What really causes Wheel Spin ???

Hoshi8

hi all...encountered this in my friend's swift sport yesterday..slight drizzling..stopping at traffic light...want to test new mods....Rev rev abit....try to move off....at ard 2.5rpm...wheel spin like siao ting tong.....engine jerk....then slowly pickup instead...lose to SBS bus at left lane...MALU BIG TIME....

can anyone tell me what really causes wheel spins??? is it that the torque too much for the car???? alloy wheels too light??? tyres are crappy??? car too light??? any help is appreciated...

two things TORQUE Vs TRACTION

either 1. Traction CMI - Cheap tires

2. Super powerful torque

For an AWD like the WRX ...super good distribution of crank to wheels so ... sui sui ...no such problem ... but many with cheap tires think they have good torque

but tyres are new cos...car is only 1 month old!!!.....lousy tyres perhaps.... told him not to get that liao...firenza ST03....same tyres like mine...wet condition..the grip like crap... [thumbsdown] must change tyres at 15k....

but we tried this many times....never once got wheel spin...only this time ...after he put sprint booster and CAI and change to lighter rims all at one go...then try got problem...

bro, better not try revving so much on rainy weather especially if u r on ST03,

this tire is super unpredictable on wet, dun want to end up on the side walk rite?

Wow...Ssport can do wheel spin hur?

This is very good. I am targeting this car also. Seems like its very powerful and exciting to drive.

No wonder I see so many yellow ones on the road.

what really cause the wheel to spin. i think its the engine.

happpy driving man. no malu lah. road is like that, u overtake ppl and ppl overtake u. drive safely.

DOES those traction control systems help to limit wheelspin?

Yes it does, we had two experiences when going down a slippery ram on a wet day, the DSC (Dynamic Stability Control) took over the control and minimised wheelspin. Can hear the, tak, tak, tak sound from underneath our BMW.

finally see some interesting topic liao....it does attract abit of interest esp. in these topic....

answer is simple...traction/bhp/torque...+weight of car....any car also can do wheelspin...even van...but these are actually wasted power...for real performance car and as for amateur, it's more like carelessness of dumping clutch; however, even auto car CAN wheelspin due to high rev....

logic is simple, it's like potiential energy stored and then sudden release of the cltuch causing it to create an extreme force to push it out....weight and tires also play a part...if the tires is slick, it will be able to transfer the energy into movement, which is why race car like slick tires....for the weight, it's relative as well to the tires...if the weight of the car is so bloody heavy, how is it able to move compare to a small car.....tada.....

Bro, thats a very good explanation about wheel spins. I usually dont even bother to explain as sometime people argue about Physics saying that they are right and Physics is wrong. Great job bro! [thumbsup]

wah, really long time no speak liao leh....wheel hopping...hahaha, this will only happen on FF car....basically car too much BHP and torque liao....transmission is swee swee to the ground with slick tires but due to its FF design nature bobian lor....got to hop like frog liao...after that, smoke everybody out...... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop] this scenario happen b4....but that was long ago liao...i miss my white angel.....i suppose your car is hopping liao rite....1-2-3-4??? i'm good, how r u? long time no see leh....

because i always looking for something new...as a matter of fact...there are more than this....just never put it in...maybe i should hor...

but tyres are new cos...car is only 1 month old!!!.....lousy tyres perhaps.... told him not to get that liao...firenza ST03....same tyres like mine...wet condition..the grip like crap... [thumbsdown] must change tyres at 15k....

but we tried this many times....never once got wheel spin...only this time ...after he put sprint booster and CAI and change to lighter rims all at one go...then try got problem...

bro, better not try revving so much on rainy weather especially if u r on ST03,

this tire is super unpredictable on wet, dun want to end up on the side walk rite?

but i drive my mazda6....semi auto mode on raining days....revv to 6k prm on 1st and 2nd gear also no wheel spin...maybe my car too heavy and torque is crap...haha...we using the same size rims and same tyres...and his car is not really fast also what....

Most light cars can do this on wet roads, especially the way the clutch was released. No surprise lah. Especially front wheel drives, due to wheel doing pulling effort instead of pushing.

Could also be due to the tyres still very new, tyre surface not fully opened to the tarmac yet. Ask yr friend to go for a light spin on a dry day and swirve left right on tarmac road for a few minutes, while going abt 40~50km/hr (just like what F1 is doing b4 race). Ay, watch out c got TP or fellow road user ok... or choose deserted Tarmac road to do this [idea] The traction should improve [rolleyes] but don't blame me if life of tyre shorten ok [idea]

I believe yr friend tyres are for general purposes (both Wet and Dry type). He can try using wet tyres (for wet weather to be exact) if he wants, but in SG road, don't bother lah [angel]

i think the tyres were on the road markings when you try to practise launching , they have little grip when wet . when you move out of the markings into the tarmac, tyre now can grip the road now , rpm drop .