Change engine oil

Jasonllh

hi,

me unlucky enough to kanna problem after addding a engine oil additive to my car. had use the product once and all is well but this time the car started to have slight vibrations in the car cabin after application. it is slight but irritating enough. as i just had my servicing, all went well till the application. Suspicion lies on the additive (shall not name it but it helps protect engine and really and truly gives a smoother ride) though i can only say 70%. the other 30% could be a coincidental breakdown of other parts (1 yr old car). should i go back to my own service center (gonna queue till 15 April) or just go out and drain the engine oil and refill a new bottle. really perplexed cause dun even know the cause.

bros here can offer any opinion as to best course of action?

what additive? lxxxs? doh..

just drain and refill with fresh engine oil, u can do it easily at outside workshops, service charge should be around $20 for just an oil change.

1yr old car shouldn't have much problem if maintaince was done.

Bro, if you feel that the vibration is due to the engine oil additive used, jus bring it to any workshop and drain the whole engine oil out [:)] Should cost you less than 20 bucks [;)] Maybe, you can also change the oil filter too [:)]

It may be just coincidence that the car start to act up and not the additive. Get some expert advice from the Lao Jiao in this forum. [;)]

Why add some snake oil? Now you are in some dilemma. You dunno if it is the snake oil or the car actually acting up. Now got to spend money to rectify and you don't even know where to begin. For starters, just drain the oil and add a good quality motor oil preferrably 10W30.

BTW.....

post-8-1144296207_thumb.jpg

side track a bit, how is RP ATF compare to Redline wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif if both equally good, will go for RP cost it's cheaper sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

ya .....thanks for the advices....just finished 20k servicing. all went well. next day travelled home no problem. parked the car, backside itchy excitedly pour the thingy into engine oil. went home. came back, start engine......wow really smooth.....go...stop at traffic light.....ehhh how come got such slight vibration???? never felt before...not even just now wen driving home...paranoia??? that is how i came about with the "inconclusive" conclusion that it might be the additive. if it is coincidental that certain parts breakdown at the same time.....good luck to me [sweatdrop]

will try as advised by all the bros here....thanks. [flowerface]

Actually both are equally good except that RL is more expensive. When it comes to heavy gear lubes, RL and RP are preferred by enthusiasts all over. Unless you drive a Toyota or any car with an Aisin-Borg-Warner tranny, then use Toyota T-IV is cheaper and better.

Hi Genie47,

Heard that u r expert here. Could u advise me on what oil to use for my Mazda3?

I am thinking about Royal Purple and cxxxxxe 5W40. Which is more appropriate for my car or any better suggestion?

Especially for RP, which to use(meaning 5W40 or so on)? Newbie here. Would like to use Fully Synthetic oil. Thanks a lot

hi,

me unlucky enough to kanna problem after addding a engine oil additive to my car. had use the product once and all is well but this time the car started to have slight vibrations in the car cabin after application. it is slight but irritating enough. as i just had my servicing, all went well till the application. Suspicion lies on the additive (shall not name it but it helps protect engine and really and truly gives a smoother ride) though i can only say 70%. the other 30% could be a coincidental breakdown of other parts (1 yr old car). should i go back to my own service center (gonna queue till 15 April) or just go out and drain the engine oil and refill a new bottle. really perplexed cause dun even know the cause.

bros here can offer any opinion as to best course of action?

Since you've mentioned you just had your servicing done, its better to change the oil at outside workshop cos cheaper. nod.gif

steady sia....you were correct. i did refill petrol shell 95 prior to application....but this petrol not the first time use leh. before refill also shell 95. my car lowest possible octane 91. [hur]

[shocked] care to elaborate???

Trajet and all Hyundai spec SPIII. Cannot use T-IV. If you want cheaper all makes ATF, there is Schaeffer but best is use SPIII if you want within warranty.

Since is slight vibration, the recent petrol could be the cause and not the oil.

Suggest you refuel up again with higher grade petrol, probably you already have abt 3/4 left, so just fill up a higher grade petrol to full and check it out. Another alternative is add those octane booster to the petrol and see whether situation improve.

Oil additives rarely cause vibration, the most is that they don't perform as claimed.

Even if they are the problem, it will not shows until quite some times. Petrol is different, once you refuel, if it is bad, shows straight away.

During servicing, if the sparkplugs are removed, and not tightened back properly can also cause this problem. Feel the exhaust air to see whether they are purring out smoothing and no hesitation, if there is, firing is not good.

Edited by Sky8807