CVT vs 4AT/5AT

Ff2004

There is nothing to shout about entry level BnB cars fitted with CVT.

To make CVT sound greater than what it is - is akin to selling snake oil. So please mellow down!

If your feelings are hurt, that's just too bad

No it doesnt. I hope you are talking about a real manual transmission...

Yes it does.  I always do that when i was driving MT.

MT is still fun to drive lo....fast n can tahan long time!!!! FC is good also....

but then in SG AT is needed la...esp during jams etc...

i was driving the 2007 City with CVT for 10 years, until scrapped. NEVER GIVE ME a single problem, while i was laughing at Audi and VW cars sitting at workshops. You saying its not reliable?

U can say i'm lucky or whatever. at least i can say from my own experience.

What is your mileage before scrap?

Audi n VW well known lo.....the GB dono why so chui....price damn attractive but loads of issues ltr on...

There is nothing to shout about entry level BnB cars fitted with CVT.

To make CVT sound greater than what it is - is akin to selling snake oil. So please mellow down!

If your feelings are hurt, that's just too bad

There is a reason manufacturer make different GB for different car model. There are no right or wrong. Every type of GB have it advantage and disadvantage.

Those super car will get GB have super fast gear change, this GB may not be suitable for a normal BnB car.

A luxury car use as limo will want a GB that is super smooth for the passenger sitting behind.

Is there really a need to justify that the GB in one's car is better than the other person car.?

There is a reason manufacturer make different GB for different car model. There are no right or wrong. Every type of GB have it advantage and disadvantage.
Those super car will get GB have super fast gear change, this GB may not be suitable for a normal BnB car.
A luxury car use as limo will want a GB that is super smooth for the passenger sitting behind.

Edited by leehock13828
  • Dislike 1

still considered low wor....normal is >200KM???

yeah, whatever it is, isn't it better than Audi and VW, after just 3 years of driving, sitting in workshops?   :grin:   

Every transmission has advantages and disadvantages.

Often the reason the manufacturer chose which transmission

to put in your car is the lowest cost. This is usually the main reason

or one of the main reasons but a lot more weight on this.

Nice to know cutting cost is a very important factor they decided on.  [thumbsup]

So people can now claim my transmission is better than yours.

My car maker chose it because it was cheap.  [thumbsup]

No la. Nothing to claim. No prize one. Was sharing experience w cvt gb. But dunno y become haolian thread leh..

Post properly before thread closed by mod hor.. Later wanna voice oso no chance..

if it is about the drive feeling, I think the engine driving the gears can be a significant factor. 2 years ago, i was comparing a sylphy 1.6t (cvt) and mazda six 2.5na (6at?). Engine output numbers are similar between these 2 cars. The mazda 6 is a good car and I really like it back then. I remember the mazda acceleration felt more cvt-like than the sylphy though. The sylphy felt more "exciting" in the sense there is a special push when you put the foot down a little. I think it is the turbo giving early high torque. I am not saying the mazda 6 is cvt like, just a direct comparison on the feeling between these 2 cars holistically.

So im not alone when I mentioned the cvt "kick down" upon accelr deeply depressed, wc no diff fr conventional auto.

So people can now claim my transmission is better than yours.

My car maker chose it because it was cheap. [thumbsup]

How about my transmission cheaper than urs..

ok i haolian now - my 4at transmission very smooth when driven reasonably, can mimic cvt / manual when control ur right foot right. still surviving after 155k km (assuming no tweak mileage n i'm 4th owner - so by right is abused / lack of care?).. so smooth that i'm considering renewing coe some weeks ago..