Will changing tyres affect wheel alignment?

Kiwi

I just did my alignment and balancing not too long ago (< 1 mth). Will be changing my tyres soon. Do I need to alignment/balance them after the change?

Balancing the wheels is a must after you change tyres. Usually the shop will balance them using the machine that they attach the wheel/tyre to - i.e. off body balancing. If you don't balance correctly, when you drive the steering will shake.

Alignment is required if you change rims, especially if you change the size e.g. from 15 to 16 to 17 etc. Also if you do any suspension work.

Don't stinge on alignment if you feel you need it - uneven wear of your tyres would proof more costly in the long run.

Post: Balancing the wheels is a must after you change tyres. Usually the shop will balance them using the machine that they attach the wheel/tyre to - i.e. off body balancing. If you don't balance correctly, when you drive the steering will shake.

Alignment is required if you change rims, especially if you change the size e.g. from 15 to 16 to 17 etc. Also if you do any suspension work.

Don't stinge on alignment if you feel you need it - uneven wear of your tyres would proof more costly in the long run.

alignment also necessary when you change new set of tyres...nod.gifnod.gif

Alignment after changing new tyres help to prevent unnecessary tyre wear and also keep the alignment checked...thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Do read the rest of the older posts... I have posted some articles and info on alignment and tyres...very useful for you...thumbsup.gif

Yah lah .... change tyre must do alignment like Saaber said. Like me change tyre, steering one sided liaozzz ... but car go straight. Funny right, like macam drive taxi .... [laugh]

Personally, I perfer to align at Ang Mo Kio AUTOPOINT. RIVERVIEW AUTO 4TH FLOOR. Look for this guy (Kenny). Known him for quite awhile .... very good computerised wheel alignment.

Also, he is a very honest chap. Tells you like it is. Unlike some shops, KNN, give you some bxxxxxxt problems when there is none. He doesn't push you to do this and that, say your car like this and like that. [thumbsup]

Service charges also very reasonable. Just tell him Harman driving Green Mazda 323 , last time drive Peugeot recommend, sure [thumbsup] price.

No worries, I am not commission nor advertising for him. But if I got good contacts .... I recommend to my fellow brothers. [angel]

Maybe Assasin would like to add him into the Resources Folder.

Edited by Hitman

Yep, but didn't go for Kumho ..... got something else.

But didn't want the shop to do the alignment so just got back from my alignment at AMK Autopoint. Drive car after changing tyres without alignment, car always want to go left one. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Thanks bro [thumbsup]

Thank you to Saaber also [thumbsup]