Vit4wd 1st Gear January 25, 2007 Share January 25, 2007 (edited) Can we mix fully synthetic engine oil? - Eg. Esso Ultraflow 5W40 with Shell Helix Ultra 10W40? Will this damage the engine? Edited January 25, 2007 by Vit4wd ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acaj Neutral Newbie January 26, 2007 Share January 26, 2007 why mix ? more power ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silhoutte Clutched January 26, 2007 Share January 26, 2007 I dont think that it will really damage the engine but not too good to mix as they are of different formula. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear January 26, 2007 Share January 26, 2007 My guess is depending...... some oil are ester based, and I read somewhere that they do not mix well with the 'normal' engine oil.... sludge may develope in the engine in case additive clash.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear January 26, 2007 Share January 26, 2007 If Mix....Servicing Period will Be 10K + 5K / 2 = 7.5K ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear January 26, 2007 Share January 26, 2007 My take is, if it's from the same brand but different viscosity, it's ok to mix. If it's different brand, no adviceable to mix more than 1/3 of different oil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aggroska Neutral Newbie January 26, 2007 Share January 26, 2007 Hi bros If currently i am using 5W40 for my ride, can i change it to 5w30 when i do my next engine oil change? Will there be problems if make the change as 5w30 is semi-synthetic whereas 5w40 is fully synthetic.. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear January 26, 2007 Share January 26, 2007 It depends on many factors e.g. age of car, condition of oil seals, etc I've read somewhere before that you can upgrade from mineral to semi-sync to fully syn, but not the other way round. But I believe there are people who did that before (including moi) but no serious problem with the engine after the switch. Its down to personal preference I believe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear January 26, 2007 Share January 26, 2007 If it's a oil change, no problem at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 26, 2007 Share January 26, 2007 I dont think that it will really damage the engine but not too good to mix as they are of different formula. Can mix. Both are synthetic oil. It's just that they are of different viscosity. They are lubricant to your engine parts so no harm done. I verified with a mechanic I know. He also said can mix. I had done it b4 too when the engine oil level in my car dropped. I was using 5W40 and I bought a 1L 0W30 o top-up. Not to worry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aggroska Neutral Newbie January 26, 2007 Share January 26, 2007 Hi bros Thanks for the clarifications as was thinking to change to 5W30 as it i heard it gives better fuel consumption rather than 5w40. Is this true or should i just stick to 5w40? Thankss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 26, 2007 Share January 26, 2007 If u really must use or change to "thinner" oil, my advise is increase the frequency of your oil change. I stick to the recommended grade. If u want to experiment, by all means go ahead just be sure what u'r doing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear January 27, 2007 Share January 27, 2007 I have been mixing for years now. Currently, my engine oil is a mix of 3 different syn brand, don't see any problem in that. Of course if possible, don't mix, use the same type. reply]Can we mix fully synthetic engine oil? - Eg. Esso Ultraflow 5W40 with Shell Helix Ultra 10W40? Will this damage the engine?[/reply] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evilernie 4th Gear January 28, 2007 Share January 28, 2007 Any recommendation on the for Engine Oil for a 1992 Civic? Heard of a brand called Redline Oil sound good any feedback? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siao_liao Neutral Newbie February 10, 2007 Share February 10, 2007 dun think haf any problem wif that.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wilb Clutched March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 Don think got much effect by mixing. Blending is a better choice, if u got your own fomula and quantity, i got some experience in Lubricant industry/additive part Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garunguni Neutral Newbie March 7, 2007 Share March 7, 2007 No concrete basis at all. Thin oil such as 20wt/30wt in fact is the recommended viscosity for Japanese and Korean makes nowadays. Its becoming a norm now to see thin oil being recommended in their manuals or bulletin boards. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trent892 Neutral Newbie March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 The temps they see over in their respective countries of manufacture means they can run thinner oil than in our climate. having said that, the thinner the oil the better the fuel consumption, all things being equal. but if you track better to get a slightly thicker grade of oil. i'm using Motul's 300 Chrono 10W-50. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...