Vit4wd 1st Gear March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 Well said!!! But car distributors are painting a different picture, using scare tactics to pressure people to commit now, before GST increase. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caaa Clutched March 11, 2007 Author Share March 11, 2007 On the GST part, this is what I was told: GST for AD to pay during import is different from when end user buy, thus the GST u work out is indeed the amount that AD pay but when end user buy, they would have to pay a different amount of GST (which is higher) base on different sets of figure....... (which include not just the car cost but also others). However, the overall figure with the 2% increase is not as big as some SE claim For those who in accounting (especially those who deal with GST intheir company) would probably know what it is all about..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 127,021 COEs available for May 2007 to April 2008, compared with 139,647 the previous year Absolutely good news man , and experts predict COE might rise up to $18k to $20k our existing cars will be valued up, and forget about to change car liao in comming 2 to 3 years Yay Lets do the dance! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 hehe, then that is car buyers problem if they believe what the car distributors said loh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 Huh, Why got diferent set of figures, is it like 2% increase for a bowl of noddle which cost $3.5 $0.07, but very hard to calculate, let's make the increase to be $0.50 so that the noodle now cost $4 Hehe, just one illustration lah. Maybe they pay slightly more than what stated in LTA website, but I would said it is definitely not on entire car price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caaa Clutched March 11, 2007 Author Share March 11, 2007 (edited) From your example of noodle: Your work out base on LTA info is the GST "cost" pay to the supplier; the concern by car buyer on GST cost/differnce is how much when the noodle is "sold"...... When GST increase, the 2% additional payable is not on the "cost" (of the seller) but a figure within the selling pricing, in the case of car, yes u r right to said is NOT base on the entire car price but base on some "component". In another word, the GSt that you need to pay to a company for their product is not the same as the GST of that company pay during the import or thier supplier..... hope this is clear Edited March 11, 2007 by Caaa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithpapa Neutral Newbie March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liping24 Neutral Newbie March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 Oh...I remembered some minister mentioned that he will try to make car affordable and give many Singaporean the ability to own their car dream. And also the car population will be shifted to road usage based charging. Suddenly now the rule changed again, 3% growth not sustainable. ERP not working. Road still jammed. Deep down, I am confused. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 You see,last time it was brought up to make 7 out of 10 family at least could afford or own a car. But now...car so cheap,1 family can own 2 to 3 cars leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ninervictor Neutral Newbie March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 that time election mah haha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boxster 2nd Gear March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 Hi, From LTA website: http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...e/car_cost.html Under GST: Goods & Services Tax (GST) GST is approximately 5% (with effect from 1 Jan 2004) of the Custom Duty and OMV. So take a car with $15K OMV, the increase of car price due to increase of GST by 2% will be =$15K x 1.2 (Custome Duty is 20% of OMV) x 0.02 (increase of GST by 2%) = $360. Is $360 a lot compare to COE price or to the entire car price?? GST is never apply to the entire car price ! I believe that your sums is not entirely complete. If I I buy $1000 worth of goods from overseas, I have to pay $50 gst at port. Now I've spent $1050 I want to sell my goods at $1500 and I am a gst registered company. My buyer must pay me $1575 ($1500*1.05). I have to return the $25 gst collected. For cars I understand ARF and COE are not subjected to gst. therefore CAR price (with coe)= COE + ARF + OMV + Markup(profit) So since ARF & COE no gst, (OMV +GST of OMV+ markup )*1.05. So let's say I want to make a profit of $4000 for this car which has a OMV of $20000 (20000*1.05+4000)*1.05 =25250 (gst 5%) (20000*1.07+4000)*1.07 =27178 (gst 7%) Almost 2k diff. But most of the time the SE say this car eg. $58K you sign you buy. It is not transparent as this is business. They may markup eg 4K per car b4 july or 3.5k after july to get more buyers depends on market conditions ,other dealers and other factors You as buyer can only say last time $58 k didn't but now $60k or last tome $58K now $56K heng ah!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 wah, Your example very complicated leh Can GST be applied on top of GST? Everytime change hand can charge one more time GST? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear March 12, 2007 Share March 12, 2007 nothing is casted in stone.. when they need a bigger mid year bonus or year end bonus, they will b more then ready to cook up another excuse that public demand require more xxx to b released. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clazio71 Neutral Newbie March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 Need to control the number of cars on the roads before traffic conditions turn from bad to worse!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear March 15, 2007 Share March 15, 2007 it's already quite worse now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear March 15, 2007 Share March 15, 2007 once KPE is ready, hopefully the condition will be better ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...