Cheekg98 1st Gear December 23, 2006 Share December 23, 2006 better go n check the tyre cos' not safe with a punctured tyre... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cordia_gsr Neutral Newbie December 23, 2006 Share December 23, 2006 Mine is a Lancer and the recommended pressure is 210 for both front and rear. If I pump 230 for the front, would it affect my handling in any ways? The reasons why to pump the front tyres a slightly higher pressure is to compensate the heat on the front wheels, at the point when you pump the tyres. The best way will be to pump 220 to 230 all round. Next morning, use a tyre guage and readjust all to 210. That's the best method Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged December 23, 2006 Share December 23, 2006 (edited) Hi, My front tyres feel punctured even though I just pumped them a few hours ago (ok just after pumping). However, you can't tell just by looking it them. I just feel it when driving. It's like more draggy, and the noise of the road is much higher. Am I having a punctured tyre that is deflating slowly? Thx. Actually, i think u'r a bit paranoid? cos i doubt both front tyres will be punctured at the same time. IF only one of the front is punctured, u'll feel that the car will drift to one side (the punctured side due to higher roller resistance) and that is obvious enough to detect. Maybe its becos Lancer is underpowered with poor sound insulation? Anyway, to qualms all ur fears, u can always go to those old fashioned tyre shops and ask them help u check. They will simply dismount ur wheels and put them in water to check for leakage. Believe me they'r old ah peks but very very experienced. I went to the shops along Geylang road and had leakage detected n patched in just 10mins. Cost only 10dollars. Its sad that they'r losing business to the big companies. Edited December 23, 2006 by Friendstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holysniper Neutral Newbie December 23, 2006 Share December 23, 2006 agree man.. i am learnin driving using a lancer.. but as 2days ago the instructor's car timing belt broke, i couldnt drive his lancer.. den he let mi try using a sunny. the sound insulation is good! even when i accidentally rev due to the lousy control of clutch, my instructor oso didnt noe tat! he always nag mi abt the revvin on the lancer as it's so obvious.. the ride is more powerful compared to lancer which is noisy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lendevear 1st Gear December 24, 2006 Share December 24, 2006 Hi, My front tyres feel punctured even though I just pumped them a few hours ago (ok just after pumping). However, you can't tell just by looking it them. I just feel it when driving. It's like more draggy, and the noise of the road is much higher. Am I having a punctured tyre that is deflating slowly? Thx. Just go to CAS and ask them to check.. They will soak ur tyre into water and check if there is bubbles coming out from any areas... citibank card holders have free tyre punture repairs i think. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear December 24, 2006 Share December 24, 2006 the ride is more powerful compared to lancer which is noisy. btw, one reason for an instructors car to be a bit weak( regardless of make + model) is due to fact of too many driving style, till the EUC also , so guess the defult map was thrown in instead. mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holysniper Neutral Newbie December 24, 2006 Share December 24, 2006 ya i oso kinda tink so.. my style is start rolling slow and accelerate on 2nd n 3rd gear.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 25, 2006 Share December 25, 2006 Should I just go to any petrol station to do the tyres or safer to go back to C&C (mine is a 2 months old Lancer)? Will those petrol stations do monkey business - I read horror stories about how their steering alignment got messed up after getting their new tyres installed in some workshops. ========================= Try to go to those reliable or highly recommended tyre shops. Some might try some hanky-panky with u. If you go to the agent to change tyres or rims, their prices wil be much higher. Some like P0H Heng r not bad but now their range of tyres r quite limited if u want good prices. Their rims r still pretty OK though. If u staying in the north, I can intro my regular tyre shop as I been using him for many years already. But his prices r average only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 25, 2006 Share December 25, 2006 Mine is a Lancer and the recommended pressure is 210 for both front and rear. If I pump 230 for the front, would it affect my handling in any ways? ============================ If yours is still under warranty, better go back to the agent cos if manufacturer defect, then they sud fix it for free. If u get a puncture, then the warranty does not cover. Patching a hole is less then $10a tyre anywhere u