VTEC Vs VVTI ? difference ? Which is Better

Ls430

i mean if both engines are of the same cc, whichever gives a higher bhp output will be my choice lor.

however i still prefer the v6 vvti from my rx300 more than the ivtec from the dc5.

the sound and power of the v6 still gives more grunt.

this has been discussed till death....

the old skool VTEC is more akin to VVTL-i though...

do a search and start reading!

Aiyo, old school vtec only has variable lift and using cam changing mechanism .... that's not akin to vvtli leh, as vvtli has both variable lift and timing using cam changing AND cam phasing. Old school vtec is more akin to Nissan VVL.

Perhaps the discussion is not exhaustive yet. sweatdrop.gif

but after their long history .....

we must have come to a final conclusion ... right

or is there any new development in VTEC and VVTI

there is no final conclusion... it's always a work in progress...

VTEC got their I-VTEC, and A-VTEC...

VVT-i got dual VVT-i now on both the exhaust and intake valves...

to similar or different technology to give us an edge on the road .,....

or car companies ..... pulling a fast one on us....

different technology to achive same purpose [thumbsup]

VTEC: low speed fuel efficient, high speed power efficient

VVTi: high torque low FC

Edited by Quantum

That's true.

But it seems like many have a filmsy grasp of the fundamental of variable valve tech. So 5 years later still talking about the same old thing, not the new tech. sweatdrop.gif

i think the members argue since MCF had started its first day until now...... laugh.gif

never ending war... this is worse than the Cold War.

you will have whole army of honda die hards coming in again to praise VTEC... i'm one of them.... but i dun wan to say too much... let other ppl do the talking and i will sit back and watch the fun.... laugh.gif

I will fire the first shot. Once VTEK kui, WeeWeeTee Ai smell smoke and eat dust. [laugh]

vvtli is similar to ivtec found in the R.

Your question is answered in the link i posted earlier.

BUT if you are asking which one is more powerful as a single criteria, then i say neither. laugh.gif

These technologies exist to compromise longevity, drivability at low rev, and high power at high rev. So if one hack care drivability with a single mind on power, like race cars, then there is no need for cam changing and cam phasing right? So vtec or vvtli are redundant there! lol

tats true... newbies will come in and ask (present threaders excluded) and oldies will not bother to answer....

so left with another heated thread in 5 years time about Z-VTEC and VVTi-10!

hahahah....

This issue have been discussed alot of times already, that is why most of them was bored to explian over and over agian.

I would suggest that you do a reading on Vtec first, as Vtec have various version. Etc.. With high lift and without. Which Honda is fitted with High Lift or not. Nowsadays only Type-R have the High-Lift Vtec, which is the crazy horsepower version you see in EG6/9 EK4/9 etc....

VVTI is more simpler, they differential clearly. VVT-I and VVTL-I, VVTL-I is the high lift cam version.

Please do a search in the forum, it have alot more info to read on.

to s [:p] imilar or different technology to give us an edge on the road .,....

or car companies ..... pulling a fast one on us....

IMHO, if power is not your top option, VVTi is better [:p]

i think the members argue since MCF had started its first day until now...... laugh.gif

never ending war... this is worse than the Cold War.

you will have whole army of honda die hards coming in again to praise VTEC... i'm one of them.... but i dun wan to say too much... let other ppl do the talking and i will sit back and watch the fun.... laugh.gif

we shall watch the process of this thread will go to where.