ABS, is this a necessity?

Nothingtodo

I hv heard of some car owners that says they hv nvr activated their ABS in their lifetime of driving b4. Some says its only for drivers who feels insecure in wet weathers. Some activated theirs once b4 and says after that hv to go for chks.... is this true?

So I am anticipating whether to just go 4 a car without ABS.

Any Bro/Sis here have activated his/her ABS b4? Do you think this is necessary features for me who is self-proclaim safe driver who don't speed and don't tailgate?

The car w/o ABS is a manual car... [gossip]

I tried both ABS and non ABS car in those wet roads and wet car parks (slippery roads) before already. Outside roads I jammed brakes at 60KM/H, ABS and no ABS differences is quite minimal, unless at much higher speeds. Carpark slippery roads really does make a very much difference. Even at 30km/h the braking distance can shock you. [thumbsup]

Conclusion: Its always good to have one. [thumbsup]

1. It should be a standard safety feature found in most new cars these days. In SG, an agent usually brought in cars w/o ABS to save on cost. In other countries, cars without ABS is unheard of due to strict safety regulations imposed by their authorities.

2. The decision is perfectly yours since our Govt doesn't insist on ABS.

Regards,

Yes. It's definitely necessary.

3 times I had to e-brake to a complete stop and could hear ABS activated.

All 3 times I wasn't tailgating.

And all 3 times, taxi drivers caused it. [:|]

One just happened last night. I must have missed his rear by mere centimetres or even lesser coz I was so near that I almost couldn't see his rear number plate. [sweatdrop] My shoulder and neck are still aching from the hard braking.

Btw, my car is only slightly more than 1 yr old. Those who have never activated ABS in their lifetime before must be super super slow drivers so that ABS doesn't get a chance to activate at all. And before you say I'm a reckless driver, all 3 times I was at 40km/h or less.

Edited by Icekitten

Your friends very funny leh....

Airbags also seldom get deployed too mah...

All this passive safety features are there for a purposes.....just hope that you dun have to use them.

Yes, it definately help especially in unpredictable situations.

If you have to pay extra, then taking into consideration your driving style, I think U can live w/o it. If it does'nt cause you extra $, go for it.

yrs manual or auto?

Some write up mentioned about ABS not required in Manual cars. I asked because mine current is manual and 15yrs old, no ABS or SRS.

I hv nvr experience the situation you mentioned before. Got once, riding along AYE, was raining, I jam brakes and there was no problem coming to standstill... I was at gear 3 at 40km/hr. Think i came to stand still in less than 8mtrs (thereabouts). So my perception was same as those write up....

so you are saying the ABS can help shorten distance of breaking also if I am going at 30km at carpark?

my driving instructor G9 Corolla.. i go for Traffic Police Test, 20kmh (2nd Gear) in Circuit.. did the E-brake.. the abs also activated..

the brake when ---> Dak dak dak dak dak dak... [:)]

Hmm.. Does braking affect the transmission? I'm not entirely sure and logically, brakes dun affect transmission ba? Anyway, activated ABS must go workshop one meh?

Yes. It's definitely necessary.

3 times I had to e-brake to a complete stop and could hear ABS activated.

All 3 times I wasn't tailgating.

And all 3 times, taxi drivers caused it. [:|]

One just happened last night. I must have missed his rear by mere centimetres or even lesser coz I was so near that I almost couldn't see his rear number plate. [sweatdrop] My shoulder and neck are still aching from the hard braking.

Btw, my car is only slightly more than 1 yr old. Those who have never activated ABS in their lifetime before must be super super slow drivers so that ABS doesn't get a chance to activate at all. And before you say I'm a reckless driver, all 3 times I was at 40km/h or less.

sis..dun tailgate... [sly]

To me, yes.

Activated ABS so one too many occasions already, not because i'm a cxxk driver and cannot anticipate, but neither am i a physic and predict the future. [:p]

So i rather have ABS when the sxxt hits the fan. [:)]

Edited by Dahawk