What is the definition of a performance car?

Kelpie

1. I guess this topic would be interesting as I'm sure performance means differently to different people.

2. I just read from another thread that a performance car should have at least 150bhp. Is this a good yardstick? How about 0-100Km/h timing? Assumin we mod a 1.6L NA car to 150bhp with 0-100Km/h at 8secs, do you still think it is a performance car under sheep skin?

Share your view. Thank you.

Regards,

Edited by Kelpie

Performance cars in my book in my book are cars that have at least a power to weight ratio of at 100-120bhp/per ton AND can handle well (i.e. rigid chassis, little body roll etc). If they cant handle well, they need have more power/torque and be very quick in a straight line (e.g. sub mid 13 sec quater mile).

Edited by Elfenstar

Cars with 1 engine, 1 steering wheel and 3 pedals, I'll call it a performance car. (Ariel Atom) [sly]

Others are secondary. [laugh]

It really depends on which context you want to discuss on.

For most Singaporean, it's :-

1)GT Wings,

2)loud and big exhaust but lose low end but heck care lar..look good can liao,

3)A lot of sticker (1 = 10bhp)

4) Very nice looking but heavy rims (replicate look as good mar and cheaper, light will fly)

5) a lot of alarm clock, some got digital one somemore on their dashboard, windscreen, A-pillar

6) paper spec said it's below 10sec for century dash, Yes, paper spec but it's more than enough

7) car must be bengz enough, beside the usual TS 1.6, lancer GDI and some like it to be called cxxxc (ok, I know, it's civic). The rest all upmarket one, but it's upmarket. so cannot talk about them.

For my own, the power lies in not only going faster,but shd handle corner well and be able to stop as fast as it run.

Frankly most people are only concentrating on giving it extra horsepower and up the 0-100km/h timing as you stated. But they don't realise that they need upgrade their brake, chassis and the aerodynamic of their ride and many others. Lambo, Ferrari, Porky and others have spent billions looking into every aspect of the car. It's not just the engine although it's the heart.

I believe your description depicted the mentality of a Singaporean drivers. Let's discuss further.

Cheers [:)]

performance car to me, low 12s

that's it. Brakes? ahhh... my car has the best brakes, better than yours. my tuner said so. suspension - not if you want to take it to track... See those afterburner flame throwing dragsters with NOS? now THAT's performance!

Edited by Spade

hey the TDI engine at the back is stock... I'm sure a bigger turbo etc can be added in and with a 200bhp elect engine at the front, i dun think lag would be too much of an issue [laugh]

I don't think the honda boys will be too happy though coz a perfectly good accord is needed for the chassis [sweatdrop] so no more vtec [laugh]

mmm... performance car is one that's made by a company that actually has experience in motorsports and applies some of the experiences into that car's design..

not one who designs cars for the sake of meeting the quota, or making look-a-likes.

only got 4 categories?: performance, luxuary, normal everyday sedan and budget car [laugh]

depends on how u view performance. from what u say, i can take a nissan sunny and drop in a TC kit, abit of mods to hit 150hp.. and it's considered a performance car? then how bout those engineers who design, R&D ferraris and porsche? hire any tom **** or harry to do the job can liao mah.. [laugh]

below 12s quite normal mar..

Brake har? I dunno leh..

fire har? I better get ready my chicken wings for BBQ..

only got 4 categories?: performance, luxuary, normal everyday sedan and budget car Laugh

Do you mean the getz that is the fastest new car of 1.6 displacement and under $100k [sly][laugh][laugh][laugh][rolleyes]

edit:NB (think hokkien not the standard english NB)... me thinks the horns on my head are getting longer and longer... [:|]

Edited by Elfenstar

your car has the best brakes? [rolleyes]

go airbase and take a look, see those F-16s taking off with full afterburners spitting a 10ft flame at the back, 0-200 knts in 5 sec? now THAT's performance!

[laugh][laugh]

So what sort of brake system is it running on? must be able to stop as fast as it pick up mar..

performance cars...are cars that can perform with better specs as stock maybez. definitely not used for modded cars, cuz they are not performance but custom