VTEC Vs VVTI ? difference ? Which is Better

Ls430

why you say so ... it seems from my reading as suggested by member .... VTEC appears to be more superior

That's true.

But it seems like many have a filmsy grasp of the fundamental of variable valve tech. So 5 years later still talking about the same old thing, not the new tech. sweatdrop.gif

exactly.... after reading the past thread ... I got real dizzy ...

and part confused....

now will the real VTEC and VVTI come OUT please

to similar or different technology to give us an edge on the road .,....

or car companies ..... pulling a fast one on us....

different technology to achive same purpose [thumbsup]

VTEC: low speed fuel efficient, high speed power efficient

VVTi: high torque low FC

got it but....

err...

why they combine the two to have the best of both worlds

i think the members argue since MCF had started its first day until now...... laugh.gif

never ending war... this is worse than the Cold War.

you will have whole army of honda die hards coming in again to praise VTEC... i'm one of them.... but i dun wan to say too much... let other ppl do the talking and i will sit back and watch the fun.... laugh.gif

I will fire the first shot. Once VTEK kui, WeeWeeTee Ai smell smoke and eat dust. [laugh]

are u sure ...

I am using a vee vee Tee I ... it goes zoommmmmmmm......but sometimes ...only very few sometimes that it goes putt putt

[:)]

so which 1 better? i only know the higher spec sillycar got vvtl-i

that one quite fast you know? aiyah, still lose to your vtec lah. [laugh]

Is VTEC found in Acura too thanks

vvtli is similar to ivtec found in the R.

Your question is answered in the link i posted earlier.

BUT if you are asking which one is more powerful as a single criteria, then i say neither. laugh.gif

These technologies exist to compromise longevity, drivability at low rev, and high power at high rev. So if one hack care drivability with a single mind on power, like race cars, then there is no need for cam changing and cam phasing right? So vtec or vvtli are redundant there! lol

that makes sense

i tink vtec will make driving more fun. to me i tink it have lots of power at all rev range..e vvti, when i rev all e way, e pick up is quite powerfull but when it goes near e red line...e lost of power is there..donnoe anyone feel e same [:/]

i have never tried driving to the red line yet

when I am 80Km/h my rpm is less than 2K

i don't want to be fine or let wifey .... nag nag ...

so no way of confirming vvti after red line ...

I use to own the very first model of honda accord and the subsequent model but non had vtec then ... but even then ... those were excellent models ... considering it was Honda's first

Hi LS460!

We don't usually redline at max speed. Redline is normally achieved when hard accelerating from stop or slow down round corners, when we downshift to keep the revs in the zone where the engine produces max power.

how to redline with an auto

must try an sneak out tonight ... find a quiet road ....

here I come red line ....

but someone needs to explain

.... put in the 2nd or 3rd gear ..... and rev ...

if car sploit and need to take taxi back home then ....

tomorrow wifey will nag nag ....

so finally decided will not try

just for now

i think the members argue since MCF had started its first day until now...... laugh.gif

never ending war... this is worse than the Cold War.

you will have whole army of honda die hards coming in again to praise VTEC... i'm one of them.... but i dun wan to say too much... let other ppl do the talking and i will sit back and watch the fun.... laugh.gif

I will fire the first shot. Once VTEK kui, WeeWeeTee Ai smell smoke and eat dust. [laugh]

2nd Salvo here...INCOMING!!!!

Honda's VTEC is not known as king of NA for nothing..the current generation of VTEC abit tame liao..the previous one..once kui..no NA engine in it's class can beat it..

put lowest gear..then slowly accelerate..once you hit abt 30kmh..then gradually floor it...sure can hit redline easily..

i have hit redline on AYE, accelerating from 70kmh to 100kmh in abt 3 sec on 2nd gear on my CVT gearbox..but don't dare to try too much as scared spoil.. [:p]

Edited by Shull

I'm driving a manual car. My method to redline. veri simple. [:p] At the traffic light, gear 1 jam the accelerator. Redline liao. [laugh] Suspect that the vans and lorries redline more than me, cos' their engine really roar sia at the traffic light. [sly]