Dipstick Neutral Newbie January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 After ERECTION, you had your FUN, time to pay right? Guys/Gals, in 4 years' time pls dont make the same silly mistake again. In 4 years time, PP will be given out again and once people see $$$ all their memories will be erased just like in MIB 2. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azarael Clutched January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 the cost of living is going up but i guess it is fair....instead of a tax based on engine capacity they should use the ERP to tax the ones who drive the most on our roads. but i doubt the gahmen will lower our road tax rates as a result.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 Hope someone will shot them at the ERP gantry near Braddell. I didn't see an improve of traffic. Well, maybe for the first few weeks after the implementation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 Yet another dose of medicine to take....... Dragon prince forgot to mention that this medicine is like small doses of cyanide. It is design to kill us slowly but surely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 Yeah surprised no body brought this up yet! Good luck to all the young punks who have been buying up all the new cars...now they will have even less savings and more debt! bro dun be surprise.. nowadays some young punks are earning big money, i have known some that r actually buying condos as their 1st hme and driving 2l cars... datz y there is a saying.. chang jiang ho lang tui qian lang... I think these young punks are willing to spend on luxury. However, need to see their bank account, one hand in the other hand out also poor fella. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 I say do away with COE and Road Tax, and increase the ERP to the max. This way, people who want to save $ over the long run will avoid the ERPs. I already have upfront savings of COE $12K and 10years raod tax $10K. I will think, wah, 1 day ERP $15, X 20 days = $300, 1 year = $3600. So if i want to maintain my savings, i will avoid ERP, I better find alternative way. Actually this is wat they wanna do, they feel tat driver here r not charge according to the amt of usage. What they hope to do is for every road u use, u will be charge, e.g go straight deduct 3 bucks, go left deduct 4 bucks and so on. If they will able to acheieve tat, COE can be scrape from the system, however this is a very idealistic thinking. I thinking if this way, i need to top up my cash card to a few thousands dollar for all the deduction i travelling around the island. Dun think will implement, future i dunno. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PointyEwe Clutched January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 Impending ARF reduction in the coming Feb Budget. Time to hold off your purchase... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 Really? No wonder seems like PIs trying to clear their exstock like that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newkid 2nd Gear January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 the last time ARF was reduced was in feb 04 for vehicles reg after Mar 04. If ARF going to be reduced again, does this mean that PI who have existing stock who paid the ARF of 20% of OMV will lose 20-X% of OMV? where X is the drop in ARF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Casey Neutral Newbie January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 (edited) Maybe its about time we think about conversion to CNG, melchers here i come Edited January 31, 2007 by Casey Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Safety_car Neutral Newbie January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 I hate to say this, but feel that I'll still have to say it... I guess S'poreans never learn... From past history, it is very clear that after elections, cost of things (living in general) goes up. And when this happen, people kpkb... But just before elections, the garment will give out some goodies, and people will say garmet is very good, look after people. This is where we have been tricked. Put it in your hand, and then take it away from your right hand. Not just that, but leave you scalded... If we don't learn, we will continue to be tricked, and tricked, and after many elections, people will still kpkb. Blame who? Ourselves lor... Anyway, just cut back on certain things to make up for the additional burden on car usage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vesfreq Neutral Newbie January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 Yeah surprised no body brought this up yet! Good luck to all the young punks who have been buying up all the new cars...now they will have even less savings and more debt! Young punks? Are you very well off? If you got money, must share share lah. Good things are meant to be shared. Come come, share your wealth and help "off set" those young punks' car running cost. Not just young punks, what about the older guys? I'm sure not only (some of the) young are guilty of overspending. The same goes for other age groups to some extent. Be fair with your statement. Stupidity and folly knowst no age and race. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mobilio Neutral Newbie January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 I say do away with COE and Road Tax, and increase the ERP to the max. This way, people who want to save $ over the long run will avoid the ERPs. I already have upfront savings of COE $12K and 10years raod tax $10K. I will think, wah, 1 day ERP $15, X 20 days = $300, 1 year = $3600. So if i want to maintain my savings, i will avoid ERP, I better find alternative way. Actually this is wat they wanna do, they feel tat driver here r not charge according to the amt of usage. What they hope to do is for every road u use, u will be charge, e.g go straight deduct 3 bucks, go left deduct 4 bucks and so on. If they will able to acheieve tat, COE can be scrape from the system, however this is a very idealistic thinking. I thinking if this way, i need to top up my cash card to a few thousands dollar for all the deduction i travelling around the island. Dun think will implement, future i dunno. Actually by the time comes which I believe is in the near future, the deduction would be from your bank account and not from the cash card anymore, plus, they would probably ask you to pledge your 'organ' to LTA just in case your account dries up, they still have your organ for sales to cover up your usage of road. You think our government never think far? They have plan for the disabled friendly walkway to MRT and disabled friendly bus way way in advanced. I guess they have already think of every corner to cover every aspect of our life. By the time comes, Public transport ridership goes up above planned and they will pat their own shoulder and said, get another pay hike for a Job well done. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mobilio Neutral Newbie January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 Expected one lah ...... They smart .... don't put the morning ERP on CTE to city too high ... so people still drive to office. Then increase parking charges in CBD. Then all they have to do is increase ERP on the CTE to AMK in the evening. I guess they may extend the timing ... so instead of 6pm-8pm, they change to 6pm-9pm or 6pm-10pm ..... I And eventually like the bus lane....Whole day ERP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mobilio Neutral Newbie January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 Impending ARF reduction in the coming Feb Budget. Time to hold off your purchase... So there is a loss of income by the government for the ?20% reduction in ARF. Get ready for the recovering of loss income through more ERP gantry, longer operating hour,higher charges, more tickets for traveling too slow or too fast, higher parking charges etc. just to balance the "sheet". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldpen Neutral Newbie January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 Yeah surprised no body brought this up yet! Good luck to all the young punks who have been buying up all the new cars...now they will have even less savings and more debt! Bro, I think you've just made an unfair sweeping statement about young people. You don't really know if the they are saving any lesser now do you? Less is a relative term. You'd also be surprise that those punks who took a loan and invest the rest of their money could end up much better off as compare to those who pays off their purchase in full. Its all subjective. But of course you are entitled to your own opinion, no matter... Young or old.. everybody will feel the pinch of this new implementation, what more with the GST. I just hope the young punks and old timer alike take away something from all this and make it count.. during the next poll.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vesfreq Neutral Newbie January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 (edited) Errmmm.... u replied to the wrong guy. Please check carefully leh. u humtum me for no rythm or reason. Want to fire, also aim right place. Edited January 31, 2007 by Vesfreq Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldpen Neutral Newbie January 31, 2007 Share January 31, 2007 hehe.. sorry bro... at night... bobo shooter liao... my apology... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...