Nlatio Turbocharged June 7, 2007 Share June 7, 2007 So if next time more and more car on the road, rush hours extend to 10pm... then OPC driver can only drive after 10pm???? or rush hours extend to 12 midnight, OPC driver can only drive their car out for supper only..... sigh.... leave them alone, not as if they commit a serious crime like rape or murder..... they like to take the chance, so be it... if kena caught, god bless them, becuase the garment won't..... just like sometime people tear parking coupon, eat 5 min hee, 15 min there.... we are all taking chance, if kena, LL lor.... and ya, don't know why some of you hate OPC..... they murder or rape your family member???? or you simply hate the Rad color plate.......... sigh..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiek Neutral Newbie June 7, 2007 Share June 7, 2007 Don't get me wrong. I have nothing against OPCs. All I'm saying, the system is in need of some review. The timings may have been effective when it was introduced, but times have changed, road congestion situation has changed a lot over the years. I have no objections against OPCs. In fact I would even support letting OPCs out during the day in between the 2 peak periods as there's not much congestion during this time. What I'm saying is... the aim of OPCs is to not increase congestion during peak hours, and it needs to be tweaked to achieve this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear June 7, 2007 Share June 7, 2007 seems like most of the forumers will not report such offenders, prefering the TP to catch them red-handed. hopefully, when we see a rape or molest case, we will not have such attitude. Wah Kaozzzz....you are more red-eyed than i thot. How can OPC offenders be compareable to Rapist and Molester ?????? U mean, when u see s OPC offender, u got the same feeling like being rape or molest ???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcff_1980 Neutral Newbie June 7, 2007 Share June 7, 2007 (edited) if not happy then purposely go bang their cars lor. immediately get out of the car n snap pictures including his invalid coupon. should be sure win case since they are not supposed to be on the road in the first place their insurance kena claim + kena caught for the coupon + u can re-do your car 1 stone kill 3 bird! Edited June 7, 2007 by Mcff_1980 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sianjoo Neutral Newbie June 7, 2007 Share June 7, 2007 good one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged June 7, 2007 Share June 7, 2007 you are right. First offender got fine $5000. My friend kenna caught drinving at 7:10 am without valid coupon got fine $5000. Well, I have nothing against OPC drivers. Just told my friend that he maybe able to claim this $5000 from singapore pool. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boxster 2nd Gear June 7, 2007 Share June 7, 2007 So it is perfect job that matches with the car make full use just like those who just drive to and fro from work and save $. Leave office late (surfing MCF) can score extra points Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boxster 2nd Gear June 7, 2007 Share June 7, 2007 Seem that yr friend so unlucky 10 mins also can stike '4D' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear June 7, 2007 Share June 7, 2007 (edited) Ya...some how by luck, my family is able to suit the timing. I appreciate it very very much. Intial plan was to use it on weekends only....but then.... To an extend im willing to help others too......"willingly" Give and take lar..... http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...holder;#1752321 Edited June 7, 2007 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Corny02 Neutral Newbie June 7, 2007 Share June 7, 2007 when till u ppl buy OPC car , den u ppl will start to asking LTAwhy Saturday can only drive after 3pm....etc..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear June 7, 2007 Share June 7, 2007 I see OPC this way: I give LTA 68 hours of on-the-road time a week, and LTA give me $17K plus 800tax rebate/year. That was the trade. If LTA want more than my 68 hours, they compensate me lor, gimme another $10K cash back and increase yearly rebate to $1000, I gladly give then the 7-8pm slot too. So for those non-OPC owners here who like to make sweeping statements about OPC should change till 8pm lah, not fair lah, etc, please remember that we did not get our OPC rebates for free from LTA, we sacrificed 68hours/week to get that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie June 7, 2007 Share June 7, 2007 Sadly not all OPC owners stick to the rules. have seen OPC cars driving at 8.30am..and yes, he did not have any coupon displayed. I think the real gripe is this. OPC car owners are more prone to abuse the system because they already gain from the cheaper rebate and price of the car...After getting the benefits, the human psyche takes over and tries to 'test' the system.. If there were some way to electronically tag the OPC cars, such that LTA can check if they are abusing the system, then i'm sure al OPC cars will behave...gahmen always say they use technology to make up for manpower shortfall...if so, they should implement something like this...not track the movement of cars cos that may be invasion of privacy, but certainly checking if the car was in motion during this period or not is possible... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic155 Neutral Newbie June 7, 2007 Share June 7, 2007 would any of you report to the TP/LTA if you happen to see OPC driving without displaying coupons? some may think its unfair for them to be on the road during peak hours cos they got $17k and road tax rebate already. one coupon cost $20. the price for getting caught w/o valid coupon - $5,000 (i heard for 1st offender) $20 vs $5000 i dun thk its worth it. u can be lucky the first time but not everytime No... It like that... the cost of one coupon $20.... The cost if get caught........... Priceless Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear June 7, 2007 Author Share June 7, 2007 not sure if they will go the electronic way and discard the coupon method. if they decide to go the electronic path, OPC owners will have to bear the cost of the electronic device. the LTA knows that congestion after 7pm is common. tha's why the COE quota for this yr has been reduced, causing the COE to rise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jassonlo Neutral Newbie June 7, 2007 Share June 7, 2007 bro, its their problem la. they will get their dues. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched June 7, 2007 Share June 7, 2007 Earlier this week I was driving along AYE near Normanton Park Exit and I saw this TP with an OPC car parked along the road. As the TP rode away, I saw him zip to the center lane and slowed down next to another OPC car. I saw the TP signal to the OPC car driver to drive to the side. I guess the TP are actively looking out for OPC car offenders. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holysniper Neutral Newbie June 7, 2007 Share June 7, 2007 nono, it shld be : the cost of one coupon $20.... The cost if get caught........... $5000 the expression of the driver without putting the coupon and kanna pullover by TP ...... priceless.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cristy Neutral Newbie June 7, 2007 Share June 7, 2007 (edited) civil service getting mid year bonus soon ... TP must b thinking "i must catch more to up the bonus .... " Edited June 7, 2007 by Cristy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...