ABS, is this a necessity?

Nothingtodo

I was dragging my 2nd gear at slightly above 3k rpm and my speed was within the 30-40km/h range too, similar to your speed. I am very very sure that I was only a metre or so from the taxi when I jammed hard on the brakes. I JUST missed the taxi by centimetres or even less. I was so close that I almost couldn't see the rear number plate of the taxi which was in the centre of its boot.

===============================

Don't mind letting me know what colour is your Lancer & if got any way to identify it easily from the front?

Next time I see u behind me in my mirror, I sure move aside to let u pass. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Also, a lil known statistical fact is that ppl with cars that have abs have a higher probability than someone who's car does not have abs to hit someone else rear. I don't know the reason for the latter though.

============================

Over-confidence?

ABS doesn't decrease braking distance. It just allows you to steer the car out of the hazard that's all. In fact in the dry, ABS increases the braking distance slightly, and in certain conditions like heavy snow, a car without ABS will just grind into the snow and stop while a car with ABS will continue to roll on and on into the car in front.

Do you take aquaplaning into consideration when you make the highlighted statement?

Actually abs does not help with aquaplanning. it makes it worse. Deceleration without braking is the quickest way to get grip back in aquaplanning situations.

ABS actually prevents aquaplaning during braking. The ABS prevents the wheel from locking up which is what happens when the tyre aquaplanes.

One of the main advantages of ABS is shorter braking distances on a wet or slippery road.

I have to admit I find ABS better. Problems with road surface at the end of my road and have to slow down to a complete stop due to visabiltiy.In a car with no ABS in rain/ ice or if the surface is otherwise slippy you skid straight out into the oncoming traffic. I have driven quite a few cars over the surface and the ones with ABS have never skidded. Is the better performance anything to do with ABS? Or just a difference in brakes/ other car mechanism?

====================

Most likely it's the ABS, but u will feel it in the brake pedal when it activates. The pedal wil shudder.

Don't b so modest lah. If u got coil-overs & what else, I think u also like to chiong. [sly]

BTW, U still never tell me how to recognise your car so I can move aside to let u pass? [sweatdrop][sly]

I wasn't pushing the taxi leh. The taxi reached the stop line a distance before me and traffic was clear. Expected him to be turning out so i turned my head to check for oncoming traffic. Just nice a car was just turning in from another junction about 20m away. When I turned back the taxi was still at the stop line and by tt time his ass was rite in front of me. Dunno why he didn't exit when he had the chance. Then e-brake lor.

Edited by Icekitten

Drove over the last 2 decades without ABS. And has disabled my ABS for over 1 year now, always find it a little in the way of driving...guess it is the way you drive.

ABS doesn't decrease braking distance. It just allows you to steer the car out of the hazard that's all. In fact in the dry, ABS increases the braking distance slightly, and in certain conditions like heavy snow, a car without ABS will just grind into the snow and stop while a car with ABS will continue to roll on and on into the car in front.

Do you take aquaplaning into consideration when you make the highlighted statement?

Actually abs does not help with aquaplanning. it makes it worse. Deceleration without braking is the quickest way to get grip back in aquaplanning situations.

ABS actually prevents aquaplaning during braking. The ABS prevents the wheel from locking up which is what happens when the tyre aquaplanes.

One of the main advantages of ABS is shorter braking distances on a wet or slippery road.

Contrary to this believe, ABS actually increase the braking distance in slippery surface...

Reference: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anti-lock_braking_system

Quote..."

In gravel and deep snow, ABS tends to increase braking distances. On these surfaces, locked wheels dig in and stop the vehicle more quickly. ABS prevents this from occurring. Some ABS calibrations reduce this problem by slowing the cycling time, thus letting the wheels repeatedly briefly lock and unlock. The primary benefit of ABS on such surfaces is to increase the ability of the driver to maintain control of the car rather than go into a skid

Edited by Octopus

Depends on the distance and ability to steer off the pave instead of an impact.

ABS help in a certain whereby it prevent locking.

My question was more towards the statement on snow which is not applicable in local climate but rain is more prevalent .

I rather u go for a car with ABS.

Not much people know how to do candence braking when it comes to avoiding accidents.

My frd just got into an accident last night with a Mondeo. His COE corolla does not come with ABS and the wheels got locked when he jammed brakes. End up his corolla surged forward and hit the Mondeo. Luckily, no injuries sustained to either party.

But could be that the COE corolla brake system need maintenance, hence couldn't stop in time?

Reference: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anti-lock_braking_system

Quote" ...Vehicles equipped with braking systems without ABS have been shown to outbrake vehicles equipped with ABS. For example, the British car magazines "Evo" and "Autocar" conduct periodic tests of sports cars and compares their ability to accelerate from a standing start to 100mph and then brake to a stop

Aquaplanning is not locking up. Aquaplanning is when the tyres can't "pump" enough water out from under it and "floats".

Scenario 1: You're driving the car hits a patch of water, aquaplans and you slam on the brakes = ABS or no ABS your car is going to slide a lil as the force is at the back and its going on and off.

Scenario 2: You're braking and the car hits a patch of water. The ABS kicks in and the weight distribution shifts a lil more to the rear causing the front of the car to aquaplan but when it increases the braking force it doesnt do squat coz the car has no grip at the front anymore plus the pulsing at the rear causes the rear to slide a lil

Now add those scenarios to taking a corner and you're gonna be in real trouble.