Fivegear Clutched April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 Read an article on Today saying motorists especially taxi drivers flouted the red markings rulings on day one of implementation. As always, instead of solving problems now they create another problem for taxi drivers. From now, be careful when driving behind taxis, they may stop suddenly in the middle of road to pick up or alight passengers. Welcome to Singapore World Class Transport System. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prelude Neutral Newbie April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 Bro i love the way u end ur post Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaka23 3rd Gear April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 What is the new rule about? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fivegear Clutched April 3, 2007 Author Share April 3, 2007 Wah Lau eh? Do you own a car huh? Because if you do, you should have received a document from LTA about this ruling to get off the bus lanes at certain times of the day. Imagine the cost they have to incur to send out such documents to all drivers in Singapore. Not to forget the fee they have to pay for contractors to decorate some of our roads with red markings lor. Obviously, LTA failed in this aspect leh. Why u don't know? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 Maybe he's one of those taxi drivers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 Not say we don't know. Some of the bus lane markings are downright ridiculous. Like yesterday I was exiting from Kramat Road to Orchard Road, to get back on the CTE. The bus lane is almost empty, there are vehicles behind me, if I don't turn into the bus lane I'm probably going to get horned at. Problem is, after turning into the bus lane, the broken lines last for less than 5 metres, and signalling right has no use, no one willing to let me into the next lane. And in less than 20 metres, I was going to turn left again. If there was an enforcement officer there, I would have my photo taken. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fivegear Clutched April 3, 2007 Author Share April 3, 2007 Ha ha...that's a good one man. Anyway, I got a feeling the reputation of the person who approved this implementation is at stake. Die die this thing must work. There is simply no room for failures. Even if bus travel times improve my only 1%, that's considered an improvement. Going forward, we will surely hear from news or papers how they going to deal with such bo chap drivers soon. May ways to skin the cat. And don't forget, Singapore is a fine city. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 So the Passenger.......Cannot Take Cab....Near Bus Stop...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 some more the article got photo of a taxi half in the bus lane .... with the number plate clearly shown. u think the taxi driver will kena fine by lta ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fivegear Clutched April 3, 2007 Author Share April 3, 2007 Of course cannot lah. Not even on raining days hor. Make sure you either walk to the dotted lanes before trying to catch taxis hor. Anyway, taxi companies have been 'instructed' to advise our taxi uncles to coorperate lor. Othewise, you know lah, they will publish which taxi operators not meet the standards and get more fine lor. Hey, what's new man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 The story goes.... bus improve 1 % , car "deprove" 20%. After sometime, some skolar from LTA, after spending 4 years (& thousands of tax payer $$$) in Havoc university implement something else to improve the car by 10% at the expense of 0.5% of the bus....... well, for the contribution made, the skolar was promoted and given tesk to spearhead the future world class transportation systm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaka23 3rd Gear April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 Wah Lau eh? Do you own a car huh? Because if you do, you should have received a document from LTA about this ruling to get off the bus lanes at certain times of the day. Imagine the cost they have to incur to send out such documents to all drivers in Singapore. Not to forget the fee they have to pay for contractors to decorate some of our roads with red markings lor. Obviously, LTA failed in this aspect leh. Why u don't know? Uh cause Im registered to a HDB address while I live in Serangoon Gardens. So any letter mailed to me will be collected by my parents when they make weekly trips down to collect those letters. Are those red markings seen along Orchard Road? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 Taxi Driver.........Need Suffer More .........Too Bad...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 I agree with you. Waiting for accident to happen before they wake up their fooking idea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fivegear Clutched April 3, 2007 Author Share April 3, 2007 Not just Orchard but quite a number of places within the Restricted zone area. Red or yellow don't risk it lah. Why be one of the pioneer to get summon? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 (edited) They want a "world class public transport" blah blah blah... Willing to make it happen no matter what. So we road users suffer loh. Obviously the extra charging ERP in Orchard Road is a major failure. If it's a success why is there a need to implement the red markings for buses?? It'll be tough on the cabbies who drive tourists around that area. Why is it that every time when govt wants to implement some kind of rule have to involve $$$ as a penalty or some kind of punishment. We are educated ppl not hooligans but we're kind of stubborn lah. Edited April 3, 2007 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaka23 3rd Gear April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 So do red markings means heavier fines? or can we drop people off along red markings.? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fivegear Clutched April 3, 2007 Author Share April 3, 2007 Tourists will be amazed by our policies here. Extra charging ERP in Orchard Road??? This i am still waiting for the Retailers Body to lodge feedbacks to LTA soon. Especially, when the next economy downturn comes. People will avoid Orchard Belt that is protected by ERP. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...