealers, will the promise of the SE be realised? So ask yourself again, "What resale value?" Fuel Consumption FC of the Octavia: 7.3l/100km Source: http://www.autobudget.de/gebrauchtwagen/us...sv=12821&y=2005 FC of Corolla: 7.0l/100km Source: http://www.autobudget.de/gebrauchtwagen/us...sv=21578&y=2005 Is there a stark difference? Maintenance Japanese cars, made-in-Thailand Japanese branded cars require oil change at 5k intervals, if not 10k intervals. European cars require oil change at 15k intervals. Allow me to give u an illustration of maintenance costs: Citing the cost of an oil filter: An oil filter from Toyota costs around $6 -$7 An oil filter element from Skoda costs $10 Considering the Toyota and Skoda have reached 30,000km mark, you would have spent min $18 and max $36 on the Toyota and $20 for the Skoda. The above analysis is based on one of the raw materials used in regular oil change. Labour cost has not been factored into the analysis yet. If you have seen the state of Altis involved in accidents, it should give a pretty good gauge on how much reinforcement has been implemented on that car. Anyway, it's your call. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunray Neutral Newbie February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 Hey, thanks for your reply and don't be too offensive on my questions to you. In fact, I'm asking you these becos there's a bro in another forum who is super pro altis. When I mentioned "thai made", "ah pek" and altis not a luxury car, he whack me left right center. Sorry I'm not driving altis. In fact, I couldn't convince myself to buy a thai made car which is more costly than a jap made though it has a VVTi engine but most people said I should change my mindset and most also said toyota is most sought after in the used car market, meaning it can fetch a good resale price. My ride though FC not as good as altis but its initial maintenance cost is much lower than altis and most importantly, its body not as soft as altis. Sometimes in an accident, you may not knock people but people knock you. No offense to altis owners. My personal view only. Don't whack me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...