Charliebrown 2nd Gear June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 Agree, MCF posters here are all getting confused with the whole issue. OPC offenders hurt no one but themselves if they want to cheat. But you can't compare them to vandals, thiefs, rapists, molesters and the like. They hurt others and others' property. This we must stop and report them. Better still, whack them and then hand over to the authorities. But OPC.... let them be lah. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 (edited) Yup. They can also report those who drive recklessly, be it OPC or normal plate cars, if they want to. I bet no one will object at all....cos that actually is a danger to other road users. But personally, I feel that reporting on OPC cos of their coupon is a little 'self-righteous', green-eyed...etc. There is an OPC in my MSCP who will occasionally drive his car to the washing bay to wash his car during non-OPC hours...and most residents or drivers could not even be bothered by that. I live in an old estate and I find that people of the older generations are more forgiving in such 'minor' thing. Edited June 8, 2007 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hilander4650 Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 (edited) civil service getting mid year bonus soon ... TP must b thinking "i must catch more to up the bonus .... " hello friend mid year bonus got nothing to do with "i must catch more to up the bonus ...." its part of their duty if not happy complaint lor! they are just doing their job Edited June 8, 2007 by Hilander4650 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hilander4650 Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 This OPC option is simply one of several measures the authorities came up with to deal with congestion...mainly, road space limited, singaporeans getting better off all wanna own car, this despite high vehicle tax and road tax..so... COE comes along, Park and ride comes along, OPC comes along. The 'official' view is of course couched nicely, but from LTA's replies to public on OPC, they will always say its to address both needs, ie to allow enjoyment of car, + address problem of lessening road space... Think most OPC owners are getting defensive over the posts here..The sentiment should be specified...it is not anti OPC. it is anti-OPC owners who abuse the system. It is this group who seeks to benefit when they already have benefitted from the OPC system that should be held responsible...not the OPC owners who abide by the rules... spot on! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hilander4650 Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 Agree. The gov is the only one to benefit if we report. I think people who report it mainly do it out of jealousy which I find it's no better then those who scratch other car cos it's newer, better groomed, etc__________________________________ dats a good one comeon..wat so jealousy abt an OPC car! wat we need is some consistency from the authority to catch those offenders tat all! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hilander4650 Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 if ppl feel OPC is taking advantage becoz of the 17K rebate..then go buy one and drive lah..why need to be "red eye" here..no one ask u PPL to drive "NORMAL" car what..what bus lane adjusted to 8pm...i everyday go home take CTE..JAM until 11pm also very common..thats considered off peak or peak? give us OPC owners a break..the world is fair..we get what we pay for..OPC pay less drive less..NORMAL car pay more..drive more lor..drive from 7am-7pm non stop lor..make full use of your NORMAL status tats your problem! no one ask u to drive an OPC too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cristy Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 (edited) In Reply Tohello friend mid year bonus got nothing to do with "i must catch more to up the bonus ...." its part of their duty if not happy complaint lor! they are just doing their job [/reply] no comments ... u r entitled to ur own set of thinking i'm entitled to my own set of jokes , it seems like another bro do share my jokes too in the "warning" thread... and in the 1st place i never ever mention dat i'm unhappy at all Edited June 8, 2007 by Cristy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cristy Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 In Reply ToAgree. The gov is the only one to benefit if we report. I think people who report it mainly do it out of jealousy which I find it's no better then those who scratch other car cos it's newer, better groomed, etc dats a good one[/reply] comeon..wat so jealousy abt an OPC car! wat we need is some consistency from the authority to catch those offenders tat all! i think u meant "wat so jealous" instead of "wat so jealousy" isnt it .... i read already my brain all full of question marks leh Consistency?? hmm .... BTW, pls reply the correct thread. I wasnt the one dat post the "jealousy" post, it was silver_blade dat made the posting if u can, i urge u to click the [in reply to] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Devilac Neutral Newbie June 9, 2007 Share June 9, 2007 Yup. They can also report those who drive recklessly, be it OPC or normal plate cars, if they want to. I bet no one will object at all....cos that actually is a danger to other road users. But personally, I feel that reporting on OPC cos of their coupon is a little 'self-righteous', green-eyed...etc. There is an OPC in my MSCP who will occasionally drive his car to the washing bay to wash his car during non-OPC hours...and most residents or drivers could not even be bothered by that. I live in an old estate and I find that people of the older generations are more forgiving in such 'minor' thing. Really, I personally feel that driving within the MSCP down to the washing bay is not an offence. I find it laughable if the TP or ROV would be prying on them! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subutai 3rd Gear June 9, 2007 Share June 9, 2007 Whatever la... anything not happy, expect garment to do this do that... haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear June 9, 2007 Share June 9, 2007 some bro here emailed the tp before - to them its an offence, so better dont play play the fine is Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear June 9, 2007 Author Share June 9, 2007 the majority will not bother about OPC offenders. as for the one who email the TP, i think he is one rare person. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 9, 2007 Share June 9, 2007 Agree. But just 1 email/tip-off may land the owner a hefty fine. But drive within MSCP is still quite safe...cos by the time ROV arrived, the driver will most likely finish washing the car and parked his car...no proof=no fine. Even if the engine compartment is hot/warm also ok...cos the driver could have started the car to warm up the engine. But there is still a certain level of risk. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Derrick Neutral Newbie June 9, 2007 Share June 9, 2007 Oh, come on. Driving in MSCP is not contributing to the road conjestion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear June 9, 2007 Share June 9, 2007 Of course u are right. But PPL see oredi "eyes red" lei. Thats a problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear June 9, 2007 Share June 9, 2007 I will not report it. Doesn't endanger my life or make me lose anything....so it's ok with me. If they are not caught, then good luck to them....if they are caught..then they deserve it. Me being an OPC owner too somtimes really shake my head to those offenders. All in all they are going against something that not even $ can buy, their conscience & their moral. This shows how little they are. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreath Neutral Newbie June 9, 2007 Share June 9, 2007 Maybe they purposely make it difficult to buy...so that some lazy OPC owner will just take the risk instead. The stupid paper coupon also another thing.........got once i too kan-chiong....torn the wrong date.......WTFFF..........cannot use liao. Another occasion, i tear the correct day and mth......after driving practically the whole of spore, then realise...waaaaaaaaa....year never tear out. wa piang! so complex ah? i need a crash course on tearing coupons le. i got an OPC, still waiting 2 collect. many of my sentiments already pointed out in tis thread liao so i dun wanna repeat la. i, for 1, m also adjusting my lifestyle 2 suit e car. i do think i'm quite pathetic la but no need sympathy cuz itz a personal choice. e least i wan is 4 pple 2 bao toh another person. where da love, man! was thinking if like juz 2min past 7am i will also tio TP if i nv tear e $20 coupon? was thinking wa lao, wat if got pple need help along e road i stop down n help den i lagi worse miss out on e 7am curfew by juz a few min (like nt more dan 5min), like tat i suay rite? i think if gahmen install electronic OPC coupon or GPS OPC cars, we muz get e normal car pple 2 fork out e cost 4 us OPC!!! lol wa piang we already paying 4 e ICU thingy... we Pay to Pay More! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Memory Neutral Newbie June 9, 2007 Share June 9, 2007 There is one type of regular offender, when caught driving in MSCP, they claim they drive down to car wash bay or just driving around in MSCP. So thanks to this bunch of ppl that like to take advantage of grey area, driving to wash bay in MSCP is also not allowed so as to standardised the scheme. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...