Fivegear Clutched April 3, 2007 Author Share April 3, 2007 Hmmm....another failure of LTA as evident from your question here. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 I think.....Cannot also.......Get Prepare to Pay Fine $130.00...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 U cannot enter the red markings period. Not even to drop your legs-weakened grandmother. Heavier fines or not still fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 Ha ha...that's a good one man. Anyway, I got a feeling the reputation of the person who approved this implementation is at stake. Die die this thing must work. There is simply no room for failures. Even if bus travel times improve my only 1%, that's considered an improvement. Going forward, we will surely hear from news or papers how they going to deal with such bo chap drivers soon. May ways to skin the cat. And don't forget, Singapore is a fine city. The reputation of this fella will not be tarnished. (Elite mah) "It is a honest mistake" and all the blah blah blah . . . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaka23 3rd Gear April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 HAHAHAHAHA what a screwed up policy. Next time P plated cars would stop at the first lane car slanted 30 degrees towards the 2nd lane at the dotted red line causing a massive jam of buses behind and when the tp pulls along and ask what in the brown cow is he doing he'll squeak out if i move forward i'll hit the red line. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 Tourists will be amazed by our policies here. Extra charging ERP in Orchard Road??? This i am still waiting for the Retailers Body to lodge feedbacks to LTA soon. Especially, when the next economy downturn comes. People will avoid Orchard Belt that is protected by ERP. Extra charge . . of course! Mee siam kay harm you have to pay more what . . Economice downturn? Increase GST lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 Actually London also have a similar systems but they divide the areas into "zones". I think LTA is in a way "too greedy". Having one system u have to have a set of rules to govern the system. They trying to implement too many systems into one. It's like what ppl say "too many cooks spoil the soup". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gk123 Neutral Newbie April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 (edited) I TOTALLY AGREE!!!!! Can we do a petition for this? Hope those LTA officers start using their brains. I hate to think this way but I start to wonder what are they doing everyday. Images of them drinking coffee, signing papers, soup opera with in front of management came into my mind.... Unreasonable markings without considering what's happening on the road! IDI*Ts! Not say we don't know. Some of the bus lane markings are downright ridiculous. Like yesterday I was exiting from Kramat Road to Orchard Road, to get back on the CTE. The bus lane is almost empty, there are vehicles behind me, if I don't turn into the bus lane I'm probably going to get horned at. Problem is, after turning into the bus lane, the broken lines last for less than 5 metres, and signalling right has no use, no one willing to let me into the next lane. And in less than 20 metres, I was going to turn left again. If there was an enforcement officer there, I would have my photo taken. Edited April 3, 2007 by Gk123 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 can i borrow your thread to ask if those dotted yello/red marking are also bus lane? or they are just warning us that bus lane are ahead and for left turn only? is it an offence to drive on those dotted red/yellow lane? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 Wah Lau eh? Do you own a car huh? Because if you do, you should have received a document from LTA about this ruling to get off the bus lanes at certain times of the day. Imagine the cost they have to incur to send out such documents to all drivers in Singapore. Not to forget the fee they have to pay for contractors to decorate some of our roads with red markings lor. Obviously, LTA failed in this aspect leh. Why u don't know? not forget they made mistake and hv to pay contractors to remove some red lines along south bridge road in front of the national library. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fivegear Clutched April 3, 2007 Author Share April 3, 2007 You just standby and watch. There will be more ERP soon. Especially one that join the PIE->Changi from the CTE exit before the Braddel road. Over there, always long queue of vehicles waiting to drive into PIE or cars trying to siam the evening CTE by going via the upper serangoon road. Anyone wants to bet on this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chromas 1st Gear April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 In the first place, even normal bus lanes regardless of timing was never meant for taxi to stop at. But dumb passengers still insist on asking the driver to stop anywhere they like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shine Clutched April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 This whole system is plain bollocks. Take the situation just after Plaza Singapura as an example. All the cars looking to turn left at the traffic junction into Handy Road (Cathay Building) would hog the 2nd lane till where the broken red lines are before trying their darnest to squeeze in what is an already congested left turning lane filled with cars who were there earlier. More often then not, the original cars in the leftmost turning lane would refuse any cars coming from the second lane to merge. We end up with the leftmost lane waiting at the lights to turn and the second lane with cars coming to a total standstill trying to filter left. Do take into account that this second lane is meant for going straight only. This leaves us only with the 3rd lane to go straight and I've seen traffic backup all the way Istana. Madness! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chromas 1st Gear April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 Dotted ones are fine to drive on. They're a warning of what's ahead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 I dun get it man. Put one ERP here other roads will jam, set up one there more roads will jam. In the end every corner in sg also got ERP. What's the point? It defeats the purpose of having one when they say it's to control the traffic flow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Circuit Clutched April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 aiya ... when singapore 'fined' papers start flying ard making the government richer... then the taxis will bo bian follow one... -- no fine where pple charp! jus like no speed cam ... who bother abt speed. "speed cams = summon = money out frm ur pocket" so same same.... but stopping at the middle of the road is damn it.... dangerous wait someone slam into the cab then they realise liao few days no pay.... (hopefulli a cabbie will show another cabbie how is done since they like to keep close and blast ard with their big D-engine) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fivegear Clutched April 3, 2007 Author Share April 3, 2007 Have you ever wondered whether if anyone will be the most happy when there is accidents at roads which have ERPs bound or perhaps when it is raining heavily? It makes a lot of difference to the gantry profit takings when such events occur. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear April 3, 2007 Share April 3, 2007 The word that comes to mind: Entrapment. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...