VTEC Vs VVTI ? difference ? Which is Better

Ls430

What do you want out of each car??? The answer will bounce back and forth depending on how you like your drive to be like.

I like performance and in this scenario, honda's vtec pulls it off better than toyota's vvt-i.

can't we have the best of both worlds

.... only can afford to buy one car

Got! Audi's LeMans racer... good FC, massive torque (and super flat curve) for pulling, and good power. tongue.gif

the Audi LeMans is one nice car.thumbsup.gif

Bro, read my post carefully leh. Did I say Lotus use VVTI? I replied to the other guy saying that got other car with vvtl-i, but will cost an arm or a leg. unimpressed.gif

sorry bro.i thought you were talking about VVTI.wink.gif

Didn't know the K20A can rev till 9,000rpm. Did you transplant your K and A to F and C respectively?

Can lah its all in the mods.

The tomei boys in japan decided that the safe rpm cut-off for my 1.8l CA powered 180 was 11000rpm sweatdrop.gif I almost fainted when i found out laugh.gif

so have you tried revving it up to 11K?

how does the adrenaline rush feels like?sly.gif

ok got it laugh.gif I'm using the DC5R as it has a slightly bigger wheel so it needs less engine revs and i'm rounding the circumference up to 2m for ease of calculations.

160kmh = 160000m/hr

This means that the wheel needs to rotate 80000 rounds per hour

The diff ratio is 4.764 which means that the input shaft needs to turn that amt of times to rotate the output shaft which is connect to the wheel. This means the input shaft needs to turn 80000x4.764=381120 times per hour.

Now the 2nd gear ratio is 2.130 which means its input shaft needs to turn that amt of times to turn the gearbox output shaft 1 time. as the gearbox output shaft is the diffs input shaft, it means the engine has to turn 381120x2.130=811785.6 rounds per hour

811785.6 rounds per hour is 811785.6/60= 13529.76rpm (if i didnt round the circumference up, it would be abt 14000rpm)

At 9000rpm, a DC5R would be doing abt 106.4kmh.

impressive,but i don't quite get all of it.laugh.gif

i need to read another 10 times.

ok got it [laugh] I'm using the DC5R as it has a slightly bigger wheel so it needs less engine revs and i'm rounding the circumference up to 2m for ease of calculations.

160kmh = 160000m/hr

This means that the wheel needs to rotate 80000 rounds per hour

The diff ratio is 4.764 which means that the input shaft needs to turn that amt of times to rotate the output shaft which is connect to the wheel. This means the input shaft needs to turn 80000x4.764=381120 times per hour.

Now the 2nd gear ratio is 2.130 which means its input shaft needs to turn that amt of times to turn the gearbox output shaft 1 time. as the gearbox output shaft is the diffs input shaft, it means the engine has to turn 381120x2.130=811785.6 rounds per hour

811785.6 rounds per hour is 811785.6/60= 13529.76rpm (if i didnt round the circumference up, it would be abt 14000rpm)

At 9000rpm, a DC5R would be doing abt 106.4kmh.

the number of turns by the input shaft is phenomenon.... any chance of any fatigue crack

i dun need to understand it completely. basically, it means that the prev poster was BS-ing [laugh]

now i have confession to make. on straight road w/o wind assist (if that helps), my car cannot touch 160km/h.. maybe after tuning.. MAYBE [bigcry][laugh]

but roadtax sure is cheap.. even cheaper than goods veh in fact [sly]

excellent ... one day I will try 160km/h but at the moment .... i cannot afford to spend a night in jail ... got to many kids to handle

bro.. go malaysia la [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed]

btw, this acendanmotors noob, sounds like from some PI. tryin g to chalk up posts to start new topic. i have highlighted to admin liao [pirate]

Didn't know the K20A can rev till 9,000rpm. Did you transplant your K and A to F and C respectively?

Can lah its all in the mods.

The tomei boys in japan decided that the safe rpm cut-off for my 1.8l CA powered 180 was 11000rpm sweatdrop.gif I almost fainted when i found out laugh.gif

so have you tried revving it up to 11K?

how does the adrenaline rush feels like?sly.gif

I'll never know [laugh] my dash only shows 9500rpm. only gone that far twice. Thing is i dunno what condition the engine was in when that tune was put in so better be safe than sorry.

the higher the power the higher the likely hood. thats why when most people go nuts on the engine and start making massive power... even if they don't change the conronds (which rotates the most), at the very least they get the entire engine balanced and blueprinted to minimise the amount of metal fatigue.

But most people dont have to worry. the euro and jap engines are very well built.