Mazda 323

Kardachia

Mavvy, leave one pocket please.... I need to buy car hor...hehe

Hey Mavvy, is that picture , the black Jazz of yours?

Yup.. if pocket allows, go for 1.6cc.

hehehe, Gadgeter, you are damn funneeee lah............. your 1.6cc n-gin can move anot??.... or you got put 10 turbo chargers to boost it up so that it can hit 0-100 in one hour??? ......laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

haha, din notice only tokking about 1.6cc instead of 1.6L...wait ...

wait.. hold on a minute...now that's a great idea...new scheme coming soon...

buying car by paying installments in 1.6 cc calculations!!! How brilliant!

Would like to get some info on the Mazda 323 series...1.3, 1.6 (Protege). Info regarding perfromance, fuel efficiency, accessories...maintenance...etc. etc

Thanks.

HITMAN is in the house .... wat da ya need ?

[angel][angel]

Info regarding performance, fuel efficiency, accessories...maintenance...etc. etc

Performance : Good low-end torque. Engine quite noisy when u drag and road noise is quite irritating sometimes. Dun expect to go charging with a Honda though. You lose ... thats for sure. [dizzy]

Fuel Efficiency : Mine is doing 13.8 - 14.5 km/l. Not many Mazda owners I know can hit that mileage. Reason is , I drive like a Turtle. So if you are a heavy footer, expect between 12 - 13 km/l, autos, around 10.5 - 11.5 km/l. [nosebleed]

Accessories : Few & far between. If u want , you got to go searching for it. Mazda Motors (MM) got a few but not desirable ones. Dun expect too much here. Change to Altezza lights and specific items cut to the Mazda requirement - forget it. Universal items like change steering wheels lah , gear knobs lah .... always can get at accessories shop. Other than that, you gotta order from overseas .... MAZDASPEED. Lowering springs and suspension shocks got many brands u can use, though MazdaSpeed one the best - but $$$$$$. [rifle][rifle]

Maintenance : 2 days booking at Mazda Motor. I'm fully agent-maintained but u have Mazda authorised workshops at several island locations like AMK. Not that ex ... compared to my Peugeot. 40K major servicing = S$988.00 or thereabouts. I find their service ok though many Mazda owners have complaints about complacency. But then again, ask any Mitsu, Honda, Nissan owners, where got everybody happy with agent one ?? [bigcry]

Anything else you would like to know ?? [confused][confused]

Feel free to ask. [scholar]

Edited by Hitman

Thanks a million, Hitman. Very informative. Regarding the performance aspects, is it applicable to all range of Mazda 323s, meaning 1.3s , 1.6Ms and As?

Performance wise .... my assessment is based on the 1.6. The 1.3 is very much underpowered , probably due to the power-to-weight ratio. The 323 is quite a heavy car. [bigcry][bigcry]

But mileage wise .... 1.3 better than 1.6 [dead]

Bro .... take note of this.

I have driven a Conti (peugeot) for 8 years. Thus for me (and some brothers say its not a fair comparison), I find the Mazda a bit noisy. But for brothers here who have sat in my car for a spin, and driven Japanese makes, they say its ok. I think its a matter of personal preferences. [angel]

I like the Mazda for its low end torque. Very good acceleration. Peugeot dun have this good low end torque. But Peugeot, once hit NS Highway ... the car is [thumbsup][thumbsup] . Very stable and very secure.

One way or another, I just dun feel this way with the Mazda at a low 140 kph. But then again, its Conti vs Jap. [blush]

I think, you should go for a test drive to determine. Or, just tell me when u wanna come down for meetup and I'll take u for a spin. Bear in mind that my car is mostly stock, so its almost the same feel. [idea]

Next meetup is this Friday I think. Bishan Golf Driving Range. Wanna come ? [scholar]

ps : dun take my comments alone ... listen to the others. I'll get Soya (now upgraded to a Volvo) and Rainbowsix to comment. Keep a lookout for their comments.

Edited by Hitman

Somehow, the confidence is kinda revived again....hehe

Hitman, forgive my ignorance, but are u in the automobile business/industry.

I would love to go for a test drive, thing is, I'm still without a license, will be taking my test this August. So, meanwhile, I'm looking at various jap models that will suit my taste and budget. That's why u see me here asking around for info and I'm really glad I've come to the right place cos everyone here is willing to share info (and humour).

BTW, what do you mean by mostly stock?

Thanks again.

As requested by Hitman, I will share what I know about the 323 as I am driving a 2002 Mazda 323 1.6M.

I got it for $71, 988 whereas my friend who just booked one recently got his 1.6 Auto for $70, 888. The price for the manual is $1k less so I think quite worth it to get the auto since just need to top up $1k more. At the time I bought my manual, the price difference is $3k which is the industry standard.

The difference between the 1.3 manual and 1.6 manual was $3k and I got the 1.6 manual cuz it comes with

1. Driver Airbag (easily cost $1k, I think)

2. Electronic Folding mirrors (good especially if u park in MSCPs)

3. Colour-coded door handles (I personally think black handles quite ugly)

4. Extra power since bigger cc.

I do agree with the Hitman that the low end torque of the 323 is pretty good. I have driven my friend's 2002 Honda Civic VTi 1.5 and I find my car faster initially. Of course when his VTECs kicks in, the 323 loses. We tried and that is why I know.

Anyway, my friend got a very good deal for his 323 1.6 Auto. I told him to get the following accesories and he managed to squeeze them from his SE.

1. Alarm

2. White signal light

3. Exhaust finish

4. Door switch

5. Rike-cool (similar to V-cool but cheaper version)

6. 15" sports rim

Also, the 2003 323 comes with silver panel costing $300 and reverse sensor costing $200 as well as a sportier three-spoke steering and white dials. Of course, other things such as fog lights, 14" sports rims, leather seats, 10 disc CD changer are all standard as per mine.

Hope the above info is useful to u!

UNfortunately I am not in the automobile industry.

Yes I think you should go around and check the out the different makes. The Mazda is an brand is up and coming with the new launches of their new cars.

You are very much welcomed at the meetup.

Tell me if you are coming and I'll take you for a spin. [thumbsup]

Oh indeed it is very useful info to me, thanks a million RainbowSix.

The price difference of 1K between the Auto and the manual 1.6L is what caught my attention initially. But as I see more Mazda 323 on the road, I kinda fall in love with it's look as I get to see it from various angle. And once, I saw a black one with spoiler, really neat!

Thanks for the "additional accessories squeeze list" and standard accessorie list.

Dun expect to go charging with a Honda though. You lose ... thats for sure. dizzy.gif

ahem!!!! sly.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif