Maemi Neutral Newbie April 8, 2007 Share April 8, 2007 Just some advices for those driving to Malaysia. If there are three lanes on the road, with the rightmost lane stating go straight or turn right, never use that lane to go straight. I got into one minor accident when I did that. And everybody says that lane's for turning right despite the markings on the lane. So, pls do learn from my lesson. See three lanes, turn left keep left, turn right keep right, go straight stay in the middle. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged April 8, 2007 Share April 8, 2007 by right..if the arrows can go straight and go right..then can argue all the way up to their gahmen.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maemi Neutral Newbie April 8, 2007 Author Share April 8, 2007 I was first kanna by a lorry who hit my side mirror and ran off and subsequently hit by a 20 yr old taxi with a Malay driver. I didn't understand their language and needed a translator. If the driver speaks the same language as me, I would have argued. But thank goodness I didn't know Malay, or else maybe I would be dead on second day. He might have cast some black magic on me after I scold them off. Relatives tell me it was useless to make police report coz that is M and the lorry driver had speed off. Same spot, several similar incidents and yet no action to correct the marking. This is what I heard from relatives. But this incident do let me know one thing, their Malay citizens do hate us to core. Zoomed by shouted "SG car always in the wrong" and off they go. Cost me S$500 for overall repairs. Just sharing so other fellow SG drivers can avoid this kind of unnecessary accident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged April 8, 2007 Share April 8, 2007 That is the practice there. In any case, you are lucky the m'sia taxi did not ask for money cos it was your 'fault'. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 8, 2007 Share April 8, 2007 Bro, when u r driving in foreign land, do take note of d road sign. Do not make any assumption based on our local rule. By d way, i m not sure how u could involve in an accident by turning from middle lane. In MY, it always 1 side allows 2 go thru' in traffic lite unless it is a junction without traffic lite. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear April 8, 2007 Share April 8, 2007 Why report to their Police, or pigs as I call them. They wont do anything one, bcos they were busy collecting kopi$$ from Sg cars. I am RM$100 poorer over this long w/e, kena stopped twice on NSH. So no cheap petrol on this trip as the otherwise 50% savings have been returned to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holyavartar Clutched April 8, 2007 Share April 8, 2007 Y did they stop u? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged April 8, 2007 Share April 8, 2007 ...I am RM$100 poorer over this long w/e, kena stopped twice on NSH. Laugh So no cheap petrol on this trip as the otherwise 50% savings have been returned to them...Were you speeding? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boxster 2nd Gear April 8, 2007 Share April 8, 2007 I see that if we are unlucky we are targets in MY. I kanna stop in KL once abt 2 yrs back and kanna blackmail for kopi $$ of 300MR coz don't know the market price That time was going mint resort from Sungei Bersi that road jam and didn't know the road well. A MY veh infront of me got to cut into another lane at the "island" to serperate 2 direction. I joined him and I kanna and the MY car did'n't. That "pig" threatened I can be double charged for 600 and wanted 300 kopi. no choice but give in as I even tried to tell him I not enough $$. Later realised that I should make him "open" the ticket as my my relative later told me that these ticket can be settled for less than 100 in their local station. Anyway it is a lesson learnt guess some of you might laugh at me for being silly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ls430 Clutched April 8, 2007 Share April 8, 2007 thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maemi Neutral Newbie April 9, 2007 Author Share April 9, 2007 Bro, when u r driving in foreign land, do take note of d road sign. Do not make any assumption based on our local rule. By d way, i m not sure how u could involve in an accident by turning from middle lane. In MY, it always 1 side allows 2 go thru' in traffic lite unless it is a junction without traffic lite. I was on rightmost lane.. not middle lane. I never make assumptions.. I followed the lane/road markings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 9, 2007 Share April 9, 2007 I hope i did not offense u 'cause i saw a lot of SG driver brought their 'habit' to MY & give themselves 'trouble' Anyway, can u tell us how u were hit? On another note, if u met an accident in Kampong, don't stop! Drive 2 d nearest Police Station & make report. If u stop, all hell broken! Tis is true 4 all ka which does not belong 2 that Kampong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maemi Neutral Newbie April 9, 2007 Author Share April 9, 2007 (edited) Yup.. Kampong even if you hit a chicken u will be badly penalised by those villagers. So best is run. To say the truth, I was pretty mad in the beginning coz I was following the rules and was driving like <10km/hr (at traffic junction), but after that, just felt lucky it was a minor accident. My car was full house at that moment. Can't imagine if some major thing happened. My car was on the rightmost lane with the lane markings of going straight or turning right. I moved straight, but the lorry on my left (middle lane) turned right. I stopped the car immediately and horn. But the lorry ignored, moved and went off, knocking off my left side mirror. The taxi.. seeing this accident still moved and hit my car, saying he thought I was turning right. Slight dents on the metal on top of the wheels. I must say although I drive around the area for several times, this was the first time I drove that particular traffic junction. I understand that it was an unwritten rule, known to all staying there, that the rightmost lane is for turning right and not going straight although it is with the markings of going straight. Therefore, just want to share with fellow SG drivers on this. It's always better to be safe than sorry.. I'm using this incident on all other three lane cross junctions I'm coming across in MY. I don't want a repeat incident. I know a lot of SG drivers had bad habits in MY. I myself met some unconsiderate SG drivers who probably thought MY cars must always give way to them. Hopefully this drivers know that MY cars are not as expensive as SG cars. Esp those old old ones.. If they not happy, they bang and go. Who more heart pain? Edited April 9, 2007 by Maemi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear April 9, 2007 Share April 9, 2007 (edited) ...I am RM$100 poorer over this long w/e, kena stopped twice on NSH. Laugh So no cheap petrol on this trip as the otherwise 50% savings have been returned to them...Were you speeding? Yes I was speeding, as is always My Malsingmap cxxk up somehow(time to redownload)so I lost track of where I was for a while. .Point is this they were out for the $$ and I was speeding. First stop about 50% betw SG/KL. "sir, u exceeded speed limit a bit huh, 123km/h just now. Licence pls". Beng:" Sorry sir, I forgot my licence. Can you help me? Admin Fee? ". "Oh, how much $$ you say?" beng:"RM$50?". "Ok put your 'licence' here". There goes a RM$50 note into his notebook. Secondf stop on return after Kulai. "sir, u speeding 130km/h near Ayer Keroh area" Beng:"Oh sorry lah encik". "can you settle here? RM$50 and I will cancel your record". there goes another RM$50. Actually I was almost 160/180kmh on way up and on my way back. They say 120-130kmh. Ok pls flame me for speeding. Vest on Edited April 9, 2007 by Ahbengdriver ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...