Volt Meter?

Yr1985

See attached , just plug into the cigarette lighter socket and the installation is completer. Just read from the LED to know the status of your battery and alternator

How does that thing know if its the battery or the alternator since it is plugged into the socket only?? [gossip]

Edited by Vidz

If $300 include all parts required and installation for Water temp, oil temp and vacuum meter. Then it is okie.

How about 6 AutoGauge, plus installation @ $520?

A question, when u purchase the volt meter, is there any manual to teach how to read the volt meter ???

no. the volt meter does not come with any manual. i bought a digital one first, it just plug into the cig socket and you will see the readings lor. you can see the picture that bro yeobh posted, the readings are there.

then i bought a volt gauge. same function lor. just that it's not digital.

Can I ask how do u know from the voltmeter that the alternator or the battery is faulty?

i dun know actually. but then the reading is not normal lor. usually, it's 13.8-14.1 so that day. the reading drop to 11.something.... i knew there must be something wrong liao lor, and i still kiasu lor, have both the gauge and the digital one in the car, and both shows the same reading. so drive to the workshop to check lor.... while driving, was praying hard the battery dun go dead.

when reach workshop, about 2km away, reading was 11. so mech check battery, check alternator... then find out the alternator not charging.... kaput liao.

For battery you can carry out two tests - 1)battery charge status & 2)cranking power test.

For 1) start the engine and allow the battery to clear the surface charge and then switch off the engine. Take the voltage reading directly from the battery terminals.

For 2) you hve to disable the engine ( don't allot it to start) - you cn do this by disconnecting the primary wire + to the coil. Place the voltmeter test leads to the terminals. Get a helper to crank the engine. Take not of the reading - should not drop below 9.6 volt. Below 9.6volt indicates yr battery just do not have the spare energy to crank start the engine.

To test alternator for charging, place voltmeter leads on the battery terminals and run engine to 2,500 rpm. A good condition alternator should be able to produce at least 13.8volt.

The battery reading is taken when you switch on the ignition.The alternator reading is taken when the engine is running at 2,500rpm or more.

RB20.. it's in toh guan.. but i know the guy and i think he gave me discount cos i teacher.. hehe... PM me if u want the contact number...