Dwoon 1st Gear March 21, 2007 Share March 21, 2007 Cannot see clearly whether TP or ROV leh..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alant 1st Gear March 21, 2007 Share March 21, 2007 Ok.....here comes the question I have always want to ask. Is modification in itself illegal, or driving a illegal modified vehicel on public road illegal? Is parking a car with illegal modification in HDB/public carpark illegal? Of coruse I learn from my brother who served in the army "its only illegal when you get caught". But I don't want to go along this line of argument, since this is very much true too. What I want to know is when can the authorities procercute you for illegal mods, at what stage and scenario. I see so many modified cars at Ubi and Alexandra workshop, all with licence plate, but I think they use the car for racing in Malaysia. I mean if the ROV/LTA were to go there, they will hit jackpot!! But I beileve there is some technical argument that LTA/ROV do not summon those car workshops.... ROV won't go there to catch as the car owner can give reasons like they are de-modding and not installing any illegal stuff. ROV have to catch them when on the road...not at workshop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dfx16 6th Gear March 21, 2007 Author Share March 21, 2007 Hmm.. Maybe i should walk infront of his bike to photo shoot his number plate to show u huh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gilgamesh Neutral Newbie March 21, 2007 Share March 21, 2007 I suspect the owner might have made his oredi LOUD car even louder. Cos some idiots just like to hao-lian....inside neighbourhood liao still want to rev the engine. Scare nobody know he is around. I see so many of these typical drivers liao. O-be-good TP waiting for him. I got one loud bassy EVO 9 in my place that will set off a few sensitive car alarms without fail when it drive past these cars parked in the MSCP. I think the owner kena complained or paiseh and park his car at the loading/ unloading bay outside of the MSCP most of the time. There is another loud bassy Harley Davidson that is doing the same damage also but this biker is more bo-chap and keeps setting off a few alarms every night... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 21, 2007 Share March 21, 2007 There is another loud bassy Harley Davidson that is doing the same damage also but this biker is more bo-chap and keeps setting off a few alarms every night. He bo chap cos his loud bassy Harley note is trademark,complain oso no use Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear March 21, 2007 Share March 21, 2007 performance bonus coming mah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acrs Neutral Newbie March 21, 2007 Share March 21, 2007 Ok.....here comes the question I have always want to ask. Is modification in itself illegal, or driving a illegal modified vehicel on public road illegal? Is parking a car with illegal modification in HDB/public carpark illegal? Of coruse I learn from my brother who served in the army "its only illegal when you get caught". But I don't want to go along this line of argument, since this is very much true too. What I want to know is when can the authorities procercute you for illegal mods, at what stage and scenario. I see so many modified cars at Ubi and Alexandra workshop, all with licence plate, but I think they use the car for racing in Malaysia. I mean if the ROV/LTA were to go there, they will hit jackpot!! But I beileve there is some technical argument that LTA/ROV do not summon those car workshops.... Illegal or not got to depends on what have you done to your ride. For more information on whether what modification is legal or illegal, you can go to LTA website to check. Ofcourse if your had an illegal modification to your car, then driving it on the road is consider illegal. I guess even if parking in HDB carpark might also be included (just my opinion) unless your vehicle is parked in your own house "landed property". Then one might say, "the vehicle is not park on the public road, so i can do what i want with it" . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imuya Clutched March 21, 2007 Share March 21, 2007 The lesson to learn here is: If you wanna mod illegally, be humble. Especially in your own MSCP. If you drive recklessly or show inconsiderate behaviour(blowing your loud exhaust) to the residents. Be prepared to get sabo-ed/complained. And ROV will pay you a visit. But of cos, even you're the most humble and well-mannered driver, you still can't stop green eye monsters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tmdarren Neutral Newbie March 21, 2007 Share March 21, 2007 seriously is waiting for the driver the most efficient way? the government is wasting money on such people with such actions. the ROV is waiting for the driver and at the same time eating some snakes, though to me standing down there is very boring and i may just dozed off. what if the driver saw the rov there and didnt want to go back to his car? the rov jus cont. waiting? sighs.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sctl Neutral Newbie March 21, 2007 Share March 21, 2007 Maybe kana complaint by neighbourhood resident? Let me guess.. Bukit Panjang near Fajar? Saw this ROV on my way to work around 7.45am this morning. Was wondering why in the world would a ROV be inside a housing estate at this time. He was at the stop line in the opposite direction, kept on staring at my ride across the junction. Thank god when the light turned green he took a left and I turned left in the opposite direction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched March 21, 2007 Share March 21, 2007 The ROV so kuku...wait there in full view. Of course the owner won't come down and drive his car lar... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched March 21, 2007 Share March 21, 2007 No choice, coz if kanna complained, they are only aiming that car. If issue inspection letter, no-brainer that the owner will dekit before going in rite? So only thing is wait and catch him red-handed lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Getzoooom Neutral Newbie March 21, 2007 Share March 21, 2007 (edited) u staying there? I staying there too. this morning I saw this ROV rode his bike in at 0729h and roamed ard the carpark... was wondering what is he looking for... now I know... Edited March 21, 2007 by Getzoooom Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clazio71 Neutral Newbie March 21, 2007 Share March 21, 2007 Wah lew... ROV so desperate to catch illegal mods' cars ah... I think the garment must have come up with some commission program for them... The more they catch and the more fines they clock for the garment, the more performance bonus they get. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dfx16 6th Gear March 21, 2007 Author Share March 21, 2007 (edited) Yep around the corner.. BTW this happened @ Hougang carpark.. My guess the Rex owner might have kana complaint by neighbourhood resident.. Coz there's a garang Honda SIR around the corner.. But the ROV cant be bother looking at it also.. Edited March 21, 2007 by Dfx16 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The01 Neutral Newbie March 21, 2007 Share March 21, 2007 Are you sure it is about illegal mod.? Or could it be concerning with other matter? Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dfx16 6th Gear March 21, 2007 Author Share March 21, 2007 I cant assure that but at the point of time when i saw 1st thing that rush into my mind was Illegal mod.. Coz why not the ROV so interest in that ride if it arent? If hit and run case or etc The case should be handed by police Pls correct me if u think i'm wrong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullbig Clutched March 21, 2007 Share March 21, 2007 (edited) Ok.....here comes the question I have always want to ask. Is modification in itself illegal, or driving a illegal modified vehicel on public road illegal? Is parking a car with illegal modification in HDB/public carpark illegal? Of coruse I learn from my brother who served in the army "its only illegal when you get caught". But I don't want to go along this line of argument, since this is very much true too. What I want to know is when can the authorities procercute you for illegal mods, at what stage and scenario. I see so many modified cars at Ubi and Alexandra workshop, all with licence plate, but I think they use the car for racing in Malaysia. I mean if the ROV/LTA were to go there, they will hit jackpot!! But I beileve there is some technical argument that LTA/ROV do not summon those car workshops.... I think modifications are legal, less those that tamper too much into the performance of the car's original specifications... And having said that, I also think that its not true that it is illegal only when you get caught...its more like 'when will you get caught' once you had the illegal mod.. I always believe that if ROV wants to stem out such mods once and for all, they should just ban the imports of those products, or even heavily fine those workshops... If they are not imposing such fines, then the reason should be they want to keep the fines rolling in..... Edited March 21, 2007 by Nullbig ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...