What are the things you would do b4 buying a new car?

Shox87

hello.wad are the things or steps u would carry out b4 u buy a new car? say like compare prices around and see wad freebies are given in the deal right?

jus wondering, are comparing prices a wrong thing to do? [shocked]

feel free to voice out. [thumbsup]

cheeers.

jus wondering, are comparing prices a wrong thing to do? shocked.gif

yah... it's rude to compare price... just buy the first one u see. laugh.gif

sorry for being sacarstic but then how not to when u ask such a qn confused.gif of course must compare price to find the car which gives u the best value for your budget.

unless of course u are saying at the showroom itself u go around and ask a few SE to quote u and see which one offer u the best deal, then maybe that abit not so nice.

spend a day at Leng kee area or ubi where there are loads of different car showrooms, walk around enquire about the prices, rebates, special offers, insurance... take a seat in the cars, to see the interior feel and test drive a few u really keen on. oh have a read up on the forums and reviews sites too about the cars u r keen on.

just remember not to rush into any deals. smile.gif

read up more about owning a car in singapore.

good site will be www.onemotoring.com.sg

a normal consumer will want to get the best out of his money. so comparing prices helps u to make decisions.

due to the choices in the market, you would do this :

1. compare

2. compare

3. compare and more compares

1) ask daddy and mummy

2) ask forum which is the best car

3) do a poll

4) ask how much to let go for your current car, or

5) is your pay enough to afford a car

6) compare the car you like

7) test drive the car which you have not shortlisted

8) ask again in forum

9) buy the car which you never set out to buy coz others say it's a good car

then it's a whole big round of telling yourselves you like the car coz everyone is driving it..problem is that when you reach the carpark, you suddenly find that you can't find your car coz they all look the same [laugh]

But seriously, this is what some people are doing and they are still doing it.

based on your budget and favorites to create shortlisted poll in MCF [;)]

alot of experienced members here will give you valuable advice [;)]

hurry up! COE already went down and 7th mth coming, good opportunity [thumbsup]

well, before getting my car, i know close to nothing of cars...

- coming in forums is good and seeing what people have to say (but also everyone have different views)

- flip flip the papers

- go down to the show room with the whole family, or all those that are going to sit in your car is very important... (my girl hit her head on the vios as the headroom is too low and its out of my choice... :) but of course there are other factors that comes in play)

think one important thing that my friend told me about is to discuss with the SE the price of the car first before actually test driving it or to ask the price first... (well, they copy down your details and phone numbers are not only for safety or security reasons... )

PI car I need OMV to calculate dep.

Compare $$ is nothing wrong (U hold the $$)

Consider what to do with present car.

consider ur needs (passengers, cargo, any weird body proportions), wants (u want FC, power, handling, comfort?), and usual usage patterns (drive many short trips? mostly highway? malaysia driving trips?).

next, budget.. but if u haven't settled those in the first para then u just wasting ur money imho

hello.wad are the things or steps u would carry out b4 u buy a new car? say like compare prices around and see wad freebies are given in the deal right?

cheeers.

I would say comparing prices is the first thing you should do, as that will be the budget you have to set aside per month. Unless you tell me u got no budget constraint, then you won't be asking this question here...

1) Compare pricing according to your budget allowable

2) Compare specs of few models within that budget

3) Read up on forums (however, just do subjective reading as different people has different views...I will tell you most votes will go to Toyota and Honda if you ask around...dunno why...)

4) Compare the difference of OMV and selling price

5) Visit the showroom and test drive all the selected model on your own first

6) Visit the showroom and test drive again with your spouse (Girls will have different taste and feedback and they are very good in bargaining freebies)

7) Find out more on after-sales service from your friends or relative for different brands with your selected model (although each AD/PI has their own sets of problems)

8) Select your choice (most importantly the choice you make must be the one you like and will stick to it for 3-5 years)

One last advise: Get the car you like most which you can afford. No point getting one that many people say good this good that, but you always feel ashame and sick of it when you see it every morning...

Happy searching...(this stage is the most shiok of car buying...after you got your car, everything just goes back to normal)...

then it's a whole big round of telling yourselves you like the car coz everyone is driving it..problem is that when you reach the carpark, you suddenly find that you can't find your car coz they all look the same [laugh]

But seriously, this is what some people are doing and they are still doing it.

thats why you see so many altis, vios, camry, lancer, sunny, jazz

1st - budget

2nd - source wat type of car suits your budget

3rd - among the cars tat suits your budget, see which one u like most

ranking them from 1st, 2nd, 3rd so on

4th - surf forums to look for reviews on the car u like most

5th - if car review no gd, than go for 2nd and so on.

for me, i prefer to choose a car that i like most within my budget and dun care about reviews cos i'm paying so much money on it and i want something i like the most rather than paying so much to get a car tat i dun like. no car is perfect.

my girl hit her head on the vios as the headroom is too low and its out of my choice...

huh ur gf how tall? I 1.88m also can fit into vios w/o bumping my head leh.. u know the seat can adjust height one leh. smile.gif

maybe his gril suddenly standed up then hit the ceiling tongue.gif

she always sit convertable maybe wanna stand up and stretch. tongue.gif

anyways hope u n ur gf don't take it personally Harper. kidding only. wave.gif

Edited by Tunge

the priority seems correct..but also need to know yourself how long will you drive the car...if u r those who change car after 2-3yrs..then of course a car with higher market value will be good for you to minmise your losses..

Example: Car A selling at $50k and body value after 3 yrs is 15k

and Car B selling at $48k and body value after 3 yrs is 10k..considering the rest of the factors are the same..Car A is a better buy..

cheeers.

I make sure I have more than enough money in my bank account.