go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 25, 2006 Share December 25, 2006 Mine is a Lancer and the recommended pressure is 210 for both front and rear. If I pump 230 for the front, would it affect my handling in any ways? The reasons why to pump the front tyres a slightly higher pressure is to compensate the heat on the front wheels, at the point when you pump the tyres. The best way will be to pump 220 to 230 all round. Next morning, use a tyre guage and readjust all to 210. That's the best method ===================== My car also recommends the same pressure for front & rear (190kp/a) although it is front wheel drive. I now pump 200kp/a for front & rear for a comfortable ride. Recently I pump 205kp/a & try to see if it is too hard, but it seems quite OK. My tyres already 2 years old but still in very good condition. Maybe I can use another 2 more years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 25, 2006 Share December 25, 2006 Anyway, to qualms all ur fears, u can always go to those old fashioned tyre shops and ask them help u check. They will simply dismount ur wheels and put them in water to check for leakage. Believe me they'r old ah peks but very very experienced. I went to the shops along Geylang road and had leakage detected n patched in just 10mins. Cost only 10dollars. Its sad that they'r losing business to the big companies. =========================== Yup. I too prefer those older & more experienced tyre mechs. Those younger guys might not b able to detect some problems cos they don't have much experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glendon Neutral Newbie December 25, 2006 Author Share December 25, 2006 Yup, pumping higher than recommended did make the ride more comfortable, but will it make the vehicle more difficult to handle (e.g. on wet surfaces)? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 25, 2006 Share December 25, 2006 But too hard wil make the ride very bumpy & poor grip especially in the wet. Steering will also b very light. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 hi guys jus check with you. these evening some nice guy on the road pointed out to my rear left flat tyre. drove to pump it up. tat was rd 7 pm. seems like it's looking ok now after i went to ion eat dinner and drove back. does stamford lok yang do tyre repair? me staying at jurong west. tyre is bout 3 yr old liao. any good tyre recommendation? assuming if i wanna change. thinking of something quiet but dun wear out too fast type. OPC car nia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Hi, My front tyres feel punctured even though I just pumped them a few hours ago (ok just after pumping). However, you can't tell just by looking it them. I just feel it when driving. It's like more draggy, and the noise of the road is much higher. Am I having a punctured tyre that is deflating slowly? Thx. Actually, i think u'r a bit paranoid? cos i doubt both front tyres will be punctured at the same time. IF only one of the front is punctured, u'll feel that the car will drift to one side (the punctured side due to higher roller resistance) and that is obvious enough to detect. Maybe its becos Lancer is underpowered with poor sound insulation? Anyway, to qualms all ur fears, u can always go to those old fashioned tyre shops and ask them help u check. They will simply dismount ur wheels and put them in water to check for leakage. Believe me they'r old ah peks but very very experienced. I went to the shops along Geylang road and had leakage detected n patched in just 10mins. Cost only 10dollars. Its sad that they'r losing business to the big companies. once i did try pour water onto the suspected leak region and can see very very small bubble. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cammys_MR 1st Gear August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 What tyre pressure do you use for a 1.6cc car with 15'" sport rim? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie August 27, 2010 Share August 27, 2010 Once had a nail edge in the inner side near the tyre wall. Cannot be seen by visual inspection by bending down. Tyre seems a little deflated compared to the rest and have to pump a bit of air every week. Went to tyre shop, took out tyre then can see the small nail. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear August 28, 2010 Share August 28, 2010 hi guys jus check with you. these evening some nice guy on the road pointed out to my rear left flat tyre. drove to pump it up. tat was rd 7 pm. seems like it's looking ok now after i went to ion eat dinner and drove back. does stamford lok yang do tyre repair? me staying at jurong west. tyre is bout 3 yr old liao. any good tyre recommendation? assuming if i wanna change. thinking of something quiet but dun wear out too fast type. OPC car nia. Check if Stamford still provide free puncture repairs for tire bought from them? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...