Boyboy 1st Gear March 4, 2007 Share March 4, 2007 I drive a getz 1.1, last time drive kangoo 1.9 (non-turbo). driven wheels are shod with 195mm bridgestone GIII and 175mm GR-80 tyres respectively.. on wet roads, quite easy to get wheelspin when launching, especially if dump the clutch too fast under high rev. even with the getz, sometimes the tires will chirp even in the dry. but of course there's simply no power to wheelspin la if u wanna launch in the wet, best to let the car clutch in FIRST, THEN u step on the gas. change up at lower RPM. Don't expect to be as fast as in the dry.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 4, 2007 Share March 4, 2007 road markings no need to say, but even good tyres can slip on wet road. the threadstarter was referring to swift sport if i remember correctly. that car confirm will break traction if anyhow whack . no need SS, even, normal swift, altis or camry also can. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear March 8, 2007 Share March 8, 2007 tried wheelspin with a lorry before.. very very frequent.. basically is rear too light, tyres going botak, clutch release too fast.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luv_presea 1st Gear March 10, 2007 Share March 10, 2007 semi auto also wont wheel spin no matter how hard u step.. cos there's no clutch.. the only way to do a wheelspin on an auto transmission car, is to put the gear to 'N', rev to 3-4k rpm, den push the gear to 'D' comfirm wheel spin.. but my advice is, dun do it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoshi8 1st Gear March 10, 2007 Author Share March 10, 2007 should do it when i am about to change my tyres...wouldnt want to wear out my tyres so soon...and must scout the right stretch of road to try...if not wait cause accident...heehee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holysniper Neutral Newbie March 10, 2007 Share March 10, 2007 auto tranny dun bother doing.. ur gearbox will up lorry very fast.. to wheelspin basically just rev to >5k rpm at standstill with clutch in and gear 1 engaged and then dump the clutch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoshi8 1st Gear March 10, 2007 Author Share March 10, 2007 will dragging my car cause my auto transmission to die faster??? should i go change the ATF cooler...or change to a bigger one...i nowadays like to rev like a monkey when i am first on traffic light....in a safe way lah....but afraid wait my engine go kaboom... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Godibado Neutral Newbie March 10, 2007 Share March 10, 2007 careful.. your clutch might prematurely wear out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E36UDM Neutral Newbie March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 wah, really long time no speak liao leh....wheel hopping...hahaha, this will only happen on FF car....basically car too much BHP and torque liao....transmission is swee swee to the ground with slick tires but due to its FF design nature bobian lor....got to hop like frog liao...after that, smoke everybody out...... this scenario happen b4....but that was long ago liao...i miss my white angel.....i suppose your car is hopping liao rite....1-2-3-4??? i'm good, how r u? long time no see leh.... Well solved my wheel hopping but I'm still losing traction on 1st 2 gears.... ask Mr Ngo hahaha.... Do catch up before I demod my car hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chromas 1st Gear March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 Wheel spin occurs when the amount of force being transferred by the engine to the wheel and finally for the wheel onto the ground exceeds the frictional force of the wheel with the ground. Contribution to wheel spin:- - Horsepower of the car (mainly for the ability to maintain the wheel spin) - Tire condition (super new tires with their shiny coats also can wheel spin) - Ground condition (wet / oily / sandy / etc.) - Weight of the car (lighter = easier to spin) - Camber (if off from neutral by too much = easier to spin on start, but good for cornering) - Vector direction of wheels that are spinning (greater angle vs. intended direction = greater wheel spin) This especially true for manual cars where you can rev the car close to red line and then pop the clutch, thus inducing a sudden surge in torque at the wheels, thus leading to wheel spin. For me, my car is set up to wheel spin the rear wheels with sheer ease. But with that, it also means that I have to set up the car such that it can be controlled when it starts to wheel spin, thus causing a proper drift to occur. My rear is lightened up already, given that the rear seats are taken out already. My rims are semi-forged pieces and very light in weight too. But my tire profile is a bit on the wide side with 245/40/17 in the rear. My camber is set to -1.5 deg to aid both traction as well as wheel spin. So you can imagine the fun I have in the rain when my rear wheels start to spin with sheer ease at maybe 2,750 rpms at a u-turn where all the traffic has stopped and my lane is the only one making turns Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 (edited) hi all...encountered this in my friend's swift sport yesterday..slight drizzling..stopping at traffic light...want to test new mods....Rev rev abit....try to move off....at ard 2.5rpm...wheel spin like siao ting tong.....engine jerk....then slowly pickup instead...lose to SBS bus at left lane...MALU BIG TIME.... can anyone tell me what really causes wheel spins??? is it that the torque too much for the car???? alloy wheels too light??? tyres are crappy??? car too light??? any help is appreciated... Torque output has overcome the traction limit of the tyres. Very common on rainy days. If his car can smoke his tyres on a dry road, then he has a monster. There can never be too much torque, haha... My stock Rio 1.4L manual, experienced on-the-dry mild wheelspin (lose of traction with sound but no smoke effect yet) not becos i'm havin a powerful car but coz i'm on Aspec DB Edited March 17, 2007 by Rickster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness3006 Neutral Newbie March 18, 2007 Share March 18, 2007 Guess you just demonstrated a "throw clutch". Which mean rev too high and release clutch too sudden. Feeling is shiok but must maintain control to prevent car jerk. Then you are with the party now! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaka23 3rd Gear March 18, 2007 Share March 18, 2007 there was once in the night where I saw either an audi or some european car burning his tyre at the traffic light leaving a long stretch of tyre mark. does this mean he as a monster car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imamiah Clutched March 18, 2007 Share March 18, 2007 to summarise all tech jargon on y wheel spin... poor launch technique. practice to 'catch' the technique all e best! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear March 18, 2007 Share March 18, 2007 Guru what about wheel hopping? How ah? hahaha... long time no see n speak wah bro where have u been Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear March 18, 2007 Share March 18, 2007 wah lao jiao is back Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrericlee Neutral Newbie March 19, 2007 Share March 19, 2007 Driver too skinny. Need to put on some weight.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Usbobby Neutral Newbie March 21, 2007 Share March 21, 2007 lol..might as well put some dumbells inside your car. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...