Pisces69 6th Gear February 14, 2007 Share February 14, 2007 Just like rear passenger seat belt for e.g, they want to enforce on cars... because Europe, US, Australia, etc... already enforce it. However, they openly allow people to seat behind lorries, pickup without any restrain. No positive reason were given. I think this is very dangerous. When que on this, they plainly kept quiet... how else will SG drivers think and kept to its rear seat belt rules when TP half hearted effort and no power to stop people seating behind open trucks and pick-up. ========================= Maybe they sud make it compulsory for all those pple sitting at the back of pick-ups & lorries to wear a motorcycle crash helmet. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear February 14, 2007 Share February 14, 2007 Not too sure about Jap cars, as I understand that if you disable the fuse, the ABS warning light will come on and it is irritating...too disable it, you need either physically removing it or, remove the ECU on it and make the main ECU to read that the car do not have an ABS. Then the light will go away. It will, its not that irritating since it isnt too bright to me, but yeap it can be irritating to some ppl. The bulbs arent hard to remove if you find it irritating though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear February 14, 2007 Share February 14, 2007 The thing is water needs to be pumped out if its going to be under the tyre (e.g. when the wheel is rotating). In a skidding situation, water needs to be pushed away by the front so that water cant get underneath. This constant braking is similar to trail braking in which we brake and accelerate at the same time when entering a corner to shift the weight of the vehicle forward so that its harder to lose traction at the direction control wheels. The difference in this case is that the force at the front serves to make it harder for the water to push the wheels up. Now when the abs kicks in, it releases and tightens the brakes in a pulsing motion. This will cause the weight of the car to at least mometarily shift away from the front which may allow the water to get underneath. The more slippery the surface is, the more this applies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 got this from quite a few friends.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 Thanks for the idea. Did it by starting up and taking out the connections to the ABS and then shut off and start up again to let the ECU knows that there is no ABS....sounds like rebooting the PC after saying all these Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear February 15, 2007 Author Share February 15, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 Roughly 40km/hr or so.It's a raining day.And it's very heavy.Around the period of mid Dec.Another occasion is normal shiny day,also ski.Got a sound or rubber rubbing the ground,not like slowly slow down.The ABS light also didnt turn on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 maybe u need better tyres. between crap tires and ABS and decent tyres w/o abs, i'd take the better tyres anyday. I bet my car can outbrake a getz with stock tyres, wet or dry, even if it comes with ABS. (all other factors have been kept constant of course). However, while my braking distance will be shorter than the car with crap tyres, tt car will still be able to steer, while I have to ease up on the brake so that the tyres start rolling before i can steer again. but for the same set of tyres, ABS will be a bonus for me. just had an e-brake cos i missed a turn-off a few days back. i jammed brake and turned the wheel to steer to the corner. car went straight cos it was skidding. just before the corner, i released the brake and the car went in the correct direction. poor judgment on my part, yes . but i got to try this braking technique and now better understand how to react if i have to ebrake with obstacle in front of me. **disclaimer, no cars behind me at the time of this incident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 Simple solution to a small problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 just had an e-brake cos i missed a turn-off a few days back. i jammed brake and turned the wheel to steer to the corner. car went straight cos it was skidding. just before the corner, i released the brake and the car went in the correct direction. poor judgment on my part, yes . but i got to try this braking technique and now better understand how to react if i have to ebrake with obstacle in front of me. **disclaimer, no cars behind me at the time of this incident. ======================= Wah Your driving like in the movies hor. The technique we used b4 ABS was jam brake in a straight line & release brake just b4 we turn the steering to avoid the obstacle. All this is on dry road or if we still have a good grip on the road. If done on slippery road, u might lose control or go into a spin when u jam brake. It does take some getting used to if u gonna do it properly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 Thanks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 kumho tyres lousy?It is a stock tyre btw. another matrix i drove during wet weather is a falken tyres. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 ya i was doing just tt.. on dry road. if the road were wet i think i would have overshot (best case) or spun.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 stock tyres on hyundai seem to be lousy. mine was hankook centum. it's good for comfort and getting from point A to point B. nothing more. In wet weather also gotta be very cautious. however, no point giving performance tyres as stock, unless performance ride. normal drivers will prefer comfort tyre for quietness and FC enthusiastic drivers usually prefer to choose their performance tyres i guess.. so either way, avg tyre wud be the most sensible choice for the manufacturer to provide Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 oh i realised tt i did it differently. i turned the steering first before i release brake. either way the result is similar. just tt if u turn the steering first the car will react almost instantly the moment u release the brake.. ur way safer.. next time if go LCK after a rain then i might try if no traffic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 16, 2007 Share February 16, 2007 OK. Take care. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Riceracer Clutched February 16, 2007 Share February 16, 2007 I think it's necessary because most singaporeans have lousy driving skill. Some activated already already also dun know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear February 16, 2007 Author Share February 16, 2007 Lousy driving skills I doubt..... but some who dun know already activated... yah, that I agree. anyway, after all advice, it seems its 70 : 30 in favor of ABS.... So I took up advice took ABS equiped liao.... hai... I will miss those very challenging manual drive w/o Airbag and ABS..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...